8/20, Binie AMPS 372, +3 205

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-binie-amps-415-3-363.293233/#post-3201017

Good afternoon,

it is day 8 already on Binies dose of 1 IU and time to make a decision, if we hold this dose longer or go up again. So far we only had two cycles with numbers below 150. But I will postpone the decision to tomorrow, because I am unsure if I manage to install a new libre and also can't think clearly today.

We got the lab results, blood and urine yesterday. First thing in the morning I got the blood results: Brief mail by my vet, that leucocytes and kidney values all went up. We should wait for the urine. :( So far I didn't dare to look into it in detail but I will do it the next days and put everything in the ss.

Two hours later the urine result: Again the lab found multi flora and said it wouldn't make sense to isolate bacterias further. I really don't know what is going on. I can't believe I am too dumb to hold a cup under my cat.

My vet offered me that the lab does further investigation or we just give any antibiotic by try and error or we take urine directly from the bladder. I chose taking urine directly because I don't see any sense in giving any antibiotic without knowing if it works or not. We did that already and it did more harm than helped her.

I rushed to the vet and unfortunately only the young vet was there to take the urine. She poked Binie and didn't get any urine. So she decided to use the ultrasound which was quite stressful for Binie. Even though it was difficult and she had to poke her multiple times. I was not happy at all about that.

After we came home Binie was quite normal but two hours later she started to pee a lot and went to her three toilets every five minutes. She also climbed into planting pots and peed there. When she was lying on the sofa, there was also little drops of pee. This stopped during the night but today she is hiding in an unusual place. I called the vet and they said we have to wait for the bacteriogram. If we are lucky, we have it tomorrow, if we are unlucky we have it on thursday.

I am feeling so sorry for Binie and I feel angry and dumb because I think I should have been more proactive to insisit on further diagnosis. I hope everything goes well and we find the right treatment soon. I'm giving her mannose now and homeopatical meds (Cantharsis and traumeel against pain). I ordered also something with cranberry @Fistuk & Shelly recommended and hope it arrives soon.

I am still sick myself and find it very hard to deal with all this. Hopefully I manage to install the libre tonight and activate it tomorrow. If the lab is quick, we can start with antibiotics or do further diagnosis tomorrow.

Hope everyone is well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Update: Binie was hiding all day but eating well. But her ketones went up. Yesterday she was 0.2 mmol/dl at +5, today she was 0.7 mmol/dl after her pm shot. I am really worried now.

I think the only lower blues and greens she saw have been influenced by the 1.25 IU depot. I think I can up her dose to 1.25 IU tomorrow, right?

@Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Praying you get the results soon and they give you a definite answer. I know how horrible it is worrying and wondering what to do. You take such good care of Binie, I know you will figure it out. She is so lucky to have you. Hugs…
 
Praying you get the results soon and they give you a definite answer. I know how horrible it is worrying and wondering what to do. You take such good care of Binie, I know you will figure it out. She is so lucky to have you. Hugs…

Thank you so much for your sweet support Deb! :bighug::bighug::bighug: To be honest, I don't feel great at all because I think we (the vet and I) have made mistakes in Binies treatment and that's why she didn't get the help she needed to feel better. But that's how it is and I can only do my best now.

I hope Tiger is well! I sometimes "stalk" him on his SS and am happy to see all these blue :cool::cool::cool: and reading, that he has played. I hope your ankle gets better every day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Heike! Remember we can only do our best. It would be easier if they could talk but they can’t. We can only read the signs they give us and trust the tests the vets use as tools. We all fail at times but we do better than most by being in tune to our babies tendencies. You are doing great!
 
Thanks Heike! Remember we can only do our best. It would be easier if they could talk but they can’t. We can only read the signs they give us and trust the tests the vets use as tools. We all fail at times but we do better than most by being in tune to our babies tendencies. You are doing great!
Thank you so much Deb! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yes, if they could only talk.... you are so right.
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-binie-amps-415-3-363.293233/#post-3201017

Good afternoon,

it is day 8 already on Binies dose of 1 IU and time to make a decision, if we hold this dose longer or go up again. So far we only had two cycles with numbers below 150. But I will postpone the decision to tomorrow, because I am unsure if I manage to install a new libre and also can't think clearly today.

We got the lab results, blood and urine yesterday. First thing in the morning I got the blood results: Brief mail by my vet, that leucocytes and kidney values all went up. We should wait for the urine. :( So far I didn't dare to look into it in detail but I will do it the next days and put everything in the ss.

Two hours later the urine result: Again the lab found multi flora and said it wouldn't make sense to isolate bacterias further. I really don't know what is going on. I can't believe I am too dumb to hold a cup under my cat.

My vet offered me that the lab does further investigation or we just give any antibiotic by try and error or we take urine directly from the bladder. I chose taking urine directly because I don't see any sense in giving any antibiotic without knowing if it works or not. We did that already and it did more harm than helped her.

I rushed to the vet and unfortunately only the young vet was there to take the urine. She poked Binie and didn't get any urine. So she decided to use the ultrasound which was quite stressful for Binie. Even though it was difficult and she had to poke her multiple times. I was not happy at all about that.

After we came home Binie was quite normal but two hours later she started to pee a lot and went to her three toilets every five minutes. She also climbed into planting pots and peed there. When she was lying on the sofa, there was also little drops of pee. This stopped during the night but today she is hiding in an unusual place. I called the vet and they said we have to wait for the bacteriogram. If we are lucky, we have it tomorrow, if we are unlucky we have it on thursday.

I am feeling so sorry for Binie and I feel angry and dumb because I think I should have been more proactive to insisit on further diagnosis. I hope everything goes well and we find the right treatment soon. I'm giving her mannose now and homeopatical meds (Cantharsis and traumeel against pain). I ordered also something with cranberry @Fistuk & Shelly recommended and hope it arrives soon.

I am still sick myself and find it very hard to deal with all this. Hopefully I manage to install the libre tonight and activate it tomorrow. If the lab is quick, we can start with antibiotics or do further diagnosis tomorrow.

Hope everyone is well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, first of all I’m sending you some hugs. I think you need them :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ok. How is Binie doing tonight? And are you feeling any better yet?
I know everything is harder to deal with when you’re sick yourself and you can’t even think straight. And I know you’re dealing with so much with Binie and trying to juggle it all. I’m trying to communicate with the vet so it’s kind of overwhelming.

I agree with what Deb said. We are all doing the best we can and yes, we definitely make mistakes but look at how hard we are trying. We’re discussing it helping each other and asking for details and answers and things we don’t understand. And we’re lending a hand to others where we do know something that can help. It’s all we can do and you are certainly doing that. All you can do is wait for the lab results to come back and see what that tells us and see what the vet suggests. I’m glad you’re trying the cranberry that Shelly suggested hopefully that will help in some regard.

It does seem (if I had to guess) that those lower numbers were influenced by the higher Depot several days ago. I’ll be curious if you get a dosing recommendation, but it seems like you’ve been at this dose for about a week so you could try an increase perhaps??

Let me know how installing the Libre goes. I hope it’s a smooth process for you. I’m so glad you are trying to do it yourself. That way you won’t be as dependent on the vet if it needs to be done in a hurry. I’m very proud of you:)

I hope both of you feel better and you both have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wonder if anyone else is around to offer help
@Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Hi Heike, first of all I’m sending you some hugs. I think you need them :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ok. How is Binie doing tonight? And are you feeling any better yet?
I know everything is harder to deal with when you’re sick yourself and you can’t even think straight. And I know you’re dealing with so much with Binie and trying to juggle it all. I’m trying to communicate with the vet so it’s kind of overwhelming.

I agree with what Deb said. We are all doing the best we can and yes, we definitely make mistakes but look at how hard we are trying. We’re discussing it helping each other and asking for details and answers and things we don’t understand. And we’re lending a hand to others where we do know something that can help. It’s all we can do and you are certainly doing that. All you can do is wait for the lab results to come back and see what that tells us and see what the vet suggests. I’m glad you’re trying the cranberry that Shelly suggested hopefully that will help in some regard.

It does seem (if I had to guess) that those lower numbers were influenced by the higher Depot several days ago. I’ll be curious if you get a dosing recommendation, but it seems like you’ve been at this dose for about a week so you could try an increase perhaps??

Let me know how installing the Libre goes. I hope it’s a smooth process for you. I’m so glad you are trying to do it yourself. That way you won’t be as dependent on the vet if it needs to be done in a hurry. I’m very proud of you:)

I hope both of you feel better and you both have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wonder if anyone else is around to offer help
@Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Thank you so much for the hugs Staci, I really need them today! Binie left her hiding place after the shot for some time on the terrace. It is a bit cooler and I noticed that she likes lying on the cold tiles. I didn't measure her temperature tonight but I think like yesterday she has a bit temperature and tries to cool down. I made her come inside now for the night because I don't like her bladder to become too cold. I can see she is unwell but not that unwell than in may, when I brought her to the hospital. I wrote my vet about the ketones tonight and she was so nice to answer immediately. She asked me to measure again tomorrow morning and that I can come in for fluids if they go too high.

I also went to my gp today and we agreed, that it's better to rest for another day and don't work. I feel already better but it is difficult to concentrate on my recovery in this situation. The day off helps me even though, because I am free to go to the vet whenever we need to.

I haven't installed the libre yet because it was difficult with Binie in her hiding place. It doesn't give me much space to act. I already shaved the spot and put all the equipment together. As I am not working, I hope I can just find a good moment tomorrow to install it, when she is lying somewhere else. I hope it works out, especially wanting to increase.

Thank you so much for sharing your idea on the dose. After I saw the display of the handheld today with 0.7 mmol/dl I knew, that I shouldn't postpone an increase and as you said, I am already on that dose for a week. So thank you so much for tagging additional experts! It still feels better for me to check my ideas with our experts and my fd peers.

I will go to bed now, while Binie is again in her hiding place. I hope you can also relax a little with everything which is going on. I also send you hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much for the hugs Staci, I really need them today! Binie left her hiding place after the shot for some time on the terrace. It is a bit cooler and I noticed that she likes lying on the cold tiles. I didn't measure her temperature tonight but I think like yesterday she has a bit temperature and tries to cool down. I made her come inside now for the night because I don't like her bladder to become too cold. I can see she is unwell but not that unwell than in may, when I brought her to the hospital. I wrote my vet about the ketones tonight and she was so nice to answer immediately. She asked me to measure again tomorrow morning and that I can come in for fluids if they go too high.

I also went to my gp today and we agreed, that it's better to rest for another day and don't work. I feel already better but it is difficult to concentrate on my recovery in this situation. The day off helps me even though, because I am free to go to the vet whenever we need to.

I haven't installed the libre yet because it was difficult with Binie in her hiding place. It doesn't give me much space to act. I already shaved the spot and put all the equipment together. As I am not working, I hope I can just find a good moment tomorrow to install it, when she is lying somewhere else. I hope it works out, especially wanting to increase.

Thank you so much for sharing your idea on the dose. After I saw the display of the handheld today with 0.7 mmol/dl I knew, that I shouldn't postpone an increase and as you said, I am already on that dose for a week. So thank you so much for tagging additional experts! It still feels better for me to check my ideas with our experts and my fd peers.

I will go to bed now, while Binie is again in her hiding place. I hope you can also relax a little with everything which is going on. I also send you hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for sharing the update with me, Heike. I really hope you both feel better tomorrow.
I agree it’s best to get some expert guidance on dosing.
Once you feel better you can tackle the sensor.
Hoping a good rest will make a difference for tomorrow.
I’m glad your vet got back to you quickly.
Please give Binie a kiss from me and sleep well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top