Under TR, a dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles), unless a reduction is earned (then you have to reduce) you could take increases between six and ten cycles. Adjustments are based on nadirs, for the most part:
From the sticky:
Increasing the dose (under TR):
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
And as you know, Oberon would have to be on LC wet food first.
So you could take increases in as little as 3 days/6 cycles if the BG nadirs support that.
You need to get more testing for TR, including overnight tests, so you are confident you have the data to take those increases. Or you can easily miss a drop. Getting tests at various times throughout the daytime and nighttime cycles is a good place to start. His spreadsheet should look like a mosaic. When I first started, I would do a +3, +6, +9 one day, then a +2, +5, +8 the next. I test a bit less when Butters is firmly in a bounce, and much more when she isn't. You want to catch those nadirs and gather enough data to support the aggressive dosing changes. Get a before bed test and wake up for a midcycle test, and decide if you need to get up for another test.
Decreases with TR are taken automatically following a drop below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year since dx).
I always post in my daily condo when I think we are a cycle away from taking an increase, just to make sure I'm not missing anything.
ETA: Another very important point, with TR you could shoot as low as 50 but NEVER under 50.
And to answer your question: Let's assume that the last six cycles you caught Oberon's nadirs (I think you'd need more tests). All his numbers were over 300, so if you were doing TR, you'd be able to take an increase.