8/21 Herman amps 126 stall +30min 108 +1hr 65 fed lc skip shot +2hr(new amps) 284 shot +1 333+3 211

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
I just gave herm a poke a bit early as he’s snuggling me hard…amps 126! Wondering if @Bandit's Mom is around to help advise? I’ll write more shortly….

EDIT; see post #17 for a summary while the time for advice is passed I’d love input on dealing with this in future I’m pretty perplexed.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday
Have been moving shoot time up in 15 min increments because I was going out for eve tonight and wanted to get a couple tests in before going. Was planning to shoot in about 15 min (3:35am my time)… this is lowest amps by far….I’m surprised!
 
65!
It has been 1 hour after my first amps test and he went from 126 to 65 so I made the judgement call to feed him some lc (6% which is the high end of his normal lc options) and skip the shot.

I hope I did the right thing. :nailbiting: 68 just seemed way too low a number for us to shoot at this point and since it was steadily dropping and was very low for us in general I did not feel safe stalling food any longer either , never mind shooting, even a reduced dose, which would have been new territory for me too so wouldn’t know what to do there either and I don’t think anyone was online to help in case I got in trouble (I know my shoot times are weird).

Will check him in half hour trying not to stress him out with too many tests.
 
Last edited:
284 ….If anyone is online….can I shoot now? Would be 2 hours late and he ate an hour ago, now he is bouncing…can I shoot? Should I shoot? Hope someone is around.
 
Last edited:
I’m thinking I should shoot. It’s 2 hours late, but he’s rising fast and it can’t be all food influenced as he only had a tbsp of 6%lc….and that was an hour ago.
 
Went ahead and shot usual dose at 6am. This was after a stall, then snack, wait, test, then 45min/1 hour stall. In total about 2.5 hour late from target shot time (target shot time was early for my evening out plans so that just complicates things more). Will monitor. Hope I did the right thing.
 
Summary:
300am BG 126 (7mmol) (Herman snuggled me awake, planned to wake, test shoot around 330 am had worked my way an hour early because of plans tonight usual time shoot 430)
320am BG 110 (6.1mmol) stall no shoot
345am BG 108 (6 mmol) stall no shoot
415am BG 64.8 (3.6 mmol) fed 6%lc decided skip shot
450am BG 139 (7.7 mmol) herm sleeping
550am BG 284 (15.8mmol) bouncing?, decided to shoot reg dose, fed lc

I hope I did the right thing. Now I need to keep close eye on him and figure out what I do tonight, needed to leave for concert by 6pm absolute latest to catch train. So shocked by the low numbers that late in cycle.
 
Summary:
300am BG 126 (7mmol) (Herman snuggled me awake, planned to wake, test shoot around 330 am had worked my way an hour early because of plans tonight usual time shoot 430)
320am BG 110 (6.1mmol) stall no shoot
345am BG 108 (6 mmol) stall no shoot
415am BG 64.8 (3.6 mmol) fed 6%lc decided skip shot
450am BG 139 (7.7 mmol) herm sleeping
550am BG 284 (15.8mmol) bouncing?, decided to shoot reg dose, fed lc

I hope I did the right thing. Now I need to keep close eye on him and figure out what I do tonight, needed to leave for concert by 6pm absolute latest to catch train. So shocked by the low numbers that late in cycle.
Wow! That's quite a bit of excitement for 3hours :bighug: Cleo did something similar to me on 5/10. I understand :D:nailbiting::nailbiting::banghead: How are you doing?
Great to see that green...awful timing for Herman to get the Lantus Memo.
I think he's definitely bouncing. All you can do is keep doing what you're doing. It's good that you shot.
 
Wow! That's quite a bit of excitement for 3hours :bighug: Cleo did something similar to me on 5/10. I understand :D:nailbiting::nailbiting::banghead: How are you doing?
Great to see that green...awful timing for Herman to get the Lantus Memo.
I think he's definitely bouncing. All you can do is keep doing what you're doing. It's good that you shot.
Thanks so much for referencing your experience 5/10 it’s soooooooo helpful to compare with others and how it went for them. Will see what the day brings!
 
Thanks so much for referencing your experience 5/10 it’s soooooooo helpful to compare with others and how it went for them. Will see what the day brings!
Now the first "unofficial" rule in the FDCG (feline diabetes care giver) handbook is "hooman makes plans and kitty laughs!':p

I would start with +1.5/+2.5 and a giant :coffee:
 
Now the first "unofficial" rule in the FDCG (feline diabetes care giver) handbook is "hooman makes plans and kitty laughs!':p

I would start with +1.5/+2.5 and a giant :coffee:
He does seem to look a little more smug than usual this morning. :cat:Could be my imagination. I guess if he does his usual 3 day bounce I’ll be fine to shoot and run to the concert tonight as long as my sister comes and gives him frequent snacks.
upload_2022-8-21_7-7-30.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-21_7-7-30.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-21_7-7-30.jpeg
    50.1 KB · Views: 103
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Isn't it amazing that your adrenaline is rushing through your veins and you feel like you've just aged 5 years and he's like "what's with the nervous energy, you need to kitty-lax"

It took me a long time to absorb the meaning that our cats are more than their numbers. This pic says it purrfectly:cat:
 
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Isn't it amazing that your adrenaline is rushing through your veins and you feel like you've just aged 5 years and he's like "what's with the nervous energy, you need to kitty-lax"

It took me a long time to absorb the meaning that our cats are more than their numbers. This pic says it purrfectly:cat:
I managed to stay calm or “kitty-laxed” as you put it haha as far as worrying about Herman and hypo, he wasn’t acting out of sorts as he has done in greens on two other occasions and being so late in the cycle I thought the chance of him going dangerously low and not coming back was slim, but the panic set in over “what do I do?” …one hates to skip a dose and maybe I shouldn’t have fed at BG 65 and watched how low he’d go instead but….I’m at least glad I got the shot done in the end.
 
Updated Summary:
300am BG 126 (7mmol) (Herman snuggled me awake, planned to wake, test shoot around 330 am had worked my way an hour early because of plans tonight usual time shoot 430)
320am BG 110 (6.1mmol) stall no shoot
345am BG 108 (6 mmol) stall no shoot
415am BG 64.8 (3.6 mmol) fed 6%lc decided skip shot
450am BG 139 (7.7 mmol) herm sleeping
550am BG 284 (15.8mmol) bouncing?, decided to shoot reg dose, fed lc
+1 (7am) BG 333 bounce?
+3 (9am) BG 211 ….so not a bounce? Big drop. Fed lc (6%)

I’m so confused today.
 
Yep yep yep. It's exactly how I feel with every BG test:banghead:.
I would test again in an hour and feed accordingly.
Will do. Almost convinced myself to skip the +3 for an ear break because, you know, bouncing. I think Herman has other plans for me today. QTH “quality time with Herman”. It’s all Herman, all the time, and that’s how he likes it.
 
Since you have some time lol, can you stack the AMPS BG readings on the spreadsheet and color it green. If you need an example, see how @Bandit's Mom did it for me on 5/10. I would put the 3am # as yesterday's pm 11.5. if I'm wrong about this, Bhooma will correct me:)
 
Since you have some time lol, can you stack the AMPS BG readings on the spreadsheet and color it green. If you need an example, see how @Bandit's Mom did it for me on 5/10. I would put the 3am # as yesterday's pm 11.5. if I'm wrong about this, Bhooma will correct me:)
Yes I’ll need to wrap my head around how to show it was an early poke on a day I was going to shoot early that ended up being a 2 hour stall. Too much for my brain!
 
Yes I’ll need to wrap my head around how to show it was an early poke on a day I was going to shoot early that ended up being a 2 hour stall. Too much for my brain!
Yes.
Good job shooting. Did you recheck that 65?
Yes I did. Any tips on tonight?

I will need to shoot at 540pm (am shot was 6am) and immediately leave. Home at midnight. If his numbers are low…I’m thinking under 200 i better skip or give token (what would a token dose be?)

My sister will feed every hour or two after, planning to have her feed the high end of around 9%?

She’s uncomfortable testing and says she will not…but i am going to do some testing training with her before I go and encourage her to try, especially if he is sleeping. He doesn’t even wake up for sleepy tests so I know she can do it.
 
When will you get back? How many hours after the shot? Since your sister will feed him I would not skip if under 200. It’s around +7? He doesn’t seem to nadir early. I’d only skip if low 100’s or under 100 and only because it would be a first. Remember you are trying to figure out nadir. A token if low will not necessarily effect the first half of the cycle which is when you will be gone so won’t help.
 
Last edited:
When will you get back? How many hours after the shot? Since your sister will feed him I would not skip if under 200. It’s around +7? He doesn’t seem to nadir early. I’d only skip if low 100’s or under 100 and only because it would be a first. Remember you are trying to figure out nadir. A token if low will not necessarily effect the first half of the cycle which is when you will be gone so won’t help.
Spoke to dh and we can leave an hour later and drive instead of take train and skip dinner.
So given I shot at 6am because of stall I could either:
shoot half hour early at 530pm get a + 1 and be home just after +6.5 (midnight-ish)
OR
shoot half hour late 630pm, not get a +1 but be home at +5.5 (midnight-ish)
Because Herman is all over the place I honestly don’t know what would be better!?
 
Back
Top