8/22 Monty: AMPS 121, +2 36, +2.25 75, +2.5 74, +2.75 64, +3 77, +3.5 76, +4 74, +5 85, +7 95

Tom & Monty

Member Since 2020
Possible bounce last night. I injected PM 85 and tested at 106@+2. This morning he's higher than normal at 121.

He may have dipped lower between +1 and +2. Next time I inject that low I'll get a +1 or +1.5.
 
Rubbed huoney on gums, eating high carb snacks now.

Calling vet to check availability in cas I need it, he's behaving normally
 
I'll check again in 10 minutes. He's eaten the entire snack.


Vet advised don't bring him in unless he seizes as stress could cause a seizure and her advice is the same as given here.
 
Yes, if he is acting normal, first try HC or honey and then test.
Next time you get an unusual number, get a second test to ensure the strip is okay.

It's unlike him to dive at onset. I was just wondering today if he needed a little nudge to see all green cycles. :banghead:
 
His sister came for moral support :D
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200822_094252.jpg
    IMG_20200822_094252.jpg
    68 KB · Views: 54
I suspect he may have gone low last night between shoot and +2.

What should I do about his dose given this happened?

TR protocol would have me reduce the dose since he dropped into the 30s but a dose reduction for Monty would be OTJ trial at this point.
 
I suspect he may have gone low last night between shoot and +2.

More likely he went low during the AM cycle yesterday and started a bounce which continued into the PM cycle and which broke this AM - hence the additional downward momentum today.
There were no tests in the AM cycle yesterday, right? Or is the SS not updated? (Sorry, didn't check previous post. No link.)

What should I do about his dose given this happened?

TR protocol would have me reduce the dose since he dropped into the 30s but a dose reduction for Monty would be OTJ trial at this point.

I am not qualified enough to advise on dosing. Let me tag a few people for that.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@Chris & China (GA)

The next dose after a 0.10 is a drop. Then OTJ.
 
OK. I am here. What is the carb% of the LC snack? Do you have something with a higher carb% within the LC range?
 
Yes no tests yesterday, I wasn't around to test and a 110 PS seemed not risky at the time - perhaps I should now consider that risky.
 
When you can, can you update the SS so that the BG numbers within the same hour all show in the same box rather than the comments?
You will have to manually colour the box after inputting the numbers.
 
Last edited:
Yes no tests yesterday, I wasn't around to test and a 110 PS seemed not risky at the time - perhaps I should not consider that risky.

It's okay. I would not have seen it coming in my kitty either. We do the best we can.
Look at the positive side. This is probably Monty telling you that he is one step closer to OTJ!
 
There isn't much difference between 74 and 75 and 70 given meter variance. He is basically flat. But it's early in the cycle and he will probably head lower.
Keep testing and see if there is something you can tempt him to eat a little later. Even if it means adding a sprinkle of MC/HC that he likes.
 
When you can, can you update the SS so that the BG numbers within the same hour all show in the same box rather than the comments?
You will have to manually colour the box after inputting the numbers.

this is how:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-8-22_14-43-4.png
    upload_2020-8-22_14-43-4.png
    88.4 KB · Views: 70
I've never tried paw testing. Too scared to. Feel like I'd hurt her!

Monty doesn't seem bothered by paw testing. I haven't figured out how to do it solo yet but if my partner is around then I will usually go for paw testing to give his ears a little holiday.

I'm producing a graph of today's readings on a new tab so I can see the effects of honey and different carb content snacks when he hypos.
 
He last ate at +3, a small amount of HC. I'm now feeding him his regular food as a snack (1%) and a tiny amount of HC on top.
 
74@AM+4, feeding another small snack to keep him steady. Testing again in 1 hour. If he's stable up to +6 I'll stop testing until PM and share the half-curve with my vet.
 
It will be really late for me by the time it is PMPS time for you. So just post here and ask for dosing help. I'm sure you will get inputs well before then, though.

Just update the thread title with a "?" prefix and add "dosing advice" or some such so that member scanning the forum can identify posts with questions quickly.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top