8/23 Callie AMPS 223, +2.5 164, +4 136, +6 116, +8 132, PMPS 181, +2.5 142, +4 141

+2.5 - 164! Surprise! Callie didn't eat as much of her breakfast as usual so that might be part of this drop. She ate a LC snack just now and had LC treats and pumpkin as usual with her puffs (inhaled steroids.) I'll get a +4 and see where we are.
 
No bad considering yesterday’s token dose :woot: now Jessica has to brace herself for shooting a green preshot :D:D:D :smuggrin::smuggrin:
No pressure Jessica, just teasing you, shoot the full dose on a green preshot whenever you are ready to :bighug::bighug:
 
No bad considering yesterday’s token dose :woot: now Jessica has to brace herself for shooting a green preshot :D:D:D :smuggrin::smuggrin:
No pressure Jessica, just teasing you, shoot the full dose on a green preshot whenever you are ready to :bighug::bighug:
lol :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: I think I'm going to have to start getting comfy with that sooner rather than later....

+6 116! I feel like it makes sense to do a +8 to try to figure out if she is back to +6ish nadir or whether she continues to drop later in the cycle. Let me know if that makes sense to you all.

This is strange, right? (Good strange... but still strange?)
 
lol :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: I think I'm going to have to start getting comfy with that sooner rather than later....

+6 116! I feel like it makes sense to do a +8 to try to figure out if she is back to +6ish nadir or whether she continues to drop later in the cycle. Let me know if that makes sense to you all.

This is strange, right? (Good strange... but still strange?)
Yeah, having a +8 makes sense in yesterday’s context even though today seems to be more “standard” active cycle :) but with FD you can always try to guess but you never really know until you test :D
 
Yeah, having a +8 makes sense in yesterday’s context even though today seems to be more “standard” active cycle :) but with FD you can always try to guess but you never really know until you test :D
So I'm learning... I keep thinking I've identified a pattern for Callie and then she throws my theory right out the window. Will get a +8. Thanks, Marina!
 
So I'm learning... I keep thinking I've identified a pattern for Callie and then she throws my theory right out the window. Will get a +8. Thanks, Marina!
In the beginning I starred at Chico’s SS for a good couple of weeks, and when i say stare i really mean stare, sometimes i had the feeling that i wanted to see a 3D image in a mixture of paint :D but it really helps :) after a while you start seeing patterns that make sense and help you understand better what is happening. Actually i believe you are getting pretty good at this already :)
 
In the beginning I starred at Chico’s SS for a good couple of weeks, and when i say stare i really mean stare, sometimes i had the feeling that i wanted to see a 3D image in a mixture of paint :D but it really helps :) after a while you start seeing patterns that make sense and help you understand better what is happening. Actually i believe you are getting pretty good at this already :)
:D that sounds exactly like me staring at Callie's SS!

+8 132 so it seems like Callie is back to a more "standard" cycle and on her way back up now. We'll give her ears a break until PMPS and give her another snack at +9 as usual. Thanks!
 
Yeah, interesting. It's almost like that token shot did not happen!
+4 141

I've been thinking about it a lot -- is it possible that when the token dose kept her from flying down, it also meant that she didn't bounce way up from what her body would have registered as "too low" (whether it was or not...), kind of "stabilizing" her in this flat blue range. Obviously, we want her lower than where she is now but it might not be terrible that we gave her body time to feel that these numbers are "the norm" rather than the high pinks/ red that she was. Just theorizing. No idea if it even makes any sense.

Do you think we should get another reading +6/+7 tonight or do you think she'll stay pretty flat until she starts to rise again? (The one concern I have at night is that she'll eat when I give her food but once we get in bed, she generally comes in with us and spends most of the rest of the night there. Sometimes she will get up and go for a snack but often she doesn't even when one is available.)
 
Do you think we should get another reading +6/+7 tonight or do you think she'll stay pretty flat until she starts to rise again? (The one concern I have at night is that she'll eat when I give her food but once we get in bed, she generally comes in with us and spends most of the rest of the night there. Sometimes she will get up and go for a snack but often she doesn't even when one is available.)
I don't expect she will dip much lower. If you wake up later (no need to set an alarm) just feed her - put the food under her nose for her eat.
 
+4 141

I've been thinking about it a lot -- is it possible that when the token dose kept her from flying down, it also meant that she didn't bounce way up from what her body would have registered as "too low" (whether it was or not...), kind of "stabilizing" her in this flat blue range. Obviously, we want her lower than where she is now but it might not be terrible that we gave her body time to feel that these numbers are "the norm" rather than the high pinks/ red that she was. Just theorizing. No idea if it even makes any sense.
Honestly i don’t think that’s how it works, if leas insulin would mean less bouncing everybody would practice it and from experience it goes the other way. I would take the fact that she didn’t bounce and is in relatively good numbers after a token dose as a good sign though :)
 
Honestly i don’t think that’s how it works, if leas insulin would mean less bouncing everybody would practice it and from experience it goes the other way. I would take the fact that she didn’t bounce and is in relatively good numbers after a token dose as a good sign though :)
Thanks, Marina. I'm really happy with our day yesterday, all things considered. I definitely didn't mean to say that we should be giving less insulin than our cats need. Really was just trying to think through why, in just this particular instance, Callie's numbers looked as they did. But, as you say, I'll just chalk yesterday up to a good sign overall :)
 
Back
Top