8/23 Phoenix +11 BG 70

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
Phoenix’s BG was 70 at +9. I fed him some fancy feast pate LC. He went up to 87 by +10. Now it is +11 and he has dropped back down to 70. Should I feed or hold to see what he does? I did reduce his insulin dose by .25 units when he dropped to 39 BG on Saturday.
 
Hi Susan,

If you feed at +11, you would have to wait for 2 hours to shoot. We had the same issue on 8/16 and fortunately he stayed flat between +11 and AMPS.
Maybe it makes sense to feed him at +9.75 (in addition to +9)? That could prevent him dropping too low to shoot at PS?

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-23-phoenix-11-bg-70.251838/
Hi Bhooma,
You are right, I keep getting in this predicament. I will take your advice and feed again the next time Phoenix does this. I will keep monitoring him and if he drops down to 60, I will go ahead and feed again. I can delay his insulin if I have to. Thank you for your response.
 
Hi Bhooma,
You are right, I keep getting in this predicament. I will take your advice and feed again the next time Phoenix does this. I will keep monitoring him and if he drops down to 60, I will go ahead and feed again. I can delay his insulin if I have to. Thank you for your response.
Hi Susan, with TR you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor - I presume you can?
Do not feed between now and AMPS. Let us wait to see what the AMPS is.
 
Hi Susan, with TR you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor - I presume you can?
Do not feed between now and AMPS. Let us wait to see what the AMPS is.
Yes, I can monitor every day. I knew you could shoot in the 60's but didn't realize you could shoot as long as his BG is above 50. Thank you for the information. I just gave Phoenix his AMPS and his BG was 81.
 
Yes, I can monitor every day. I knew you could shoot in the 60's but didn't realize you could shoot as long as his BG is above 50. Thank you for the information. I just gave Phoenix his AMPS and his BG was 81.
It's good he stayed higher. Maybe a test and feed at +9.5 may be the thing to do going forward :-)
 
Back
Top