8/24 Fin AMPS 160 +1 98, +2 90, +4 96, +5 109, PMPS 108, NS, +1 110

If he’s not feeling well, do you have any Cerenia to stop the vomiting and make him feel better? If he eats breakfast and keeps it down then you can probably give insulin- but he’s already on such a small dose. If something is making him feeill that definitely can drive up his BG.
 
+1 (NS) BG 160. He ate a little more food and is resting comfortably. He hasn't been 160's in two weeks-even the days that he didn't have insulin. Not sure what's going on but maybe he isn't eating because he has a fur ball. He does this sometimes before he throws up fur ball. He throws up bile and isn't interested in food for part of the day.
 
If he’s not feeling well, do you have any Cerenia to stop the vomiting and make him feel better? If he eats breakfast and keeps it down then you can probably give insulin- but he’s already on such a small dose. If something is making him feeill that definitely can drive up his BG.
Hi Suzanne. I'm hoping it's fur ball. He has eaten a little more.If i give shot at +1 will I then give it 12 hours later? My times will be off for watching him before work. Hope I'm making sense.
 
If he’s not feeling well, do you have any Cerenia to stop the vomiting and make him feel better? If he eats breakfast and keeps it down then you can probably give insulin- but he’s already on such a small dose. If something is making him feeill that definitely can drive up his BG.
no Serena but he only puked the once and just small amount of bile and grass. He has since had a little more breakfast but not much.
 
Hi Suzanne. I'm hoping it's fur ball. He has eaten a little more.If i give shot at +1 will I then give it 12 hours later? My times will be off for watching him before work. Hope I'm making sense.
You can give the shot 11 hours and 30 minutes tonight from whatever time you end up shooting - in other words you can shoot thirty minutes early tonight and not wait the full twelve hours. Honestly, I am not sure it matters as much with ProZinc as it does with one of the depot insulins, but normally we say not to shoot more than thirty minutes early in any day. So tomorrow you could probably be back on track with your regular time schedule.
 
Hi Suzanne. I'm hoping it's fur ball. He has eaten a little more.If i give shot at +1 will I then give it 12 hours later? My times will be off for watching him before work. Hope I'm making sense.
I hope it’s just the furball that threw him off this morning- he certainly has lovely, fluffy fur!
 
You can give the shot 11 hours and 30 minutes tonight from whatever time you end up shooting - in other words you can shoot thirty minutes early tonight and not wait the full twelve hours. Honestly, I am not sure it matters as much with ProZinc as it does with one of the depot insulins, but normally we say not to shoot more than thirty minutes early in any day. So tomorrow you could probably be back on track with your regular time schedule.
Just gave .25 units. Not sure how to update SS.
 
BG+1 98. such a steep drop. I'm slowly getting him to eat more breakfast. I'm scared to see what +2 reading will be :(
 
You should bump up the carbs on his food. I’m not sure what time you will test again. I’m worried now.
He looks good-Not looking to hide, sleepy but not unconscious.. Got him to nibble on his regular food and BG +4 is 96. I can get one more test in but then I won't be home until +10. I may need to find a new food that he will eat. He has maintained 12.2 lbs but I don't expect that to last.
 
He looks good-Not looking to hide, sleepy but not unconscious.. Got him to nibble on his regular food and BG +4 is 96. I can get one more test in but then I won't be home until +10. I may need to find a new food that he will eat. He has maintained 12.2 lbs but I don't expect that to last.
He’s been in very safe numbers today. In fact, those greens are just beautiful. I was just worried if he did get very low that he may need some carbs but he’s surfing in greens so far. I’m very glad you were there at +4. Since you work, you should consider an automatic feeder to dispense snacks at certain times during the cycle- of course something he likes would be the tricky part as you say he’s not eating as much lately.
 
@Finster
Hi Lisa in your title go back in and put the Date first ,then Finster
Look to the right tap on Thread Tools, tap on Edit Thread ,add date then Fin in front of AMPS
and AMPS put 160
You linked your previous thread perfectly
Go back to your spreadsheet and color the AMPS Blue
I'm glad Suzanne was there for you. :cat:
I hope Fin is feeling better
 
Last edited:
@Finster
Hi Lisa in your title go back in and put the Date first ,then Finster
Look to the right tap on Thread Tools, tap on Edit Thread ,add date then Fin in front of AMPS
If you didn't give the AM insulin go to your spreadsheet and get rid of .25 and put NS so we know
She did give the am insulin. .25 units and she’s gotten a few good tests on him this morning-up to plus 4 - but now she’s back at work, I believe, until +10.
 
I may need to find a new food that he will eat
Here is our food chart if you want to find another LC food for Fin
Look at Tiki Cat or Weruva pates , 6% carbs or less
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/page-3#post-2992813
Oh and make sure you pick up some med and high carb foods in case you need to bring his BG up instead of using the Science Diet Wet
Such as
Other than the science diet hc foods you can pick up some of these if you ever need to bring his BG up

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any ones on the food chart I gave you, it's actually the gravy that he could lick up if he won't eat it

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.


This was posted by one of our members about Weruva pates

Click to expand...
I don't know if the BFF PLAY weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF Play line.

Here is another weruva it's called
Weruva slide n serve family food chicken breast dinner with tuna pate . It comes in a pouch, some of the ones I listed either come in a can or pouch






You can also try
Tiki Cat After Dark pates
Beef and Beef Liver
Duck and Chicken Liver
Rabbit and Chicken Liver
Venison and Beef Liver

I would first try the Weruva Pates first
 
Last edited:
Here is our food chart if you want to find another LC food for Fin
Look at Tiki Cat or Weruva pates , 6% carbs or less
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/page-3#post-2992813
Oh and make sure you pick up some med and high carb foods in case you need to bring his BG up instead of using the Science Diet Wet
Such as
Other than the science diet hc foods you can pick up some of these if you ever need to bring his BG up

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any ones on the food chart I gave you, it's actually the gravy that he could lick up if he won't eat it

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.


This was posted by one of our members about Weruva pates

Click to expand...
I don't know if the BFF play weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF Play line.
Thank you so much for the list! I"m not familiar with the BFF brand but I will look for it tomorrow. Thanks again
 
I haven't given the PM shot. He has only had about 1/4 of his dinner and only about half of what he should have eaten for breakfast. He doesn't look bad. Has energy. Not hiding and no more puking...all seems well but he's not willing to eat much. Tomorrow I will be gone for 8 hours straight. I can have someone offer tbsp LC wet food but no guarantee he will eat it and no one to take blood sugar. I have to try a new food. I know it's not ideal for diabetic cats but his numbers are not high to begin with and he's not willing to eat very much at one time.
 
Better off to skip the dose tonight , I would test him @+6 just to see what his BG is.
@Finster
Hi Lisa in your title go back in and put the Date first ,then Finster
Look to the right tap on Thread Tools, tap on Edit Thread ,add date then Fin in front of AMPS
and AMPS put 160
You linked your previous thread perfectly
Go back to your spreadsheet and color the AMPS Blue
I'm glad Suzanne was there for you. :cat:

I know that Petco carries the Weruva cat food
 
Hmm tricky tricky...

How often does he get like this? Inappetence, vomiting?

For now I'd recommend 0.1U if above 120 and having issues with eating. I'm hoping that allows.you to shoot twice a day on schedule. That drop was more than I'd like to see, and very likely would have been a reduction had you shot at normal time.

Re: shot timing. We say half hour leeway, but it's really cat dependent - specifically on the duration of the insulin. Finster has pretty much an 11-12 hour duration, and at his numbers you don't have much leeway to shoot more than that half hour early.
 
Here is a pic of 0.1 units
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
@FrostD
Hi Melissa I was reading Lisa's previous post and you mentioned that soon
you and Lisa would need to talk about dosing method.
Do you think she should start to follow SLSG or not yet ?
 
This morning has been eventful. Finster escaped the fence and was gone hunting/exploring for an hour. When he returned BG was 204. I don't know if he found some kitty food during his travels or if the adrenaline raised BG. Ether way I gave .25 and fed him. He ate better than yesterday and I have a neighbor coming to offer tbsp LC wet food every two hours. I will be home by +8.
 
This morning has been eventful. Finster escaped the fence and was gone hunting/exploring for an hour. When he returned BG was 204. I don't know if he found some kitty food during his travels or if the adrenaline raised BG. Ether way I gave .25 and fed him. He ate better than yesterday and I have a neighbor coming to offer tbsp LC wet food every two hours. I will be home by +8.
He had an exciting morning. I hope he won’t do it again tomorrow though! . Glad you were able to shoot and that neighbor will come by - must be a nice neighbor.
 
I am wondering if the high amps was because of the skipped shot last night or - as you said, he could have eaten contraband food. :cat:
 
Thank you so much for the list! I"m not familiar with the BFF brand but I will look for it tomorrow. Thanks again
I feed the Weruva BFF PLAY foods to my cats. They’re low in phosphorus which reduces the workload on an older cat’s kidneys and they’re low carb. Two favorite flavors at “Chicken and Lamb Laugh Out Loud” and “Chicken Duck and Turkey Take a Chance” - crazy names.
 
@FrostD
Hi Melissa I was reading Lisa's previous post and you mentioned that soon
you and Lisa would need to talk about dosing method.
Do you think she should start to follow SLSG or not yet ?
I always assume SLGS as a baseline until caregivers get more comfortable with the whole thing.

I think he's got a great chance at remission on MPM but that is up to Lisa's comfort level, ability to monitor, etc.
 
I feed the Weruva BFF PLAY foods to my cats. They’re low in phosphorus which reduces the workload on an older cat’s kidneys and they’re low carb. Two favorite flavors at “Chicken and Lamb Laugh Out Loud” and “Chicken Duck and Turkey Take a Chance” - crazy names.
Cute. The names made me lol. I will find them tomorrow and try them out over the weekend. Thanks!
 
I always assume SLGS as a baseline until caregivers get more comfortable with the whole thing.

I think he's got a great chance at remission on MPM but that is up to Lisa's comfort level, ability to monitor, etc.
I read over the dosing methods and I am comfortable with tight control or the go slow method. Whatever I can do to help my sweet boy.
 
Hmm tricky tricky...

How often does he get like this? Inappetence, vomiting?

For now I'd recommend 0.1U if above 120 and having issues with eating. I'm hoping that allows.you to shoot twice a day on schedule. That drop was more than I'd like to see, and very likely would have been a reduction had you shot at normal time.

Re: shot timing. We say half hour leeway, but it's really cat dependent - specifically on the duration of the insulin. Finster has pretty much an 11-12 hour duration, and at his numbers you don't have much leeway to shoot more than that half hour early.
The vomiting isn't often but has occurred twice this month. Once was a large fur ball but this last time was just bile and grass. He hasn't had much of an appetite this week. When his glucose is higher so is his appetite.
 
@Finster
Hi Lisa in your title go back in and put the Date first ,then Finster
Look to the right tap on Thread Tools, tap on Edit Thread ,add date then Fin in front of AMPS
and AMPS put 160
You linked your previous thread perfectly
Go back to your spreadsheet and color the AMPS Blue
I'm glad Suzanne was there for you. :cat:

I know that Petco carries the Weruva cat food
 
I read over the dosing methods and I am comfortable with tight control or the go slow method. Whatever I can do to help my sweet boy.
@Finster
It would be Modified Method not TR
Do you work everyday , are you gone most of the AM cycle?
Don't know if you should follow the Modified Method yet unless you can be there for most of the AM cycle?
I'm going to tag Melissa and see what she thinks
@FrostD

Also did you see what Melissa said in her post #30 about the dose?
@Finster
 
Last edited:
@Finster
Go back to your title lol
160 is really the new AMPS now since that’s when you shot. Get rid of NS not feeling well ,should I give insulin??
Oh and add the rest of those test you did yesterday and his PMPS number and NS and +1 110.This is all for 8-24

Sorry to be such a stickler but that's how it should read so we know :cat:
 
Last edited:
@Finster
Go back to your title lol
160 is really the new AMPS now since that’s when you shot. Get rid of NS not feeling well ,should I give insulin??
Oh and add the rest of those test you did yesterday and his PMPS number and NS and +1 110.This is all for 8-24

Sorry to be such a stickler but that's how it should read so we know :cat:
Thank you for your help...hopefully third times the charm ;)
 
@Finster
It would be Modified Method not TR
Do you work everyday , are you gone most of the AM cycle?
Don't know if you should follow the Modified Method yet unless you can be there for most of the AM cycle?
I'm going to tag Melissa and see what she thinks
@FrostD

Also did you see what Melissa said in her post #30 about the dose?
@Finster
Yes, I will be gone during AM cycle. I saw the dosing post but Fin is eating better tonight, as he does when his numbers are higher, so I gave the .25 for PM shot. Hope that was the right thing to do. thank you for your help and following up.
 
Ok give this dose a few days to settle in, but if he goes below 68 (or if you think he did, just ask and I can probably tell you) that's a reduction down to 0.1U.

The Modified ProZinc Method (MPM) will be your best bet at remission; his numbers are great at this dose, very close to needing a reduction which is very encouraging.
 
The vomiting isn't often but has occurred twice this month. Once was a large fur ball but this last time was just bile and grass. He hasn't had much of an appetite this week. When his glucose is higher so is his appetite.
That’s actually normal - for a cat’s appetite to be less when he’s in lower numbers- but this is within reason, of course. You don’t want him losing weight. Or if it’s due to excessive vomiting or if he’s in low numbers but still drinking a lot then that may mean trouble. I’m not looking for trouble in Finster’s case, however!
 
Back
Top