8/25 Alice AMPS HI +3.5 468

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-no-shot-14-5-153-potassium-improved.234080/

This skipping every other shot thing is sooooo not helping her diabetes. Ugh. Maybe I should try doing a reduced dose. I don’t know. :\

She got one unit this morning.

potassium is still good, she can lift her head. A little weak on her landing jumping down from the bed earlier.

I just want to get her regulated and fattened up and strong enough for another tumor removal which I would like to have happen within the next month, assuming this is another instance of mammary cancer and is in fact operable.

She is happy and taking a nap by my side right now, though. :)
 
I wish I could give you some useful advice on what to do with Alice Cat's insulin doses. I definitely can't. But I can empathize with how difficult all of these decisions are to make. You are doing your absolute best to help her. She knows this. :bighug: :bighug:Sending more healing vines to Alice and to you.
 
Cassandra, I've had a rough day at work, just wondering if you could tell me please why you're skipping shots?

Sure. She just had a decreased appetite last week that led to 100+ hours of hypokalemia causing ventroflexion of the neck. I’ve been treating her with Mirataz and Cerenia plus a veterinary potassium gel supplement. She finally started to perk her neck up yesterday. I’ve been hesitant to shoot a few times when I was not sure she would eat enough or when I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to stay awake enough after being awake for the first 48 hours straight, combined with lower preshot numbers.

Hopefully her appetite will stabilize again and her lows won’t be too low, and we can go back to her regular schedule. :)
I’m all for “shoot low to stay low” when there aren’t other medical issues compounding everything and when I’m not already exhausted!

Over this year on the spreadsheet through there will be occasional missed shots sometimes noted “due to CG illness” and I’ve just had a lot more pain flares and fatigue this year, so overall that contributes some to the problem.
 
Back
Top