8/26 Jack: 162@amps, 60@+3, 77@+4

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Very Active Member
Jack, Jack, Jack- making a dosing decision with this cat is darn near impossible- he likes the 9 units until the LC kibble mix kicks and and we get a late afternoon (+7/+8) upward number creep and a high pmps; but then most times we have a safe overnight, and decent amps again with a nearly too low morning cycle. According to the late afternoon numbers and his pmps, he should get an increase to 9.5 tomorrow. But looking at his amps and early to mid morning numbers, holding 9 is the way to go. I considered 9.25 but I really don't want Jack below 60 while I'm working. My schedule changes at the last minute too often and because he refuses to give up the morning kibble mix bribe, he's not eligible for TR. I also never got a chance to look at the discussion thread on making insulin last longer this weekend like I'd hoped. Just another to-do that never seems to get done. I guess I'll just see what he does with himself today and tonight and make a decision in the morning.:facepalm:

Hope everyone has a good week, and kitties surf safely!
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-56-3-75-4-still-9u.293385/#post-3201995
 
According to the late afternoon numbers and his pmps, he should get an increase to 9.5 tomorrow. But looking at his amps and early to mid morning numbers, holding 9 is the way to go
I don’t give dosing advice and I’m not sure what dosing protocol or guidelines you’re following (signature and spreadsheet say SLGS? But maybe it’s custom?), but Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (nadir). Ignore the high numbers.

I have been following along loosely so don’t know the exact details other than Jack is a kibble-addicted higher-dose cat, but if you're seeing numbers in the 50s and 60s, I’m not sure why you say he has earned an increase. Is he ketone prone? Wouldn’t an increase possibly cause more bouncing? On SLGS, I’d have thought he’d might have even earned a decrease.

Anyway, I don’t want to stick my thoughts in half-baked. Maybe @Wendy&Neko can guide?

As always, sending positive thoughts your way.
 
Last edited:
We dose based on how low the dose takes the cat (regardless of temporary food changes). I don't think Jack wants an increase, not with that 56 today. Dose threat worked again. :p
 
I don’t give dosing advice and I’m not sure what dosing protocol or guidelines you’re following (signature and spreadsheet say SLGS? But maybe it’s custom?), but Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (nadir). Ignore the high numbers.

I have been following along loosely so don’t know the exact details other than Jack is a kibble-addicted higher-dose cat, but if you're seeing numbers in the 50s and 60s, I’m not sure why you say he has earned an increase. Is he ketone prone? Wouldn’t an increase possibly cause more bouncing? On SLGS, I’d have thought he’d might have even earned a decrease.

Anyway, I don’t want to stick my thoughts in half-baked. Maybe @Wendy&Neko can guide?

As always, sending positive thoughts your way.
Jack shows ketones on the ketone blood meter from 0.2-0.4. I need to get more strips- have not taken a test in a while, but I have never seen a zero reading- the vet claims that some cats naturally show ketones in the blood, but not sure if I'm buying that. I do the SLGS, I tried custom, didn't work for him, SLGS is what we are stuck with until he stops eating the LC kibble mix; I don't reduce as often as SLGS mandates because then he goes too high---I thought even if he is higher, steadier is better for his organs than all the bouncing? Thanks for stopping by; I appreciate your input and support
 
We dose based on how low the dose takes the cat (regardless of temporary food changes). I don't think Jack wants an increase, not with that 56 today. Dose threat worked again. :p
I am so reluctant to decrease, those pmps numbers will be too high and he is a bouncy boy whose body over reacts to low/normal numbers...what dose do you suggest based on his latest run w/9 u??
 
Back
Top