8/29 Ruby AMPS 322/+3 447/+6 311/+9 257/PMPS 310 :(

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday.

I'm home again and witnessing Ruby's worst bounce on record. :arghh: A few moments ago I saw her drinking from the water bowl that she typically ignores and she's been very demanding of food. Next test at +9 I'll check for ketones. I'm very worried and hope that she comes down again because I don't think it's safe for me to increase her dose. :(

Asked DBF and he never deviated from my instructions. I will be home all day tomorrow so I can watch her, but no one will be home during the day Tuesday through Friday, and the sitter will come just once a day to test and feed at +4. Sigh.
 
Hi Katherine, I'm sorry about that big bounce, sending positive vibes she starts to slide down. I hope there are no ketones. I would be worried too, maybe she's just having an off day. Please Ruby slide on down for us ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ketones .4. Not zero but not an alarming number thank goodness.

Yikes! How's the LB action? Looks like day 3 without a poop? Constipation can raise numbers.
It's been three days indeed. I'm going to increase the Lactulose to 2.5 ml and see if that produces any results tonight.

If Ruby's BGs start running away from me, I'm going to push the oncologist hard for the chlorambucil. I don't know if I can keep her safe if I raise her insulin dosage as she's been getting some solidly green stretches on 2.5 units.
 
Thank goodness on the ketones!

You know my thoughts, I think the chlorambucil may be needed to really handle the inflammation from the SCL. Pred works for a while.... until it doesn't. Just make sure you get on the every two week dosing protocol. It is so much easier on the cat, and on you. After starting chlorambucil/budesonide, it took me a couple months to wrestle Neko's numbers back to normal, but she also had heart disease and it's meds diagnosed at the same time as the SCL.
 
Thank goodness on the ketones!

You know my thoughts, I think the chlorambucil may be needed to really handle the inflammation from the SCL. Pred works for a while.... until it doesn't. Just make sure you get on the every two week dosing protocol. It is so much easier on the cat, and on you. After starting chlorambucil/budesonide, it took me a couple months to wrestle Neko's numbers back to normal, but she also had heart disease and it's meds diagnosed at the same time as the SCL.
I know your thoughts on the subject very well, Wendy and I am thankful. We're on the edge of it all being unmanageable at this point. Between the rising glucose levels and the chronic constipation despite throwing everything at it, I think we have enough empirical evidence showing the pred isn't really working so well.
 
Paws crossed. :bighug::bighug: She did say she does chlorambucil for some kitties. Been over 2.5 months on just pred alone.
I'm glad she reduced the pred from 7.5 mgs per day to 5. I can't imagine what dose of insulin I'd need to give her if she was taking more pred. My hope is she will take the pred dose down to 2.5 a day when/if chlorambucil is added and then get rid of the steroid altogether.
 
Back
Top