8/5 Moondance AMPS 278, +2 267, +4 218, +6. 75 193, PMPS 207, +2 1 39, +3 90, +4 104, +5 121

Sherri & Moondance

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...225-2-200-10-75-195-pmps-169-2-75-126.250886/

Moondance is running a bit high this morning, hoping he keeps sliding down into the blues. Increased dose to 1.5 U this morning. I am looking forward to more green in his future!

We have our first followup with the vet on Saturday. It will be interesting to see what she thinks about us “going rogue” and making increases without vet approval. This vet knows Moondance and me pretty well, and she has seemed to respect my independent research and care decisions in the past. Overall, I am concerned that Moondance does not seem to be improving, despite his improved BG levels. He may be drinking and peeing a bit less, but his neuropathy has not improved, still spends all his time sleeping.
 
Good luck with the increase!

The neuropathy will resolve. For some cats (like mine) it takes longer. For Bandit it was the last symptom to resolve. Are you giving him methyl B12 for it?

It's good you have an understanding vet. I have stopped asking mine for any advice wrt diabetes!
 
Good luck with the increase!

The neuropathy will resolve. For some cats (like mine) it takes longer. For Bandit it was the last symptom to resolve. Are you giving him methyl B12 for it?
Thanks, Bhooma!
Yes, I’ve been giving him methyl B12 for a couple of months, now. I’m worried it might not be neuropathy at all, but something else that is causing his mobility issues. But it really does look like neuropathy. Your experience with Bandit gives me hope!
It's good you have an understanding vet. I have stopped asking mine for any advice wrt diabetes!
My regular vet was out of town when we started with insulin (though she and I both knew it was coming), so I haven’t talked to her about home testing and following the tight regulation protocol. But I don’t think she will object if I can show her that we are being safe.
 
I figured we’d be in for an active cycle tonight when I saw him dropping slowly all day and he didn't come back up much by PMPS. At PM +2 he was down to 139. I fed him a couple of tsp. Of 4% LC. At +3 he was down to 90, so I gave him a tsp of 11% MC. I did not give him the 2 ounces of raw he usually gets at that time, because I don’t want him to be full if I need to give him more MC when I test again at +4 (in 15 min). So, depending on the number I see hen, I will give him his usual raw or some combination of higher carb canned. Then I expect I will need to test again at +5 or +6 (or sooner if he’s dropped significantly). Am I handling this right?
 
You're doing really well! It's good to feed something higher carb when +2 is a significant drop from preshot. 90 is still a good safe number, hopefully you can keep him surfing. He might just need his raw food, but let's see what the numbers tell you.
 
We are up to 104 @+4, so I feel better. I gave him an ounce of raw with a bit of 4% LC mixed in so he would be excited to scarf it down :). Can I wait til +6 to test again, or should I check at +5. Testing wakes up my husband, so I’m trying to keep it to a minimum (Moondance goes to bed when he does and sleeps on our bed). But I he knows to expect me to turn on the light to test at least once or twice.
 
Back
Top