8/6 Mary AMPS 223, PMPS 307, +1 300, +2 294, +3.5 312,+5 273

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lisa & Mary, Aug 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa & Mary

    Lisa & Mary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Mary sends smoochies to everyone!

    We're going to try a dose increase to 0.25u increase to 2u today
     
  2. tortie58

    tortie58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223

    Good luck with the new dose, Mary! Work the juice pretty girl!
     
  3. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  4. Lisa & Mary

    Lisa & Mary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223

    I'll try to get a +2.
     
  5. Lisa & Mary

    Lisa & Mary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223, +2 359, +6 342

    So I'm suspecting that Mary may be getting too much vs too little insulin since I am seeing no improvement in her glucose levels as I've increased her insulin levels. Is there a way to tell? The one thing I could think of would be to do her injection tonight but not give her her food for a few hours. If her glucose levels increase then it's probably too much insulin/somogyi and if it drops it probably not enough insulin and keep going with the gradual increases. Does that sound right or is there something else I could try?
     
  6. Lisa & Mary

    Lisa & Mary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223, +2 359, +6 342. Somogyi question

    Bump. Does anyone have any thoughts/advice?
     
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223, +2 359, +6 342,+10 335. Somogyi ques

    First, the entire concept of Somogyi is controversial, at best. The original research was done in 1938 on a very small number of human subjects. That original research has never been replicated which is the hallmark of good science. Further, the original research was not done with a long acting insulin like Lantus or Levemir. Fundamentally, chronic Somogyi rebound has taken on the cachet of an urban legend. In addition, Mary's numbers don't suggest a bounce. Her numbers are relatively flat.

    Mary is not on a great deal of insulin. You are also holding her doses for longer than is necessary. If there's anything that may explain the flat numbers, IMHO it's glucose toxicity. I think you need to be following the protocol and increasing the dose every 6 cycles.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page