Sherri & Moondance
Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pmps-200-2-5-158-3-5-179.250974/#post-2831560
Well, we had a vet appointment this morning and the news was not good. She found a large mass on Moondance’s lower jaw. She said it could be an abscess, but it really doesn’t feel like it. His inner eyelid on his right eye started showing a couple of days ago, which she says is likely Horner’s syndrome caused either by inflammation or a tumor in his neck or brain.
We could do x-rays under light sedation which may give more information, but she isn’t optimistic. She doesn’t advise dental xrays or needle aspiration of the mass, because full anesthesia is not a good idea given his condition. So, now we just wait and see. If it is an abscess it will open up on it’s own very soon and we can treat as necessary; if it’s cancer, he will just get worse.
So as long as he isn’t in pain and is able to eat and use the litterbox, I will give him a warm lap and all the snuggles he wants. I will keep his insulin dosage where it is, as his BG is not too high, and I don’t want to subject him to any more ear pricks than is necessary (I’ll still monitor each preshot and get one more test each cycle). If it all turns out to be an infection we can treat, I can pick up with the TR protocol again.
None of this is a real surprise. Since his diagnosis in May, I thought he seemed a lot sicker than his not-terribly-high BG suggested. He has been fighting infections and just hasn’t seemed quite right since last fall (though his blood work was fine).
On a brighter note, the vet was so impressed with my spreadsheet, she showed it around the office. I sang the praises of the amazing FDMB
. I’ll send her a link with the hope she will refer other Sugar Cat Moms and Dads this way.
Well, we had a vet appointment this morning and the news was not good. She found a large mass on Moondance’s lower jaw. She said it could be an abscess, but it really doesn’t feel like it. His inner eyelid on his right eye started showing a couple of days ago, which she says is likely Horner’s syndrome caused either by inflammation or a tumor in his neck or brain.
We could do x-rays under light sedation which may give more information, but she isn’t optimistic. She doesn’t advise dental xrays or needle aspiration of the mass, because full anesthesia is not a good idea given his condition. So, now we just wait and see. If it is an abscess it will open up on it’s own very soon and we can treat as necessary; if it’s cancer, he will just get worse.
So as long as he isn’t in pain and is able to eat and use the litterbox, I will give him a warm lap and all the snuggles he wants. I will keep his insulin dosage where it is, as his BG is not too high, and I don’t want to subject him to any more ear pricks than is necessary (I’ll still monitor each preshot and get one more test each cycle). If it all turns out to be an infection we can treat, I can pick up with the TR protocol again.
None of this is a real surprise. Since his diagnosis in May, I thought he seemed a lot sicker than his not-terribly-high BG suggested. He has been fighting infections and just hasn’t seemed quite right since last fall (though his blood work was fine).
On a brighter note, the vet was so impressed with my spreadsheet, she showed it around the office. I sang the praises of the amazing FDMB
