8/9 Naomi AMPS 350, +6 350, PMPS 367

Yanna

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-8-naomi-amps-325-6-370-pmps-336.233353/

Hi!

Naomi has been on 3.5 units of Lantus for 6 cycles. According to TR, should I do 4 units tomorrow? Her nadirs are greater than 300.

She has these wounds on both her sides. She moved a couple of times the time I was giving her insulin about a month ago. I cut her hair last week and found these wounds. My vet told me to apply an antibiotic cream on them ( Fucidin/ Fucidic) but she licks it.

Could this be a reason for her BG not going down even on 3.5 units?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200809_180244_1.jpg
    IMG_20200809_180244_1.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 146
  • IMG_20200809_180217_1.jpg
    IMG_20200809_180217_1.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 147
Have you been advised previously to move in .5 increments? If so, you probably should continue to do so. I've always moved up or down in .25 increments.

Sorry to see those wounds...any idea how she got them? Have you tried putting Neosporin ointment on them? Luci licks that from her ear (she takes her paw and swipes it, and then licks)...seems no worse for the wear...
 
I haven't received any advice on dosing yet. Maybe because I was not following a method. I've decided to do the TR method. I tried to increase by. 25 but with no luck. I've seen the photos explaining 0.25, 0.5 etc and though I seem to understand all of it, my fingers push the plunger a bit further, and either I do 0.25 or 0.5 it's like I do the same dose, no difference.

Sometimes she moves when I give her insulin. Last time she moved was about a month ago. The needle was inside her skin when she moved. So I guess this caused the wound. But didn't expect for them to be that bad. They are big.
 
I haven't received any advice on dosing yet.
Ok, I had to ask because I'm busy and can barely keep up with the forum - but there are several cats here for various reasons who are allowed to move in increments of .5 - although we typically move in increments of .25 for safety sake and also not to pass up a potentially effective dose.

If you're having trouble discerning the difference with your syringe (I sure know that I was, darn things are so small!)...get some calipers and learn how to use them. @Marje and Gracie are super helpful when it comes to using them and Marje will show you the ropes.

These are the ones I used (of course this was after trying different other ones, these are the very best)...https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html
Inexpensive, light-weight, has the little locking mechanism on top so when you set your digital reading you won't have to re-set it every time you measure out the dose. I do not have the back light - I hold the syringe up to the light in my kitchen and have been able to become far more efficient at pulling just the right dose - it's helped with consistency and whenever the amount changes by .25 it's such a tiny amount, I wasn't able to do it right either...and Luci was all over the road because of it ...once I started with the calipers she settled down...but changing to Levimer really made a big difference. She used to be a championship trampoliner...

As for the wounds...poor baby...I haven't heard of a kitty getting a skin tear because of moving with syringe inserted...no other kitties or other animal that could have caused that?

I hope this is helpful :)
 
Ok, I had to ask because I'm busy and can barely keep up with the forum - but there are several cats here for various reasons who are allowed to move in increments of .5 - although we typically move in increments of .25 for safety sake and also not to pass up a potentially effective dose.

If you're having trouble discerning the difference with your syringe (I sure know that I was, darn things are so small!)...get some calipers and learn how to use them. @Marje and Gracie are super helpful when it comes to using them and Marje will show you the ropes.

These are the ones I used (of course this was after trying different other ones, these are the very best)...https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html
Inexpensive, light-weight, has the little locking mechanism on top so when you set your digital reading you won't have to re-set it every time you measure out the dose. I do not have the back light - I hold the syringe up to the light in my kitchen and have been able to become far more efficient at pulling just the right dose - it's helped with consistency and whenever the amount changes by .25 it's such a tiny amount, I wasn't able to do it right either...and Luci was all over the road because of it ...once I started with the calipers she settled down...but changing to Levimer really made a big difference. She used to be a championship trampoliner...

As for the wounds...poor baby...I haven't heard of a kitty getting a skin tear because of moving with syringe inserted...no other kitties or other animal that could have caused that?

I hope this is helpful :)


This is really helpful!
Thank you!

I'll definitely buy these calipers otherwise all my adjustments will be by 0.5.

One wound is on her left side and the other one is at exactly the same spot but on her right side. This is where i usually insert the needle. My other cats sometimes fight but not to the point to hurt each other. Just bullying. They never fight with Naomi.
I really don't know.

Thanks for your reply!
 
This is really helpful!
Thank you!

I'll definitely buy these calipers otherwise all my adjustments will be by 0.5.

One wound is on her left side and the other one is at exactly the same spot but on her right side. This is where i usually insert the needle. My other cats sometimes fight but not to the point to hurt each other. Just bullying. They never fight with Naomi.
I really don't know.

Thanks for your reply!

I go for the scruff behind Luci's neck...maybe try that area?
 
You need to keep an eye on those wounds to make sure they don't get worse. You may need to use a cone if Naomi keeps licking them.
You are on the 6th cycle at 3.5 at the moment. You can only increase the dose by 0.5 units if the nadirs are above 300. Naomi got a 269 2 days ago so I would not increase by 0.5 units.
Buying the calipers sounds like a good idea.
 
You need to keep an eye on those wounds to make sure they don't get worse. You may need to use a cone if Naomi keeps licking them.
You are on the 6th cycle at 3.5 at the moment. You can only increase the dose by 0.5 units if the nadirs are above 300. Naomi got a 269 2 days ago so I would not increase by 0.5 units.
Buying the calipers sounds like a good idea.

Thanks for your reply!

Just returned from the vet. She gave her a shirt to wear so hopefully the wounds would heal now.

In the last 6 cycles Naomi had 1 nadir 200-300 and 4 nadirs greater than 300. So as of today 8/10 I should increase to 3.75 based only on this nadir of 269 and not take into account the nadirs greater than 300. Did I get that right?

I'm not sure if my reply should be on this thread. I'm going to make a new one for 8/10
 
Thanks for your reply!

Just returned from the vet. She gave her a shirt to wear so hopefully the wounds would heal now.

In the last 6 cycles Naomi had 1 nadir 200-300 and 4 nadirs greater than 300. So as of today 8/10 I should increase to 3.75 based only on this nadir of 269 and not take into account the nadirs greater than 300. Did I get that right?

I'm not sure if my reply should be on this thread. I'm going to make a new one for 8/10
Yes, please a new condo for today! And please include the url from this one (copy and paste) for historical purposes to your newly created condo for 8/10.

Thank you!!
 
Back
Top