Butters decided to arrive fashionably late to the dropsy Monday party.Have a good day Lyla!
Butters enjoys this trick immensely.Oh Butters, learning the ol drop-at-shot-time trick from JaxHappy surfing!
Good job! Hang on ButtersI thought I had her surfing and coming down slowly on LC. Not anymore. She is 56 @+4.5. I have switched to MC.

AMPS: 140
+1: 130
+2: 106 (1 tsp LC)
+3: 99 (1 tsp LC)
+4.5: 56 (1.5 tsp MC)
We are now @+5: 59
I'm sticking with the MC. It seemed to have kept her surfing over the past hour, so +5.5: 56 (1.5 tsp MC).Beautiful surfing there! Don't go teasing those sharkies Butters! They have sharp teef!!
I was testing when you wrote this. The HC got her up to 61, so I was going to hold off for 30 minutes and see if she'll stay up. Do you think I should give her more?
She did not eat the HC with vigor; I think her appetite is waning a little.
@+7 now and she is still at 61. Thinking hold off on food and test again in 30 minutes.No...just hold off from more food until you can get another test...if she's up to 61 now she may be finished with her surfing for the day...let's see if the rise is on the way...

You are doing great guiding her with food! She must have seen how much fun Disco (not me) has when he plays around in deep water, but you got her up nicely...Safe surfing from here on out!@+7 now and she is still at 61. Thinking hold off on food and test again in 30 minutes.
I have a weak example around August 7th of her not holding a reduction. Plus this current situation starting September 2nd. Prior to these examples, I was following my vet's instructions so I don't know that the data is usable for much.
August 7th not cut and dried because I also switched to calipers then. I am not experienced enough to make the decision on my own to not reduce this dose. I will need other advice and opinions.
Why do we not consider some kind of in-between dose? If 1.5u is too little, but 1.75 is too much...then what?
Butters has told me twice that 1.75u is too much right now.
Thanks@Butters & Lyla - These kitties are such puzzles. I know the general rule is save HC for <50 but have you ever tried HC for <60? I'm clearly just throwing out the idea and maybe someone more experienced will chime in. On a positive note, look at all that surfing in healing numbersYou did so great today
![]()
I'm trying to keep her surfing without sending her skyrocketing with too many carbs


What I see is an effective dose as far as finally getting her into some nice greens, however, she did seem rather intent on visiting the sharks, although with your on-spot monitoring she wasn't likely to get much further than a peek under there - so with meter variance, I'd probably lean toward trying the 3 under 50 - but then again it's your choice.
I dunno! I hope so!I'll bet she surf for 7 hours...what are the odds?
Surf it Butters, surf it!
Thanks Teri! Yep, she's seen what your Disco gets up to in those deep waters alright! We both have.You are doing great guiding her with food! She must have seen how much fun Disco (not me) has when he plays around in deep water, but you got her up nicely...Safe surfing from here on out!
Thank you, Sue! When I do well with Butters, it is because of what I have learned from you and the other experts around here. Thank you for sharing all of your knowledge and for being there to guide me.Personally I think you did an excellent job! If she'd dropped to 38 or something then I'd suggest HC...but it was just a toe dip into shark territory...let's see if she bounces later ... ? She may since it's still early...prepare yourself for the roller coaster ride - as I've said before, 'buckle up'..the ride is going to get bumpy!![]()


Lesson learned with the carbs this time.Today was a bounce clearing out day, based on her pink to blue last night, plus about the right number of cycles. Those sorts of cycles usually have extra downward momentum. Two things to learn from that. One, if you suspect it’s a bounce clearing cycle, don’t be afraid to go a little heavier with the carbs to avoid the sharks. Two, reductions earned on these types of cycles often don’t hold. Your goal is to get the right mix of food and insulin to get her up on her surfboard as long as possible but of course do it safely.

PMPS: 137. I definitely destroyed the surf. But as you say, gotta experiment some, and so I did. It's all recorded on my spreadsheet for future reference.But I still expect a bounce is in her near future...you may get a good nights sleep tonight...let's see what cards she's holding at PMPS...![]()
I don't think you did that at all! NINE hours in the lagoon - broke her own record today!I definitely destroyed the surf.