9/10 Tibby PMPS 219 +2 46. UPDATE: up to 178

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Amy&Tibby, Sep 10, 2020.

  1. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
  2. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    So far, he was 46 at +2
    15 minutes later after some kibble 49
    15 minutes later after some honey 59
     
  3. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    It's only +2.5.
    Stop the kibble because it is low carb and you want to keep him hungry enough to eat. It could be a long night.

    More honey.
    59 is still too low on an AlphaTrak.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  4. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Do you have plenty of strips?
    High carb food?
    Ability to stay home and test tonight?
    Caffeine?


    And congratulations on the reduction.
     
    Critter Mom and Amy&Tibby like this.
  5. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    I have all of the supplies. Just had to go buy high carb gravy food, but I live 1 mile from a Walgreens. He just tested at 122!

    I just gave him the high carb food.
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Check again in 30 minutes.
     
    Critter Mom and Amy&Tibby like this.
  7. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    What reduction? I just raised his dose to 3.5. So I reduce it back down? This is a first for him.
     
  8. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Pull the high carb now. He is high enough.
    Test again in 30 minutes.

    Yes, you reduce back down.
     
    Critter Mom and Amy&Tibby like this.
  9. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    OK. Back down to 3.25 from 3.5?
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Dropping 68 on an AT or 50 with a human meter calls for a reduction. Falling under 90 calls for a reduction with SLGS. Back to 3.25. It’s your new dose unless another earned reduction for the next week.
     
    Critter Mom and Amy&Tibby like this.
  11. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    OK, thanks for clarifying. I'm in a bit of a state right now. Tibby's first reduction!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  12. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    And to think the vet wanted him raised from 3 straight to 4. He's a great vet, but maybe not with insulin dosages.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good for you on catching that 46! :eek:

    A favour to ask, could you modify your subject title to take off the 911 (no longer low plus you have helpers) and put on his current numbers so we know he's come up. Whew!
     
    Amy&Tibby likes this.
  14. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    OK, so it's gone from
    +2 46
    15 min 49
    15 min 59
    30 min 122
    30 min 129
     
  15. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Time to make some caffeine...
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Deep breaths. You handled this well.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You might want to take notes on the spreadsheet remarks section of the food, amounts, and when given. That may help you know what worked (or worked too well!) for next time. By the way, wet food takes 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream, so testing at 15 minute intervals may be too soon.

    Nothing but low carb now, and keep testing for a couple hours after his last HC/honey, to make sure the numbers don't wobble down when it wears off. How much honey did you give?
     
  18. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    OK, I'll do every 30 minutes? Let's see if I can do the notes while it's fresh in my head. I'll do them here and then copy and paste to the SS.

    +2 46. 7pm
    15 min 49. gave 2 tablespoons Dr Elsey's Kibble
    15 min 59. gave 1 teaspoon honey
    30 min 122. gave gravy cat food (he licked up the gravy part)
    30 min 129. no more food given.
     
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sometimes a drop of honey may be enough. And you don't need to give higher carb food if over 100. All things to learn for next time.
     
  20. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Good to know. I was pretty much throwing all the food at him. I'm a bit worried about the morning already. I have to leave him alone when I go to work. How will I know if it's safe to go to work?
     
  21. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    +2 46. 7pm
    15 min 49. gave 2 tablespoons Dr Elsey's Kibble
    15 min 59. gave 1 teaspoon honey
    30 min 122. gave gravy cat food (he licked up the gravy part)
    30 min 129. no more food given.

    And now, 30 minutes later again, 174!
     
  22. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    That brings you up to +4 by my reckoning. You can take a break for an hour. Eat chocolate. Ice cream.

    You are not the first person to throw everything but the kitchen sink at their cat, and you won't be the last.
     
    Amy&Tibby likes this.
  23. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    I have chocolate ice cream, and I will eat it right now. I'm also having a very strong cup of tea.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  24. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Amy, I'm going to be calling it a night shortly.
    Your dose for the morning is 3.25 units regardless of how high the AMPS might be.
    If the numbers are the same or higher, you can switch back to his regular low carb food.
    If Tibby's numbers fall slightly, feed low carb.
    If the numbers are falling a lot, put the 911 back up.
     
    Amy&Tibby likes this.
  25. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Thank you!
     
  26. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    +5 reading fell to 144. I'm going to try to get him to eat some low carb.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good move. At this point in the cycle this is good.
     
    Amy&Tibby likes this.
  28. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Should I wait an hour to retest?
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Did he eat a little?
     
  30. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    He mainly licked it a lot, but there is less of it now. He definitely didn't eat it all.
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Is he normally a good eater?
     
  32. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    He usually likes to lick the liquid off first. And he's had a lot to eat tonight. He's now back up to 178.
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are away from the sharks now. I think you can call it a night. Leave a little lc out if you want.
     
    Amy&Tibby likes this.
  34. Amy&Tibby

    Amy&Tibby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    That's what I did. Thank you!
     

Share This Page