? 9/12 Ivy amps 238, +2 150, +8 189, Pmps 157 Contour, +3 277 (Libre) Higher dose

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-2-147-4-162-5-88-puke-am-meal-questi.281445/
Gave Ivy an increase this morning up to 3 units Lantus, SLGS.
Very anxious about this dose. Last time she was at this high dose (early July) she went very low and it was very stressful.

As you may be aware, we are in the process of transitioning her diet to a lower carb now, at the same time, so this makes me more anxious.

At + 2 she’s already dropped to 150 (on Libre). I was hoping it wouldn’t be a bounce breaking cycle. (Not sure if this is a higher dose kicking in or breaking, bounce or both)

Any ideas which I am seeing here?

She’s definitely staying longer stretches of lower numbers lately and her Nadirs, when she’s not bouncing, are lower for her.
Good thoughts are appreciated. Have a safe day everyone.
 
I was going to answer on yesterday'spost but then I saw your increase on your SS :-)
I think I would monitor her closely, especially while you are transitioning, but still increase, as her numbers are mostly high, even if she had some blues. I am not sure the +2 is already a result from the higher dose, but maybe! It seems early.
 
I would transition the food to the lower carb before increasing any more I think. It’s always a better idea to do one change at a time. You will have more control that way. :)
 
I would transition the food to the lower carb before increasing any more I think. It’s always a better idea to do one change at a time. You will have more control that way. :)
Eek. Do you think it was a mistake to increase her Bron? I seem to be getting conflicting advice.
I’ve been told to follow SLGS an increase if warranted. Should I lower the dose at PM tonight back to what it was?
 
Eek. Do you think it was a mistake to increase her Bron? I seem to be getting conflicting advice.
I’ve been told to follow SLGS an increase if warranted. Should I lower the dose at PM tonight back to what it was?
Don't mind my answer, Bron knows a lot more than I do and I would listen to her. I am not sure how you are doing your transitioning, but yes, if you are giving Ivy low carb and you were not before, then it would make more sense to do that first, of course.
 
I was going to answer on yesterday'spost but then I saw your increase on your SS :)
I think I would monitor her closely, especially while you are transitioning, but still increase, as her numbers are mostly high, even if she had some blues. I am not sure the +2 is already a result from the higher dose, but maybe! It seems early.
I wasn’t sure what to do so I gave the increase very nervously. I have a feeling it’s going to take her very low and earn a reduction. :nailbiting:
 
I would transition the food to the lower carb before increasing any more I think. It’s always a better idea to do one change at a time. You will have more control that way. :)
Also we are going slowly transitioning the diet. Every few days changing another feeding or so to lower carb. So it will take a bit to fully change over to 9.25% from 12.5% home cooked diet.
 
You are testing enough to catch any drops. I would stay with the 3 units now you have given it, unless she earns a reduction. Keep following SLGS dosing method. But I would finish the transition to the lower carb food before I increased the dose further I think.
As I mentioned above, it is always better to do one change at a time with diabetic cats.
You are doing a really good job.:)
 
You are testing enough to catch any drops. I would stay with the 3 units now you have given it, unless she earns a reduction. Keep following SLGS dosing method. But I would finish the transition to the lower carb food before I increased the dose further I think.
As I mentioned above, it is always better to do one change at a time with diabetic cats.
You are doing a really good job.:)
Thank you Bron!
 
I am impressed by all the Contour readings today!!!!
I know Ivy is a handful, so Great Job Staci.
PS the 189 cell should be blue :cool:
Today wasn’t great in our house. Ivy is NOT happy with me.
We had a failed Libre (I think it was operator error on the install). Since it was reading so weird I had to poke her. By our pmps poke, she was livid. Let’s just say I earned my scratches today.
 
Pm cycle: Libre readings (new sensor, more normal readings this cycle). Yellow cycle 2nd increased cycle on 3 units.
+1 236
+2 288
+ 3 277
AM cycle New Libre sensor readings seemed off, cross checked with Contour. (I was right readings seemed off and were. Bad installation I think, by me :banghead:
Lesson: Trust your gut. )
Removed sensor and replaced (always try to have a spare or 2 on hand and a handheld meter with spare there too!)
 
Back
Top