? 9/13, Destiny, AMPS 394 - Clavamox and Nolvasan ?'s +2 158

Desi Mom

Member Since 2021
Quick review of Destiny’s situation. She had surgery on her toe at the end of June. Because of the diabetes, the toe is not healing. It scabs over and then part or all of the scab comes off, it bleeds a little, and then scabs over again.

Last week, the toe became infected. The vet started her on Clavamox and gave me Nolvasan to soak her paw in. Between the infection and the Clavamox, she isn’t eating well and because she isn’t eating well, her BG is over the place. Being a cat, she doesn’t understand that her tummy is upset because she isn’t eating and that if she would eat more, than her tummy wouldn’t be upset.

On to my questions. One, have any of you use Nolvasan before? I need to start soaking her paw in it, but holding her paw in liquid is not going to be easy. Any tips would be appreciated.

Two, any suggestions of what I can put on her FF pates to make it more appealing so she will eat more? She doesn’t really care for parmesan cheese. This morning I put some canned tuna flakes on her FF pate to get her to eat some breakfast. Saturday night, she had dropped to 94 and was still dropping when I was going to bed, so I put just a tiny amount of Friskies gravy on part of her FF pate and then she ate most of the food. Her appetite runs off of her sense of smell, so the stinkier the better.

Thank you
 
Hi Destiny,

Here's your last post for continuity:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/switch-to-tr.252614/

Canned tuna works well as long as it's packed in water and not oil and doesn't have any salt. Canned sardines packed in spring water is also good. You may want to consider switching her to a bland diet of chopped poached chicken breast (add back the water you poached the meat in) until she starts to feel better.

Sorry but I don't have any experience using Nolvasan.

Antibiotics will cause stomach upset, and should be accompanied by a probiotic. Does she have diarrhea? If she does, Jarrow's brand S. boulardii with MOS is good to add to her food. Most cats like the taste of it. Here's more about using it here: https://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html#/
 
Cerenia helped with my cat’s nausea when we were on Clavamox. You need a prescription for it, but 1/4 tablet it in a pill pocket worked for us.

If your cat likes dairy, plain Greek yogurt works as a probiotic. Our results were hit or miss with the taste.

I would also top her food with a little bit of her MC food. The gravy was too irresistible and I was just happy she was eating.

I’ve also had success with FortiFlora, but that’s been more for pickiness than for nausea in our household.
 
Back
Top