? 9/14 BamBam AMPS 95

ChrismazB

Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-12-bambam-amps-95.293940/

So our boy has been off the juice for 3 days. His BG numbers are good.

Yesterday and the day before he meowed constantly for about 30 min in the afternoon. His water intake is way down from when he got diagnosed. But over the last 3 or 4 days he has peed outside the litter box once or twice a day. The pee is very light in color and has very little odor.

Any thoughts? Does he have a kidney issue?

When he was diagnosed in July his BUN was high 16.0 mmol/L.
 
BUN by itself is not a good indicator of kidney issues. I'd look more at SDMA, Creatinine, and urine specific gravity (USG). Do you have those values? BUN/Creat can actually be elevated if kitty is dehydrated, not uncommon with newly diagnosed diabetics.

I wonder if he has a urinary tract infection? Might want to vet to take a look if not a one off. A very light pee can mean not well concentrated, but you have to look at context. Early morning pee tends to be more concentrated that later in the day.

Is peeing outside the box out of norm? Is it no where near the box or possible he just shot it over the edge? When my girl got bad arthritis she couldn't squat down as well as she used to so I had to put pee pads around the edge of the box.

Are you following the ISFM guidelines for an OTJ trial? It says 2-4 weeks in normal numbers. So we'd consider him to be in an OTJ trial, not OTJ itself. Remission would be in 2 weeks if still normal numbers through the trial. With our dosing methods, he would have gone to a 0.1 units dose, before trying a trial.
 
I’d worry it was a uti or stone with the meowing, and if it hurts to pee in the box he will try some other places hoping it won’t hurt somewhere else.
 
Back
Top