? 9/16; Henri PMPS 97, +1 94, 89@ +1.5, +2 77, 97@2.5, +3 98, 100@3.5, +4 116, 127@4.5, +5 118, 120@5

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Katie_Waz, Sep 16, 2020.

  1. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You don't need to link the spreadsheet - it's in your signature. Just one less step to do when you start a new daily post. :)

    I hope she comes up a little for you before PMPS. Nice to that bounce broken.
     
  3. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Ah...Ok, I didn't realize...thanks!

    How can you tell that the bounce is broken? last time she ranged from red to blue all in 1 cycle.
     
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    She's over the high numbers and back to greens/blues. Plus when they break a bounce, the numbers tend to slide down all cycle.
     
  5. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    ah...very interesting

    her numbers are still dropping, a half hour before shoot time. 90@11.5
     
  6. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Her numbers are still dropping. 90@11.5

    when it comes to stalling, I'm not sure exactly what that entails.
    I think I want to see that her numbers are on their way up without the influence of food before I shoot? How long is acceptable to stall for and at what point do i jump in there and use food to affect her numbers
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you stall, you dint feed, and retest in 20 minutes to see if the bg is coming up on its own which often happens at the end of the cycle. The reason you don’t feed is that you want to make sure the result is not food influenced.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  8. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    She's still dropping 83@11.75

    Can anyone walk me through this "stall" thing?
     
  9. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    so if her shot time is at 7pm, I wouldn't feed and i would test again at 7:20, and again at 7:40...how long is it acceptable to do this?
    Do I just keep doing this until she reaches 50 and then use food as an intervention to bring her back up?
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    There is nothing with shooting a dropping number, if you are prepared for it. The danger with stalling is that without food they'll continue to fall without food in them. A stall involved, not feeding, and waiting and retesting.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Here’s the thing. She’s clearing a bounce and will likely keep going down without food. You can shoot on time but you could need to be up for hours, you can skip, or shoot a 1/4 or 1/2 dose.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Wendy and I cross posted. Lol.
     
  13. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    I can be home with her to test her as often as she needs. right now she's in the 80's. I thought I wasn't supposed to shoot anything under 150?

    I guess I'm not really understanding what comes next
     
  14. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    So her dose is .75 U right now. What should I shoot. it's between .25 and .5
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s up to you as to whether you shoot your lowest preshot. Shoot low to stay low is what generally happens.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
  16. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    I'm prepared to shoot at a low dose but what should I shoot and should I shoot at normal time
     
  17. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    and then with shooting low, I still won't use HC food unless she drops below 50
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can shoot the full dose at your normal time. Or yO
    u can shoot a reduced dose but there’s no guarantee she still won’t drop either way.
    Correct unless you want to abort the cycle and bring her up quickly. The longer you wait the lower she will be most likely.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  19. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    OK, she went back up to 97 now and it's 5 min to shot time. Should I shoot her regular dose then?
     
  20. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020

    She just went back up to 97. If I do a stall, what number am I stalling until bc it seems like she is on her way back up now.
    and when I reach that number should I resume her normal .75 U?
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you do it I will stay with you. You would start by feeding and shooting and then getting a +1 and +2.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Don’t wait if you are going to shoot the .75. Just shoot on time and feed her.
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Look at JaxBenj’s spreadsheet to see what might happen.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What have you decided?
     
  25. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    OK, So I gave her the full .75 unit dose (about 5 min late) and she's eating LC food right now
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ll be back to check on you in an hour. Keep your spreadsheet and title updated.
     
  27. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    K. will do

    Thank you for your help!
     
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Your welcome. Please do look at how Susanne has been steering Jax with food. She writes everything down. It will be helpful for you.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  29. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    How do I find her spreadsheet?
     
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  31. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Thanks! I'll check it out!
    Henri is up. her +0.6 is 94 and that's with her normal LC meal.
    Should I feed her what she normally eats...(amount wise) at this meal?
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Just don’t overfeed her in case you need to guide her with food. Maybe a little less than usual.
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Question. Was she at 94 one hour after insulin? Put the number in the +1 box on your spreadsheet.
     
  34. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    yes, at .6 and and at 1. I never took my cursor out of the box so it hadn't saved yet. I'll make sure I stay light on the food...thank you!
     
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He didn’t get a food bump so he’s going to keep you busy I think. Next test is +2.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  36. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Glad you shot! Our saying here is shoot low to stay low.:D I'm glad Elise was around to help
    Just a point of clarification. For people following TR, below 150 for the first few times, we ask that you do not feed and post for help if you want it.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  37. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    definitely, yeah I wasn't really sure what to do. I didn't realize there were 2 options. Up until this point I had only ever heard of stalling. I'm feeding her small amounts every 20-30 min. her +1 dropped down to 77.

    Is there anyway to tell what kind of a day tomorrow will be? I'm considering calling out to work in the morning. My husband wont be home until the afternoon bc of a few appointments he has
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Next time you feed Her give mc. It’s early in the cycle.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  39. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    her +1 was a drop to 77
     
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There’s no way at this point to predict what will happen tonight let alone tomorrow.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It says +1 is 94 above???
     
  42. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    I figured lol I'll go look for the MC food now
     
  43. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    her +1 94 is just a little lower than her PMPS of 97 but there were some tests in between that were up and down.

    Should I limit the amount of MC food I give? I have one that is 13%

    PMPS 97
    +0.3 83
    +0.6 94
    +1 94
    +1.5 89
    +2 22
     
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We don’t want her dropping much more so early. I’d give a couple teaspoons of 13%. Lc is 10% and under so it’s not too high.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  45. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    she's now 97 at 2.5 I haven't done the MC food yet bc I had just fed her, If she's down again at +3 I'll do some MC food..how much should I do. it's 13%
     
  46. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    ah..ok, I didn't realize. I'll have to try to pick up some 10% tomorrow

    What is a good number to get her to and stabilized at this early in the cycle?
     
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d love to see her stay around where she is now.
     
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Don’t get too hung up on carb percents. Some cats are carb sensitive and others aren’t. We are relying on the manufacturer’s info. It’s not exact.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  49. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    very true. So being that the last 2 times she ate, she actually ate a much better amount, should I hold off on feeding, see what she is at +3, and as long as she doesn't go down anymore hold off on the food? She a=has still only had LC food bc the next time I would feed her would be in 15 min.
    I think (if I remember correctly) when I see increasing or stable numbers for 2 hours without the influence of food shes safe?
     
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think you will need to keep feeding her small amounts until possibly +5-7. You want to make sure he’s hit nadir and coming up enough. We are going to have to take this test by test.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  51. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    There are more than two options. It's just that stalling is being suggested so much these days so that's why you've been hearing it. It's OK for the first time shooting green, for the purposes of gathering data. For next time:

    Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  52. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    ok...will do
    I think I can stick to the LC food if she's sticking in the 90's then?
     
  53. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  54. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Thanks! I dont think I read this one yet...I'm going to print it out and ut it in my Henri binder lol
     
  55. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looks like he might not need as close monitoring as I thought he might. Test again in an hour. Lc is perfect now.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  56. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Thanks! I didn't get as much into her for this last feeding, (only 16 calories as opposed to low 20's). I think she's not as hungry bc of all the food. I'll keep an eye on her though. Ill give her a full hour in between trying to feed her instead of every 30 min. going to test her BG in about 15 min
     
  57. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    she's up to 116. I'll not that she stopped food a half hour ago, so I'll monitor again at +5 and so long as she's going up on her own I won't feed her anymore. I want her to be hungry in case she drops again later.

    Question, If tomorrow morning and tomorrow evening continue like this where I am using food to keep her from going too low, would we reduce her insulin again? I can monitor her nonstop tomorrow until about 1 in the afternoon. From 1-5, my husband should be able to check in on her once..maybe twice but he wouldn't be able to do it like I had to tonight
     
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. She only earns a reduction if she drops under 50. You want to keep her surfing normal numbers as much as possible so that she gets used to them.Thats the reason to guide her curve with food. Normal bg for a cat is roughly 50-80 or 100 on a human meter. That’s where the healing takes place. She’s doing really well.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  59. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Ah...so that's why you shoot low to stay low

    Makes sense. Oh good... this is exciting then!
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  60. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    127 @4.5
    Does this mean I can take a nap? I need to eat something so I'll test again at midnight (+5) but then I was thinking I might be able to sleep for a couple hours? Maybe until +7 or +8?
     
  61. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think you need to worry about a big drop. If the +5 hasn’t gone down I think you can sleep until +11.5 so if you need to see if heading up at that point so you can shoot on time in the morning.
     
    Katie_Waz likes this.
  62. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Nice! I have a question.
    If we have another shoot low cycle, and they continue...will her body get used to it and it will be easier to keep her up at a good number? And everyday she'll stay in the good numbers without my having to feed her every 20 min

    And if i wasn't going to be home to monitor her tonight, what would I have done as far as food and insulin goes
     
    KittenTheCat likes this.
  63. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    her +5 went down from 127 (+4.5) to +5 118

    did I jynx myself :/
     
  64. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    the last time she ate was at +4 when she was 116?
     
  65. Katie_Waz

    Katie_Waz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    She was done eating at +3.5
    Her +5.5 is 120

    I'm having a problem accessing my spreadsheet but ill update the thread title
     
  66. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    She’s surfing nicely. I hope you get rid of the pests so you can start using your auto feeder. I would get some sleep.
     

Share This Page