? 9/17/20, Tiger, amps 83, +8 59

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Wendy Jones, Sep 17, 2020.

  1. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Tiger has been averaging 58-80 for a while now. You'll notice on his spreadsheet I dropped him more than I should have from 2.5 units to 1.5 after only a day but that 53 he got scared me. Scared that could be more like 42 on the lower end of the meter variance. So I dropped him to 1.5 and he's been there for 3 days and still getting 50's at nadir. If he continues to stay in this range how many days do I leave him at a dose before reducing it again? Will I continue to reduce it by .25 until his numbers start going back up so I know where to leave him?
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  3. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    I know! I'm so proud of him. It's like he got in normal range and just decided to stay. Lol. Is that a daily decrease like if his numbers are the same tomorrow if dectease again? I thought they needed a few days to adjust to a new dose before you saw the difference it will make
     
  4. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    SLGS says to reduce immediately if you see an under 90. TR lets you stay on a dose until under 50 (for a newly diagnosed cat), or a week in green numbers. And with TR there is the concept of not taking back to back reductions, not in SLGS.
     
  6. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    How much longer do you hold a dose on TR?
     
  7. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    I don't want him going below 50 so that doesn't make sense to me not to reduce unless he gets hypo
     
  8. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Very nice numbers! Keep up the great work.

    Hope to see a pic of your kitty soon :)
     
    Wendy Jones likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    A week in normal blood sugar numbers (essentially all green) also earn a reduction. If his numbers creep up, you don't hold the dose as long as SLGS.
     
  10. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Ok. So a day under 90 on slgs and a week in normal or a day under 50 with TR. Thank you
     
  11. Wendy Jones

    Wendy Jones Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    I call him my handsome stripe.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page