? 9/18 Magellan 159+1,193+10,104pmps 83 +1,90+2,60+3,5 5,+5,75+5.15,88

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Julia Rae, Sep 18, 2020.

  1. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I think I've figured out my Magellan is so bouncy in the am. I need to give him an early am snack, that and an auto feeder....:joyful::nailbiting::nailbiting:
     
  2. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    looks like it is a pj party for me and Magellan, Ive been feeding him high carb treats to stop the drop but that does not seem to be working.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  3. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How is Magellan acting?

    Dry food/treats don’t get into the system as fast as high-carb canned food. Do you have any canned food with gravy? Given he’s only at +3 and he’s newly back on the juice, I’d probably feed a teaspoon or so of the gravy. (I’m a little rusty on dealing with Lantus but no one else has responded so didn’t want you to be alone)

    Please test again 10-15 min after your last test.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2020
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It also looks like Magellan needs a reduction - even if he didn't fall below 50. Since he is seeing these numbers after 2 skipped shots in the last few days.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Yep, HC treats don't get into the blood stream as quickly. If you need to, you can use a few drops of honey on the back of his paw...that'll send his numbers up...but only for a little while. Luci loves that one! She's addicted to sweets...so she always wants more!

    Welcome to the early morning club...get some coffee :coffee::coffee::coffee:
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    You can probably take your 911 down - that's for emergencies. Looks like @Bandit's Mom is with you and @JL and Chip - I'm out.

    Hope you can get him leveled off soon and get a nap later today :)
     
    Julia Rae and Bandit's Mom like this.
  7. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    @Bandit's Mom Are you able to monitor this thread? I was just doing a quick fly-by before signing off and I need to go but want to make sure someone is checking in...
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes I am around. Haven't heard from Julia in a while though.
     
  9. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Magellan is lethargic, and not doing much but laying at my side, yes I gave him honey and I am waiting for the 30 min test time.. I figure that would allow the honey to work.
     
  10. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I was holding magellan and cuddling him
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Julia, looks like we cross-posted! :)
    When was the last test? The 57?
     
  12. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    yesw...I have been just going nuts.am a bit of a mess right now and the last 2 test are coning up
     
  13. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Magellan hates honey, that is why I was trying the treats
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That's okay. Low numbers at night are scary for all of us. :bighug:
    Could you test him again now and see where he is?
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  15. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    right now he is under the table im using and beeing sleepy/lathargic kitty.. Magellan in the past is asymptomatic for hypos so im just a bit freaked
     
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Please test him. Its an hour since the previous test?
    He could just be sleepy but you don't want to miss a test when he is running on the lower side.
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I see the 75 now on your SS. That's good. Can you feed him some of his regular food now? We don't want to give send him to the moon with too much honey and HC.
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  18. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    his numbers are now 88
     
  19. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I ca do that
     
  20. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I figue test in 30 min..sound good?
     
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    So he was
    55 @+5
    75 @ +5.25

    and 88 when?

    you want to get one more test to see that he is rising without food and you can then call it a night.
     
  22. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    15 min from last test
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    88 @ +5.5?
     
  24. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I hope so..but he can be a sneaky brat
     
  25. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    When you get multiple tests within an hour, you stack them up in the same box in the SS. I have done it on your SS now. Take a look for next time.
     
  27. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    thanks was not sure how to do it
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    was honey the last thing he ate? how long back?
     
  29. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    the honey, then a can of fancy feast shred about 15 min ago
     
  30. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    his +6 is 77 he is dropping again on me!
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    entire can?
     
  32. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    yes and his bg went down
     
  33. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    next time, you want to spread out the food so that he doesn't get too full to eat when you need him to prop his numbers up.
    77 is still a safe number. let us get one more test to see if he is still dropping without food. looks like a sleepless night for you!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  34. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    When is the next test due Julia?
     
  35. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    standing stable at 77
     
  36. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Iam going to test again in 30 min
     
  37. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    +7 is87
     
  38. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He is flat. That's great. I think you can leave some food out and call it a night.
     
  39. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    This is without food, right? Still rising?
     
  40. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    yes, i plan on getting another at +8 to make sure it is going up..
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  41. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    +8 135 and bed time
     

Share This Page