9/19 Billo AMPS 230, +2 198

Abdullah

Member Since 2020
Yesterdays thread

A few updates:

I just came out of the appointment with Billo's vet, I got him on board with her Lantus treatment after showing Billo's progress. He was impressed and he could see that Lantus was working much better than NPH. He was a little taken aback, but he was comfortable with it finally, thankfully. I feel relieved!

Billo's BG dropped below 90 yesterday before her shot yesterday, so I decreased her dose by another 0.25u. I was helping my sister move yesterday so I wasn't able to test much but I wish I did. She's at 1.5u now. I'm going to test her once I'm home and see how she's doing.


Thank you!
 
Way to work with your vet and glad he's on board:bighug: Good luck with the new dose!
Wooohoooo!!! So called that! Figured a green was on the way. Watch those high flat numbers - may be saying green is on the way!

thank you sooo much guys!! couldn't have done this without your help!

I had a concern. Billo vomited today right after eating around +6, she vomited yesterday evening too but that was after she munched on some grass (she usually vomits after eating grass). I wasn't home in the evening so I couldn't keep an eye on her, but the one today after eating was a little uncalled for. She seems fine ever since, she has been hanging out with everyone, her levels are normal too.

Billo used to vomit a lot at the beginning of her diagnosis, I spoke to my vet about it and he adjusted her insulin levels, we were using Caninsulin at the time. She stopped vomiting for a while and then it started up again, that's when our vet switched us to NPH, and he said that it was because she wasn't responding to the insulins. Not sure how accurate that is though. He did fructosamine tests in between and said that everything was normal except her BG levels, so that's why he put us on NPH. Ever since that she stopped vomiting, apart from the odd times after she'd eat grass. the vomits today had me a little concerned but I can see that her BG levels are fine, so not really sure what to think. Has anyone else experienced this?
 
I’m glad your vet is seeing the benefit of Lantus. I don’t think the vomiting is from the insulin. Have you been feeding any new foods? Was a complete blood panel done today? I wonder if the vet visit caused it?
 
No major changes to the diet, apart from removing dry food, but that was before we started Lantus. and Billo wasn't with me on the vet visit today. I just brought my SS and other information found on this forum to present to him.
 
Back
Top