? 9/19 Pudge AMPS 57/61/59 +.25 67/68 +.5/.75 74 +1 73 +1.25 82 +1.75 88 +2.25 94 (+2.75 96) +3.75 ?

kitten68

Very Active Member
9/16/25 Prev Thread Pudgles


UGH..... we aint never dealt w a PS like that before; especially since he was higher at the last test.... I was making some treats, and he was hungry wanting some, but id forgotten that he's low for us usually when doing that cuz that's only happened once or twice throughout this time.. I was trying to hurry, but did not know THIS low. it's neverrr happened before. I wasn't late tho and we got him food.. and the test blew me away. now, idk if this might have something to do w it. I feel like it does.. but started the compounded Amlodipine yesterday and he is getting the exact dose now. (able to squish it in a treat.. yay. have the transdermal as back up.) and so.. maybe.. maybe not. perhaps just the usual culmination over time. but this is so stressful.. I can't lie. im stressed for him, and me.. never dealt w this before this early. 😐 also he dropped a lot more after my last test..

so I made sure to give him a bigger meal to start breakfast, but because I saw these numbers, im like... well, we gonna try LC snacks after every 15-20 min initially.. and see. is this the way to go about this? handling low numbers, no matter the hours? cuz what we following.. well numbers gone up, but got a 74 and then 73...... even just one point drop I seen can mean is going lower.. feel I should've just broke things more to begin with.. oh well. since he was going up I refrained from the prepped syrup snack..

(update: he's 82.. yay..)

this whole thing has been scary from the beginning.. because of these instances. this is part of treatment.. and its scary, but doing our best. gulp. 😬 meant to also come on earlier.. the days just go by sometimes.

definitely skipped.. no time to do all that and i am not comfortable shooting that anyway tbh 😕 (seeing his patterns.. I think the lowest im willing to do is maybe 78, 80.. that's been ok once before..) and think will try a reduction tonite.. hoping it goes ok. part of me feels lost w dosing because if his pressure was affecting things.. how to decipher that? go back to what worked at 2.75 and work back up? (because it was inexplicable to me honestly why we continued to have to increase again and again and again.. maybe this was why.. 😩.. not sure.. when the body's stressed you don't know.. I feel terrible even more now about everything.. he wasn't feeling good for months..) but I don't want to lose what work we've done either if we should just go down from here when called to.. ugh. *tear 🥲

all in all, a good thing maybe right.. reducing. yay... but ugh. my god. this is a tightrope..

anything appreciated.. 🫶..

happy Friday.. 🙃✨..
 
Last edited:
9/16/25 Prev Thread Pudgles


UGH..... we aint never dealt w a PS like that before; especially since he was higher at the last test.... I was making some treats, and he was hungry wanting some, but id forgotten that he's low for us usually when doing that cuz that's only happened once or twice throughout this time.. I was trying to hurry, but did not know THIS low. it's neverrr happened before. I wasn't late tho and we got him food.. and the test blew me away. now, idk if this might have something to do w it. I feel like it does.. but started the compounded Amlodipine yesterday and he is getting the exact dose now. (able to squish it in a treat.. yay. have the transdermal as back up.) and so.. maybe.. maybe not. perhaps just the usual culmination over time. but this is so stressful.. I can't lie. im stressed for him, and me.. never dealt w this before this early. 😐 also he dropped a lot more after my last test..

so I made sure to give him a bigger meal to start breakfast, but because I saw these numbers, im like... well, we gonna try LC snacks after every 15-20 min initially.. and see. is this the way to go about this? handling low numbers, no matter the hours? cuz what we following.. well numbers gone up, but got a 74 and then 73...... even just one point drop I seen can mean is going lower.. feel I should've just broke things more to begin with.. oh well. since he was going up I refrained from the prepped syrup snack..

(update: he's 82.. yay..)

this whole thing has been scary from the beginning.. because of these instances. this is part of treatment.. and its scary, but doing our best. gulp. 😬 meant to also come on earlier.. the days just go by sometimes.

definitely skipped.. no time to do all that and i am not comfortable shooting that anyway tbh 😕 (seeing his patterns.. I think the lowest im willing to do is maybe 78, 80.. that's been ok once before..) and think will try a reduction tonite.. hoping it goes ok. part of me feels lost w dosing because if his pressure was affecting things.. how to decipher that? go back to what worked at 2.75 and work back up? (because it was inexplicable to me honestly why we continued to have to increase again and again and again.. maybe this was why.. 😩.. not sure.. when the body's stressed you don't know.. I feel terrible even more now about everything.. he wasn't feeling good for months..) but I don't want to lose what work we've done either if we should just go down from here when called to.. ugh. *tear 🥲

all in all, a good thing maybe right.. reducing. yay... but ugh. my god. this is a tightrope..

anything appreciated.. 🫶..

happy Friday.. 🙃✨..
Oh wow, what a scary scene today!
I would put a question in your title so you can get advice in what to do.

It seems to be related to the meds perhaps!
And since you skipped the depot can drain a bit. So hoping it’s less intense after that skip.

Hoping you can get some help with your notes too!

So glad you are watching Pudge so closely!

Sending lots of safe vines for you and Pudge 😻💕🏄‍♂️🌊🥰
 
So sorry for the scary situation!! I don't have any advice, but hopefully someone will be along soon to answer your questions.

As far as the spreadsheet - unless you did a bunch of work after that, maybe just try the undo button until you see it come back?
 
Oh wow, what a scary scene today!
I would put a question in your title so you can get advice in what to do.

It seems to be related to the meds perhaps!
And since you skipped the depot can drain a bit. So hoping it’s less intense after that skip.

Hoping you can get some help with your notes too!

So glad you are watching Pudge so closely!

Sending lots of safe vines for you and Pudge 😻💕🏄‍♂️🌊🥰
staci i was like.. !!!!!!!… thankfully not too bad, but oh no uh uh.. ha. 😅.. put the question mark; thanks for mentioning.. we’ll see.

i really think maybe so too! 🥰🥰🥰🫶🏼.. eh. Ugh i feel bad he was so hungry.. but he got fed very soon after..

thank you thank you!! hug hug!! same to u and ivy ~ able to get some stuff done?..
 
So sorry for the scary situation!! I don't have any advice, but hopefully someone will be along soon to answer your questions.

As far as the spreadsheet - unless you did a bunch of work after that, maybe just try the undo button until you see it come back?
lol thank uu.. ugh… 🫨🫨🫶🏼..

omg all i did was use the undo button im like !!!!!.. nothing…. 🙃
 
I'm going to recommend a little homework reading, this Sticky Note: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers. I would not have skipped, especially if around to monitor. I shot lower 50's and higher dose. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at keeping low numbers flat and low. You could have waited until you saw those 70's to shoot if you were really nervous.

He seen the 50's on this dose just a few days ago, this morning's numbers were not a surprise. The only surprise was when in the cycle he showed them to you.

His dose is 5.25 units, he did not earn a reduction. If you went back in dose his numbers could be awful. This is what he needs now, at this point in time. A cat's dose needs can change over time.
 
I'm going to recommend a little homework reading, this Sticky Note: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers. I would not have skipped, especially if around to monitor. I shot lower 50's and higher dose. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at keeping low numbers flat and low. You could have waited until you saw those 70's to shoot if you were really nervous.

He seen the 50's on this dose just a few days ago, this morning's numbers were not a surprise. The only surprise was when in the cycle he showed them to you.

His dose is 5.25 units, he did not earn a reduction. If you went back in dose his numbers could be awful. This is what he needs now, at this point in time. A cat's dose needs can change over time.
thanks 🍂 taking frm the Stickie, a few things; he has an early onset.. least 1.5 hrs.. maybe a bit earlier.. have noticed things working by then 🙃. we also have neverr had this before.. ever. total outlier. not pattern. so definitely wanted be careful.. and the 70s.. the hour was too late for us by then.. he’d also had a mediumish breakfast and snacks around every 15-20 by then.. 😬🍂 that helped raise numbers certainly. (can shoot then still?..)

am reviewing things and thinking on.. certainly dont want him feeling worst either. ✨..
 
Last edited:
It was safe to shoot as Wendy said. We have a saying here. Shoot low to stay low. That’s when Lantus works its magic. Pudge has never dropped under 50. His onset is usually +2-3. Max was the same. He only onset earlier when he was thinking about a reduction or got extra duration from the previous dose. Since the bg was over 50 and flat, I too would not have waited to shoot as you were able to monitor. It gets easier once you have shot low a few times. What are your goals for him? Regulation or diet controlled? If regulation is your goal that’s fine. If possible diet control being more aggressive will give you a better shot at it. I understand how scary this is.
 
Last edited:
It was safe to shoot as Wendy said. We have a saying here. Shoot low to stay low. That’s when Lantus works its magic. Pudge has never dropped under 50. His onset is usually +2-3. Max was the same. He only onset earlier when he was thinking about a reduction or got extra duration from the previous dose. Since the bg was over 50 and flat, I too would not have waited to shoot as you were able to monitor. It gets easier once you have shot low a few times. What are your goals for him? Regulation or diet controlled? If regulation is your goal that’s fine. If possible diet control being more aggressive will give you a better shot at it. I understand how scary this is.
thanks ✨ .. it just seemed out of the ordinary cuz it is.. maybe something was different that cycle.. i suppose we’ll see.. the lowest greens weve had stayed near 80.. usually 90s.. so was offputting. We definitely shoot then. and flat? (the tests i took for PS were all made together.. no time between 😇.. can maybe lmk where flat u saw..) and know his onset is a bit earlier.. but not sure how much. and well on this dose or in generally? cuz he dropped under 50 one time cuz we were dealing w a lot of stuff in the house and it got by me and it tooK TONS of syrup to get back.. way more than usual. he was sick soon after (not sure if related..) which is why i cant wait.

pretty much the goal has alwaysss been diet controlled, healing.. always. we working so hard.. most definitely. 🙁 i know my kitty isnt feeling good w his sugars up and down as they are… if healing, absolutely the aim..

And ty for saying.. it really is.. 🥲 i also would have skipped anyhow to see how he did.. cuz that was a first.
 
Last edited:
By flat I meant the bg was within 20% meter variance. Yiu say you gave lots of hc. Why? I would not give hc unless under 50. When low at preshot, don’t feed and test again in 30 minutes. If rising shoot. If lower then you skip.
 
By flat I meant the bg was within 20% meter variance. Yiu say you gave lots of hc. Why? I would not give hc unless under 50. When low at preshot, don’t feed and test again in 30 minutes. If rising shoot. If lower then you skip.
I double check PS now.. just in case. and oh he didn't get carbed food, he got his usual LC breakfast and snacks, etc.. (he only gets carbed food if he continues dropping.. I was curious to see how he'd do; he was going up on LC so it was ok.. that's what he got; but he had eaten so idk if it would've been safe to shoot.. cuz that's a no no right?..) and ty for that reminder.. ✨
 
Because he was at a level you could have shot without stalking it would have been fine to give insulin after he ate some lc but you would have needed to wait a couple hours if you had fed hc.
 
Back
Top