? 9/2 Chico PMPS 488 @+5 85 first Lantus dose pls Help

Marina & Chico

Member Since 2021
Dears,

Please help us, today we gave Chico his first Lantus shot 1.25UI after giving him 1.5UI caninsulin. His BG drops pretty quickly and we are at just +5.

1. We gave him 20g of MC in order to slow down the BG curve, should we have let the BG still drop more?
2. what should we do if the AMPS is much lower than his usual 400?

Thanks for your advice,
Marina & Chico
 
Hi and welcome!

I can't advise on dose since I'm still so new, but I'd change your title to say "9/2 Chico PMPS 488, +5 85 First Dose Pls Help" and use the "?" mark to tag it. It'll help get more eyes on your post.

I'll check back in an hour or two and tag a few people if you're not getting a response, but the board usually starts picking up about now.
 
Test again in an 1/2 hour after feeding, to make sure the drop is stopped.

With Lantus, you should expect preshots much lower than 400. Have you decided which dosing method you want to follow yet? The two dosing methods have different guidance on how to deal with lower preshots.
 
Test again in an 1/2 hour after feeding, to make sure the drop is stopped.

With Lantus, you should expect preshots much lower than 400. Have you decided which dosing method you want to follow yet? The two dosing methods have different guidance on how to deal with lower preshots.
that is exactly why i am wondering what should we do... We decided to go with the TR
 
Marina for the future now that you will be posting on the lantus board

Everyday we do a new post
Example the date , Chico, AMPS-his BG then when you test thru the day add to it like @+4 his BG/ @+6 his BG. Then PMPS- BG and when ever you text after his PMPS

Make sure you copy the previous days thread and put that where you would type any questions you have
Do you see I added it for you on #6

Also todays date is 2-9. In your title :cat:
 
Marina for the future now that you will be posting on the lantus board

Everyday we do a new post
Example the date , Chico, AMPS-his BG then when you test thru the day add to it like @+4 his BG/ @+6 his BG. Then PMPS- BG and when ever you text after his PMPS
Thank you for the instructions, i will try to follow that, to make it easier for people to follow.

Make sure you copy the previous days thread and put that where you would type any questions you have
Do you see I added it for you on #6
will do, thanks for this one
Also todays date is 2-9. In your title :cat:
for us it is already 10/2 :D
 
Thank you for the instructions, i will try to follow that, to make it easier for people to follow.


will do, thanks for this one

for us it is already 10/2 :D
Thanks for adding the TR , you can just go to the Lantus Board and see how other members do it , meaning the instructions I gave you and the previous post.
Where do you live Marina?
 
Totally but the board starts its days with AMPS - so the AM cycle through the PM cycle (i.e. until the next AM cycle).

So whenever you post an AMPS, that thread gets the new day - the PMPS stays with the AMPS before it.

Hope that helps :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Time for the +5.5?
ohhh, i got it, i will correct it. i don't want to start with AM today because at AM we were still on Caninsulin but for the future i will
 
Totally but the board starts its days with AMPS - so the AM cycle through the PM cycle (i.e. until the next AM cycle).

So whenever you post an AMPS, that thread gets the new day - the PMPS stays with the AMPS before it.

Hope that helps :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Time for the +5.5?
Actually we did +5.5 and it was 86 (because of the MC) and now @+6 he is back at 85. Should we still give him some food or can we consider this nadir and see the value at +6.5 and decide after that?
 
Ok. Thanks, Susanne. I was just trying to respond quickly. Let’s see how the +6.5 is.

Marina...looks like Chico decided to be one of those that reacts to Lantus quickly.
@+6.5 we got 97... looks like we are past nadir

Can you please advise how to proceed tomorrow in the morning if AMPS will be lower than usual? should we still give him 1.25 or should we lower dose?

Thank you very much for your answers btw, it is really appreciated
 
we will go to bed now since it is 4AM here but we would really appreciate some guidance for tomorrow morning. We expect lower numbers than what we usually see (of course no way to know how much lower) but we wouldn't know how to act. Should we stall? what if number doesnt increase, should we consider not giving the morning shot even though it is only the second dose?

Thank you all a lot for your support, it is extremely helpful :bighug::bighug:
 
I just saw he’s at 97. Excellent. Marina...you can stack the numbers in the +6 cell so it would look like this:

upload_2021-2-9_19-39-34.jpeg


@+6.5 we got 97... looks like we are past nadir

Can you please advise how to proceed tomorrow in the morning if AMPS will be lower than usual? should we still give him 1.25 or should we lower dose?

Thank you very much for your answers btw, it is really appreciated
Since you are doing TR, we would suggest that if you get a 150 or below, don’t feed. Post and ask for help. There are options for stalling, shooting a one-time reduced dose, or skipping and members can help you.

If there is no one experienced around, you can follow this info on how to deal with low preshots.

He would need to drop below 50 to reduce the dose so let’s stick with the current dose. He might bounce.

It was really great theft you got the +2. If the +2 is similar to or lower than the PS, it’s likely to be an active cycle. The higher they are, the faster they might drop at onset so you might want to test at +3 and catch the drop. It’s a good idea to get a +2 every cycle that you can.

Great job tonight! Oh...and I was in the Czech Republic a year ago now. I love it there so much. We spent a week in Prague which has always been one of my favorite places as well as Brno.

I’ve asked three of our overseas members to look for you in the morning and also sent you, via PM) their names and how to tag them for help. Check your inbox...upper right corner of this page. Click on it and you’ll see a message from me.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-9_19-39-34.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-9_19-39-34.jpeg
    17.8 KB · Views: 244
Last edited:
Marina as Marje said you stack the numbers @+6 he was 85
Then you tested 30 minutes later and he was 97

So in the +6 column you would put the 85 and right underneath that in the same square (cell) you would put 97 @+6.5

In the cell 7 you put the 97 there and next to it in cell 8 @6.5 shouldn't be that way, no biggie for now , just wanted to tell you for the future . You did a great job :bighug::cat:
 
I just saw he’s at 97. Excellent. Marina...you can stack the numbers in the +6 cell so it would look like this:

View attachment 59718

Thanks, already updated


Since you are doing TR, we would suggest that if you get a 150 or below, don’t feed. Post and ask for help. There are options for stalling, shooting a one-time reduced dose, or skipping and members can help you.

If there is no one experienced around, you can follow this info on how to deal with low preshots.

He would need to drop below 50 to reduce the dose so let’s stick with the current dose. He might bounce.

It was really great theft you got the +2. If the +2 is similar to or lower than the PS, it’s likely to be an active cycle. The higher they are, the faster they might drop at onset so you might want to test at +3 and catch the drop. It’s a good idea to get a +2 every cycle that you can.
Thank you for the advice, we are still very cautious regarding dropping too low but we will have to get used to it and learn to manage

Great job tonight! Oh...and I was in the Czech Republic a year ago now. I love it there so much. We spent a week in Prague which has always been one of my favorite places as well as Brno.
we live in Brno actually :) it's very nice to hear that people visit Brno as well as Prague :)

I’ve asked three of our overseas members to look for you in the morning and also sent you, via PM) their names and how to tag them for help. Check your inbox...upper right corner of this page. Click on it and you’ll see a message from me.
Thank you very much, turns out Chico decided to do it his way, AMPS 475... no dilemma there
 
Marina as Marje said you stack the numbers @+6 he was 85
Then you tested 30 minutes later and he was 97

So in the +6 column you would put the 85 and right underneath that in the same square (cell) you would put 97 @+6.5

In the cell 7 you put the 97 there and next to it in cell 8 @6.5 shouldn't be that way, no biggie for now , just wanted to tell you for the future . You did a great job :bighug::cat:

Thank you very much, i updated the spreadsheet already :)
 
I couldn't see a new thread for today so posted in yesterdays

Hey just saw he had a big drop at +2 again.
I would get a +3 which is in 25 minutes or so.

With lantus cycle we usually have onset at around +2,
If he is still dropping at +3 maybe feeding him a little LC food (a couple of teaspoons) may help slow him down.
He may just stay in the pinks equally, high and flat would indicate that possibly all that time in green and blue yesterday triggered a bounce.

Start a new thread for today if you reply.
 
Back
Top