9/2 Harvey AMPS 352, +1 349, +2 308, +3 303, +4 277, +5 303

BonnieBT

Member Since 2021
Hi, all, this is my first time posting in this forum. I hope I did my subject line right!

Basically Harvey was diagnosed in mid-July and started on 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. After a few days, the vet bumped him up to 2 units twice a day, and 3 units twice a day several days later. He has been on 4 units twice a day since August 13.

The few times his numbers have started to look better, he's had a pre-shot BG number either in or slightly above the 100-150 zone, where our vet has us giving a reduced dose of insulin. Right after that though, his numbers go crazy-high again. Our latest instruction as of August 24 is to give 3 units if he's between 125 and 150, 2 units if he's between 100 and 125, and none below 100.

A few other things to know about Harvey: his legs are pretty messed up from this. Watching him walk is painful to me, so I can only imagine how it must feel to be him. I have ordered Zobaline based on recommendations I read on this message board, and hopefully it will get here in the next day or 2. The vet has done acupuncture a couple of times, which he seemed to enjoy but it didn't really make any lasting difference. She prescribed Meloxicam for daily use then going down to every other day; I've been giving it daily again this week because his leg situation is just so bad.

Also Harvey just finished his first 2 weeks with a Libre CGM. It's been amazing! I don't think he even realizes he's wearing it. I've been mostly working at home, so I try to scan him hourly as much as I can, so his spreadsheet has a lot of data.

We are going to the vet tonight to get a new Libre installed, and if anybody has suggestions of stuff I should bring up to the vet, I'd appreciate it. I like her a lot, and I'm trying to be patient, but at this point I feel like I HAVE been patient and as compliant as possible, and it just seems like things should be a lot better by now.

Oh, one other thing! I think it's in my signature but he's eating the Purina DM and Fancy Feast pates. He eats no dry food, and I've even discontinued some supplements (fish oil, lysine, glucosamine) he was taking on the off-chance that they might have been having an adverse effect on his BG numbers.
 
Welcome to LLB. Your subject is perfect. We won’t bite if you mess up at times. I promise.
Here’s your last post from main. We link them from day to day for continuity.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hi-from-bonnie-and-harvey.251089/#post-2847289

The supplements you were giving are fine so if they were helping start them again.

Please read the information on the dosing methods we use and decide which one you want to follow if you follow ours. That would determine our suggested dosing advice. With all your information we would not dose on the sliding scale your vet gave you. You might want to bring that information to him.

Are you testing for ketones?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Ask as many questions as you have. Just add the question mark prefix that lets us know you have questions and remove it when answered.
 
We haven't been testing for ketones. I guess the protocol the vet has had us on more closely resembles SLGS, although not exactly. She's had us waiting a week or two and then increasing by 1 unit. He's at 5 now as of Thursday night.
 
Even our more aggressive method would not have you increasing by 1.0. You might miss a good dose. Too much insulin can act the same as too little. Your cat could go low and then bounce high. If you dint catch the low you think he needs more insulin when it’s not the case. Cats often drop lower at night while we are sleeping. Last night a test between +5-7 would have been better than a +11 given the yellow earlier.
 
Last edited:
I need to figure out how to hook the Libre up to my computer. My understanding is that it's monitoring all the time, even when I'm not scanning (such as at PM +5 or 7 when I'm sleeping lol). I will work on that this afternoon.
 
Back
Top