9/20 Butters PMPS 70/+2 112/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
Overnight, Butters began creeping upwards. She had been in the 50-70ish range for several cycles, so I was dismayed to see her go from a 61 PMPS last night, to her BG number more than doubling: 153 @+9.5.
With last night being cycle number four since the reduction from 1.625u to 1.5u, I can't help but wonder if this could possibly be a failed reduction.
I'm on high alert for one, because if it is happening I want to catch it as soon as possible before she has a chance to regress too much.

Have a lovely day/evening, all.
 
Last edited:
So, your question yesterday was about a failed reduction...I'm not sure I'm seeing a failed reduction yet.

Are you thinking those low blues last night were indicative of a failed reduction?
After four cycles at 1.5u, yes. I'd have assumed the depot of 1.625u would no longer be in play at this point, so I'm seeing the effect of the new dose.
If not that, then why the 153 (mid-blue)? She hasn't bounced at all from her green numbers lately.
 
I wouldn't call those blues a failed reduction...if she were banging on yellows/pinks that might be more like a failed reduction...she's just coasting...I wouldn't change a thing just yet. Let's see if she can relax and get back to the lagoon on her own today.
 
I wouldn't call those blues a failed reduction...if she were banging on yellows/pinks that might be more like a failed reduction...she's just coasting...I wouldn't change a thing just yet. Let's see if she can relax and get back to the lagoon on her own today.
Okay. The TR protocol says go back to the last good dose right away as soon as I see numbers trending upwards. I thought the blue numbers were indicative of Butters trending upwards, since she has been between 50-70 for several cycles. Her numbers have basically doubled throughout the last cycle. That's why I thought I was seeing a failed reduction and wanted to get in front of it.
But with two far more experienced members suggesting I wait...I will go find some patience pants. :D thanks:bighug:
 
Just a thought..

You have one cycle where the numbers are a bit higher. Could there be some explanation? Did Butters manage to get into contraband?

I don't think you have much room these days for an increase. This dose has brought Butters to 50. It's important to not only consider the high but also the lows.
 
Just a thought..

You have one cycle where the numbers are a bit higher. Could there be some explanation? Did Butters manage to get into contraband?

I don't think you have much room these days for an increase. This dose has brought Butters to 50. It's important to not only consider the high but also the lows.
There wasn't obvious contraband that she could have gotten into. But perhaps she found enough wayward crumbs on the floor? I hope this is the explanation.

Point taken, though: one cycle of numbers that are a bit higher isn't reason enough to look for a new dose. I had thought with calipers I could do something in between 1.5u and 1.625u (not go back to 1.625u because it brought her to 50), in the event that this were a failed reduction.
 
Morning Lyla :bighug: Just here to give hugs and say you're doing great :) Sometimes I wish cats were like most dogs where you find the dose and then that's it. Or human and could talk to us to tell us what the heck they did when we weren't looking :p. But then I remember they have that magical pancreas and the beta cells have a chance at healing. You and Butters are the best team :bighug:
 
I hope Butters gets back on track. I don’t think it’s a failed reduction at this point either. Hoping she read this and will show you that soon.
I hope so, too.
How long do I need for her numbers to be higher before we consider it a failed reduction?
She is 180 @+3.
I hope I am making a big deal out of nothing. But she hasn't had a number this high in ten days. I'm confident it wasn't contraband, so what else could it be?
 
I hope so, too.
How long do I need for her numbers to be higher before we consider it a failed reduction?
She is 180 @+3.
I hope I am making a big deal out of nothing. But she hasn't had a number this high in ten days. I'm confident it wasn't contraband, so what else could it be?
Whenever Max had a failed reduction it was fairly quickly. I’d give it at least another day. Here’s why. Butters was threatening for a reduction for awhile. You were shooting a very low bg. I think her body needs to adjust again. If it’s really a failed reduction her numbers will continue to go up making it clear.
 
Whenever Max had a failed reduction it was fairly quickly. I’d give it at least another day. Here’s why. Butters was threatening for a reduction for awhile. You were shooting a very low bg. I think her body needs to adjust again. If it’s really a failed reduction her numbers will continue to go up making it clear.
This makes sense. Thanks Elise.

:bighug:

Not sure...how are the 5P’s?
Thanks :)Everything's fine but no playing today. Nothing to be concerned with, I don't think. She has been pretty playful/active (for her) for the past couple of weeks, so it is a bit of a stark contrast. But she won't play when her numbers are fluctuating. She sits on her blanket and stares into space. I think it is her version of grumbling. :D
 
Morning Lyla :bighug: Just here to give hugs and say you're doing great :) Sometimes I wish cats were like most dogs where you find the dose and then that's it. Or human and could talk to us to tell us what the heck they did when we weren't looking :p. But then I remember they have that magical pancreas and the beta cells have a chance at healing. You and Butters are the best team :bighug:
Thanks Susanne :) I appreciate the support so much. The cat pancreas is both fascinating and infuriating, lol. Think I'm just gonna take a chill pill and at least get out of the house for more than one hour at one time...and I will get some sleep :p.
 
What a strange less than 24 hours for her numbers. She rose all the way through +3 to 180 this morning. I gave her a long poke break and I went out for a hike. Came back and she was 104 @+8. Now she is 70 @PMPS and 112 @+2. I'm just going to have to wait this roller coaster out. :rolleyes:

Thank you for taking the time to reassure me when I was freaking out today and for sharing your perspectives on what you thought could be happening, and what you were seeing on her spreadsheet. I value your thoughts and opinions so much. :bighug:

FD has really shone a light on my impatience. It is not my best character trait. :p
 
Last edited:
Back
Top