? 9/20 Ivy amps 334, +3 290, +5 275, +7 277, +9 384, PMPS 362, +2 337, +4 281 Reduced appetite

Bg is 327 on Libre now.
She was over 400 all last night from 1/2 dose of 1.5 units Lantus yesterday, Tuesday am for vet sedation appointment.
I gave 3 units at pmps last night.
Regular dose is 3 units.
 
How long before you have to give the shot?
Has she vomited at all since yesterday?
Shot should be in 10 minutes. no more vomiting since 11 hours ago. But gave Cerenia at that time and waited 1.75?hours to give **** yesterday pmps.
I just syringe fed a little food to see if she holds it down.
 
Shot should be in 10 minutes. no more vomiting since 11 hours ago. But gave Cerenia at that time and waited 1.75?hours to give **** yesterday pmps.
I just syringe fed a little food to see if she holds it down.
*Waited 1.75 hour yesterday (no question mark there, lol)
 
Her BG is high enough to shoot the full dose.
Ivy usually onsets around 2 hours after the shot so if she's keeping the food down, all good :)
How long should I wait to see if she holds food down before shooting full dose? And do I feed more before shooting?
 
Just not sure she will keep food down only gave tsp or so to test.
It looks like she didn't regurgitate any of the food from last night. It sounds like she isn't showing any signs of nausea this morning. Is that correct?

I would give the shot, full dose, as scheduled. I would then feed as normally scheduled except maybe a little less, tsp at a time.
 
It looks like she didn't regurgitate any of the food from last night. It sounds like she isn't showing any signs of nausea this morning. Is that correct?

I would give the shot, full dose, as scheduled. I would then feed as normally scheduled except maybe a little less, tsp at a time.
She is just uninterested in food. Not normal. No more vomiting last night. Fed small amounts every 30 min until +6. (2 am)

Ok will shoot now full dose. do I feed tsp or so every 30 min again?
 
She had a very busy day yesterday and was stressed out from poking etc. It doesn't surprise me that she's just trying to relax after all that :bighug:
Like I said, I would feed as normal. Do you have more cerenia if she does vomit again? If so, then you have a tool to help you.
 
She had a very busy day yesterday and was stressed out from poking etc. It doesn't surprise me that she's just trying to relax after all that :bighug:
Like I said, I would feed as normal. Do you have more cerenia if she does vomit again? If so, then you have a tool to help you.
Yes, it was a very stressful day. I think she ate too much when we got home, having been fasted.

Then 3 hours later, 1 hour before feed time, she puked up all the food.

She must still feel like crap today.

I do have more Cerenia. I gave it about 15 hours ago (5:15 pm eastern). If needed, how soon can I give it again if she vomits? (Package says 1 x a day)
 
She is just uninterested in food. Not normal. No more vomiting last night. Fed small amounts every 30 min until +6. (2 am)

Ok will shoot now full dose. do I feed tsp or so every 30 min again?
It's very normal for them to not want to eat for 24+hrs after anesthesia. You are doing great getting small amounts into her! The only thing that will help her feel better is time, since it's likely more than just nausea. She's probably still feeling a bit disoriented in general.
 
It's very normal for them to not want to eat for 24+hrs after anesthesia. You are doing great getting small amounts into her! The only thing that will help her feel better is time, since it's likely more than just nausea. She's probably still feeling a bit disoriented in general.
Awww. Poor thing. It’s odd that she didn’t have this reaction 6 weeks ago when we did the same routine for the last X-ray day.
So this threw me for a loop.

I will keep feeding little bits each 30 minutes. I am working from home today so that will help. Just very tired. Was up till 2 am.
 
Awww. Poor thing. It’s odd that she didn’t have this reaction 6 weeks ago when we did the same routine for the last X-ray day.
So this threw me for a loop.

I will keep feeding little bits each 30 minutes. I am working from home today so that will help. Just very tired. Was up till 2 am.
Maybe ask the vet what anesthesia they used - there are different kinds and different ones may cause different reactions. My Gadget couldn't have one particular kind (I am forgetting in the moment which), so much so that it had to be put in his file to never use it again. That was the time it took him 3 days to eat and be normal again.
 
Maybe ask the vet what anesthesia they used - there are different kinds and different ones may cause different reactions. My Gadget couldn't have one particular kind (I am forgetting in the moment which), so much so that it had to be put in his file to never use it again. That was the time it took him 3 days to eat and be normal again.
Oh wow. I will ask them if they gave same kind both times. Good point. I know it was 2 kinds. Butorphenol & alfaxalone.

She should not need another X-ray for her leg, but never know in the future what lies ahead.

What a mess this has been.
 
Oh wow. I will ask them if they gave same kind both times. Good point. I know it was 2 kinds. Butorphenol & alfaxalone.

She should not need another X-ray for her leg, but never know in the future what lies ahead.

What a mess this has been.
If she needs another, they've got to find a way to do the x-rays without sedating her. It can be difficult in cats (unsure how difficult Ivy is at the vet), but it is more than possible. Maybe even worth getting them done at a different clinic with different equipment to hold her still, since this last sedation is really messing with her so much.

I'm sorry this is so terrible. You are doing a really great job!!!
 
If she needs another, they've got to find a way to do the x-rays without sedating her. It can be difficult in cats (unsure how difficult Ivy is at the vet), but it is more than possible. Maybe even worth getting them done at a different clinic with different equipment to hold her still, since this last sedation is really messing with her so much.

I'm sorry this is so terrible. You are doing a really great job!!!
Yea, this was the surgery department at the hospital where the surgery was done and it’s their protocol to sedate. I asked numerous times if necessary and they insisted yes. Said they need to stretch the leg and manipulate it in numerous ways. Bla bla bla.

I’m hopeful this was a one off because this caused a real mess.

But I need to be aware for the future of sedation and what is used. I did email the surgery department to ask questions.
 
Oooh poor Ivy, and poor you. I hope she starts to feel better and starts eating soon- what an ordeal yesterday :( Sending hugs and love :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Christine. What an ordeal.
She may be turning the corner a smidge. I just syringe fed her again and then she went to the bowl and took a few Licks on her own. And bg is finally coming down now.

Then she pooped and it was kinda messy, so we had a little bum bath. Probably yucky poo from the sedatives I assume.

So she is completely thrilled with me and all my tinkering over her.

Oh the things we discuss here. :bighug:
 
Thank you, Christine. What an ordeal.
She may be turning the corner a smidge. I just syringe fed her again and then she went to the bowl and took a few Licks on her own. And bg is finally coming down now.

Then she pooped and it was kinda messy, so we had a little bum bath. Probably yucky poo from the sedatives I assume.

So she is completely thrilled with me and all my tinkering over her.

Oh the things we discuss here. :bighug:
This is great progress! Those licks and the poop are signs she's getting back to feeling normal again. Baby steps and butt baths. :bighug:
 
This is great progress! Those licks and the poop are signs she's getting back to feeling normal again. Baby steps and butt baths. :bighug:
I sure hope we are on the road back to her “norm”. What a nasty, wild ride.
She’s very chill today just staying in her room alone. No talking or purrs. Must feel like crap.
I hope you and your babies are having a really good, healthy day :bighug:
 
This is great progress! Those licks and the poop are signs she's getting back to feeling normal again. Baby steps and butt baths. :bighug:
Question Alli, I just tried to offer Ivy a little food and she has no interest again.
I’m wondering if the Cerenia is starting to wear off because we’re getting close to 24 hours after I gave the pill.
I’m concerned about the p.m. shot tonight if she has no appetite again how would I know if she would need another pill for the next 24 hours?
Or, should she be feeling better by this point being a day after the sedation?
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
@Staci & Ivy
It's worth mentioning that while Cerenia calms the nausea or gag reflex, it can also cause a diminished appetite. You may want to see if she's more interested in food after it wears off.

Just a thought, because ECID, and it could have that effect..
 
@Staci & Ivy
It's worth mentioning that while Cerenia calms the nausea or gag reflex, it can also cause a diminished appetite. You may want to see if she's more interested in food after it wears off.

Just a thought, because ECID, and it could have that effect..
Deb is correct here, in some cats it can cause a diminished appetite. I would think her nausea from the sedatives is wearing off now, so I'd hold off on another Cerenia to see if she will eat. Did they suggest Mirtazapine at all?
 
Deb is correct here, in some cats it can cause a diminished appetite. I would think her nausea from the sedatives is wearing off now, so I'd hold off on another Cerenia to see if she will eat. Did they suggest Mirtazapine at all?
Thanks both of you @Deb and Sylvester and @allicatmeow
They didn’t suggest mirtazipine. I only spoke with my vet yesterday right after she vomited and that’s as far as we got. Just handled the crisis of yesterday.

Would using the mirtazapine be advised and when? (I do have it)

I’m just preparing for tonight in case she won’t want to eat again. That would be bad.
 
Thanks both of you @Deb and Sylvester and @allicatmeow
They didn’t suggest mirtazipine. I only spoke with my vet yesterday right after she vomited and that’s as far as we got. Just handled the crisis of yesterday.

Would using the mirtazapine be advised and when? (I do have it)

I’m just preparing for tonight in case she won’t want to eat again. That would be bad.
I figured you had some on-hand because of the CKD. I would say you could give it at any time now. I usually start Penny with a half dose if she's had Cerenia recently, but that's a "know thy cat" situation. You likely know how Ivy reacts to the Mirtz and what would be best. I searched the forum and it seems many people here use it if needed.
 
If nausea is under control mirtazapine would he a good idea. Continue with cerenia when it’s time. 24 hours.
 
I figured you had some on-hand because of the CKD. I would say you could give it at any time now. I usually start Penny with a half dose if she's had Cerenia recently, but that's a "know thy cat" situation. You likely know how Ivy reacts to the Mirtz and what would be best. I searched the forum and it seems many people here use it if needed.
I actually don’t have much experience with any of these meds. Only used a few times (after surgery she was not eating and we gave mirtazipine and that worked well. Gave Cerenia 1-2 times also.)

Seems there is conflicting ideas to give Cerenia again or not here. @tiffmaxee
Do you all think I could put mirtazapine on her ear now a few hours in advance of mealtime?

And how to I know if need to add the Cerenia?
 
Since she’s not vomiting I would try mirtazapine as she’s not vomiting. It’s been my experience that if still nauseous the mirtazapine will not work. Sound like you have mirataz. I’d apply it about an hour before you feed her.
 
Since she’s not vomiting I would try mirtazapine as she’s not vomiting. It’s been my experience that if still nauseous the mirtazapine will not work. Sound like you have mirataz. I’d apply it about an hour before you feed her.
Ok. I will do that. mid she still won’t eat would I then give Cerenia? And if so I would have to wait again to feed, is that correct?
Or would I try to syringe feed so I can give the shot?
 
No matter what I would give cerenia. If she won’t eat you have a couple hours so syringe small amounts and it might stimulate her appetite.
 
No matter what I would give cerenia. If she won’t eat you have a couple hours so syringe small amounts and it might stimulate her appetite.
Would I give it around the time I gave it yesterday so 24 hours after the last dose? That will be about 2 hours before her next meal is due and insulin.
 
No matter what I would give cerenia. If she won’t eat you have a couple hours so syringe small amounts and it might stimulate her appetite.
To confirm: I’m to give Cerenia 2 hours before meal/shot and mirtazapine 1 hour before meal/shot???

Also, you said I have a couple of hours before what?
 
You have a couple of hours to get her to eat before onset. Cerenia is 24 hours after you last gave it. Mirataz 30-60 minutes before shot time.
 
Ok. Is it that they just want food in her system before onset so it offsets the insulin?
It was explained to me that you are not shooting for the number you are at preshot, but for the number you will be at after her meal in 2+ hours.

I would give the mirtazapine now and see if she shows signs of hunger. I would give more Cerenia if she is showing signs of nausea - lip licking, smelling food and gagging or turning away with lip licking, or actual vomiting. The mirtz might stimulate her enough to eat and offset any hunger pang nausea she may have, now that the sedative side effects are wearing off.
 
Back
Top