9/22 Fistuk AMPS 95, +2.5 77, +6.25 74, +7.75 94, +9.5 70

Fistuk & Shelly

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...0-3-94-7-61-pmps-70-3-76.293814/#post-3204938

Happy Sunday :)

Fistuk got a reduction and it's 6 cycles on 1.75U now.

I wanted to post before making the reduction but life was just too busy and I'm once again running against myself. I've developed a horrible itchiness in my skull and neck spine which looks like a stress reaction :/

But Fistuk on the other hand is doing really great. He's had 25 cycles on 2U with a few occasional low blue and most nadirs in the 50's or 60's so I tried a reducy. So far so good. He remains quite stable with nadirs in the 60's.

Fistuk's hind legs have become rather stiff and his not so mobile. I think the solencia is not doing much for him.

Also his upper respiratory congestion is not great. His eyes are always teary with black mucus drying around his eyes.

I'm now hunting for a TCM vet who works with chinese herbs. Would appreciate any recommendations if you know of one.

I couldn't find one here in Switzerland but I found someone who's working with mushrooms. I'll have a phone consultation with her this coming week. Paws crossed this will bring a relief to the joints pain and the respiration.

Hope you're all keeping well and cuddly :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I was travelling down memory lane and found this picture, how fistuk used to climb on me. I'm his rock strong tree :)
upload_2024-9-22_11-13-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-22_11-13-59.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-22_11-13-59.jpeg
    42.2 KB · Views: 139
Hi Shelly,

awww....I love the picture! I had to look twice to find out, where Fistuk is. :) Glad to read that Fistuks bg is great. Sorry his overall health is difficult. So interesting there are vets working with tcm. I haven't heard about that before. So I unfortunately don't have any recommendations but I hope Fistuk will benefit from the mushrooms. I heard some good things about it so far. I know you will do that, but taking a good look at where the herbs and mushrooms come from is really worth it. He doesn't need any liver problems from herbs, which are contaminated with heavy metals.

Sorry to read you are stressed out and not well. Hopy you can take a break and breath to get better. Your boys need you! :cat::cat:

I hope you have a relaxed sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

awww....I love the picture! I had to look twice to find out, where Fistuk is. :) Glad to read that Fistuks bg is great. Sorry his overall health is difficult. So interesting there are vets working with tcm. I haven't heard about that before. So I unfortunately don't have any recommendations but I hope Fistuk will benefit from the mushrooms. I heard some good things about it so far. I know you will do that, but taking a good look at where the herbs and mushrooms come from is really worth it. He doesn't need any liver problems from herbs, which are contaminated with heavy metals.

Sorry to read you are stressed out and not well. Hopy you can take a break and breath to get better. Your boys need you! :cat::cat:

I hope you have a relaxed sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks, Heike :)
I have busy months until the end of the year so I need to breath deeply and try and pace myself when I can.
I do take conform in Fistuk's stability. When I'm away a work and he goes down to the lower 3's I feel a bit uneasy. But somehow, since he's had the summer stomach bug he's found a new bg stability which I'm happy for.

Thanks for mentioning the caution around the source of mushrooms. I will have that now in mind and will inquire. Swiss people are normally quite enthusiastic about sourcing good herbs. But it's important to ask so I will! Thanks again for brining my attention to that.

I hope that you two are having a relaxed Sunday.

We're in bed, with Fistuk, eating brunch and starting to watch the Shogun tv show. It was my childhood book so I0m quite excited about within it on tv :cat: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh, it's such a funny picture! I love it.
Great news on the reduction!
I hope you find help for his joint pain. I am not sure if you tried glucosamine already? It's working well for Bella, I even stopped the Adequan, now she only has Dasuquin, or green-lipped mussel, whichever I buy. You can probably find them in europe as well.
 
Oh, it's such a funny picture! I love it.
Great news on the reduction!
I hope you find help for his joint pain. I am not sure if you tried glucosamine already? It's working well for Bella, I even stopped the Adequan, now she only has Dasuquin, or green-lipped mussel, whichever I buy. You can probably find them in europe as well.
Hi Cecile :)
He was such a funny one. I felt both joy and heartache looking at these photos.

I gave Fistuk 600mg Glucosamine & chondroitin for a few good months. I'm not sure it made any difference. I remember looking at green lipped muscle but found only ones wit added sugar. I shall look for it again, thanks for the reminder :cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
This is just soooo amazing, Shelly!
I love looking at the old pictures with my kitties too. A lot of wonderful memories.

Fistuk's numbers look great.
I hope he surfs steadily and you get to enjoy your day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Fistuk is looking good on this dose. :D

My vet does TCM as do all the vets at that clinic. Sorry, but Vancouver is probably a bit far to bring Fistuk. :p Plus they aren't taking new clients cause their clinic is so busy. All I can suggest is seeing if there is a school that teaches veterinary TCM or a governing body of some kind that might have a vet list.

For the crusty eyes and congestion, good luck with the upcoming vet call. Have you ever considered a possibility is allergies?

Arthritis - lots of experience there with Neko. The reason I got into my vet clinic is that Neko got acupuncture for her arthritis there. It helped her a lot. Other things that helped are hyaluronic acid drops - I used brand Hyaflex and Duralactin. Duralactin is an anti-inflammatory, but not good if kitty's calcium is high. Even fish oil has anti inflammatory properties.
 
Fistuk is looking good on this dose. :D

My vet does TCM as do all the vets at that clinic. Sorry, but Vancouver is probably a bit far to bring Fistuk. :p Plus they aren't taking new clients cause their clinic is so busy. All I can suggest is seeing if there is a school that teaches veterinary TCM or a governing body of some kind that might have a vet list.

Will you give me the details of your vet's clinic? I could see if they'll have space for nine consult or could give me recommendation of another clinic. Ot maybe the universe will arrange a spot for us ;)

There is an acupuncture option here, though rather expensive, but not tcm herbs. And no TDM school for vets :/

Have you ever considered a possibility is allergies?
Since it's there all year it's looking less like allergies. I think I'll need to do some allergies test to make sure.

hyaluronic acid drops
Never heard of that before. Thanks for the recommendation! I'll give it a try

Are fat acid ok for CKD?

Sourcing a good fish oil is not easy. I remember looking at it before but perhaps I'll renew my search.

Thanks for the all the good recommendations :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
This is just soooo amazing, Shelly!
I love looking at the old pictures with my kitties too. A lot of wonderful memories.

Fistuk's numbers look great.
I hope he surfs steadily and you get to enjoy your day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He was such a funny little monkey :joyful:
It is fun to look at old pictures. I'm happy I have them, and videos too.
I hope you and Mikan are having a great Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You asked "are fish oil good for CKD", see this page:
https://felinecrf.org/nutritional_requirements.htm#essential_fatty_acids

By allergies I meant food allergies, or a protein or other food he gets all year. Or maybe even what is in his kitty litter.

My vet clinic takes on no new clients and my current vet is retiring next year. :arghh:. And I know they'd want to see the pet first. Try calling the vet clinic that does acupuncture and ask if they know someone who does TCM herbs. Acupuncture is also considered a branch of TCM.
 
You asked "are fish oil good for CKD", see this page:
https://felinecrf.org/nutritional_requirements.htm#essential_fatty_acids

By allergies I meant food allergies, or a protein or other food he gets all year. Or maybe even what is in his kitty litter.

My vet clinic takes on no new clients and my current vet is retiring next year. :arghh:. And I know they'd want to see the pet first. Try calling the vet clinic that does acupuncture and ask if they know someone who does TCM herbs. Acupuncture is also considered a branch of TCM.
Oh I'm sorry you'r going to lose a vet you liked and trusted. I know it's not easy to find good ones. I hope you'll find someone else there that you can feel comfortable with :bighug:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...0-3-94-7-61-pmps-70-3-76.293814/#post-3204938

Happy Sunday :)

Fistuk got a reduction and it's 6 cycles on 1.75U now.

I wanted to post before making the reduction but life was just too busy and I'm once again running against myself. I've developed a horrible itchiness in my skull and neck spine which looks like a stress reaction :/

But Fistuk on the other hand is doing really great. He's had 25 cycles on 2U with a few occasional low blue and most nadirs in the 50's or 60's so I tried a reducy. So far so good. He remains quite stable with nadirs in the 60's.

Fistuk's hind legs have become rather stiff and his not so mobile. I think the solencia is not doing much for him.

Also his upper respiratory congestion is not great. His eyes are always teary with black mucus drying around his eyes.

I'm now hunting for a TCM vet who works with chinese herbs. Would appreciate any recommendations if you know of one.

I couldn't find one here in Switzerland but I found someone who's working with mushrooms. I'll have a phone consultation with her this coming week. Paws crossed this will bring a relief to the joints pain and the respiration.

Hope you're all keeping well and cuddly :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I was travelling down memory lane and found this picture, how fistuk used to climb on me. I'm his rock strong tree :)
View attachment 71051
Hi Shelly, congratulations on the reduction for Fistuk’s dose. He looks just great. :D
That photo of both of you is great!! Thanks for sharing it with us ❤️

I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling great. I hope you have a quick recovery. :kiss:

Sending hugs to your sweet boy. :bighug::bighug:
I hope you are able to find some help with his stiffness and his congestion and eye. You’re so great at finding good solutions and alternative options to help him.
Good luck with the mushroom consultation this week. Let us know if you find out anything helpful.
Hope you have a restful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, Fistuk sure is doing great on this dose. I hope you can find something that will help with the stiffness and the upper respiratory and his eyes .
Give that cutie lots of kisses for me
I hope that itchiness will subside soon for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I don't give it to her now, I bought some Dasuquin, but that's the one I used before:
super snouts joint powder I liked the fact that there were no additives. It comes with a tiny spoon as a dose measurer.
I also bought CBD-oil-based drops for joints for a time, I am not sure if that one helped a lot, I never gave only that at a time.
 
Happy Monday, Shelly and Fistuk!
That is the cutest, funniest picture -- I love it so much!!!
I hope the mushrooms will help with Fistuk's joints and respiration. Congrats on the reduction and beautiful numbers! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh congratulations and good luck with the reduction...good work Fistuk!! I'm sorry you haven't been feeling well, please do make time for yourself and prioritize self-care- Fistuk needs you to be healthy! It's so much easier said than done, I know. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Also, good luck with the TCM and the eye issues- I agree on trying acupuncture, I know for me it helps with a lot of issues- joint pain/stiffness/mobility being one. I hope it's easier by you to find a good, qualified practitioner...it stinks here....Sending much love to you and your little climber (very adorable picture) and his brother Prince as well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, Fistuk sure is doing great on this dose. I hope you can find something that will help with the stiffness and the upper respiratory and his eyes .
Give that cutie lots of kisses for me
I hope that itchiness will subside soon for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane :)
Fistuk always appreciates your cuddles and nose kisses :cat:
My itchiness is getting a bit worse but I've decided to reduce my working hours. It's been too much :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't give it to her now, I bought some Dasuquin, but that's the one I used before:
super snouts joint powder I liked the fact that there were no additives. It comes with a tiny spoon as a dose measurer.
I also bought CBD-oil-based drops for joints for a time, I am not sure if that one helped a lot, I never gave only that at a time.
Thanks, Cecile. I found a German product that is pure so I'll give it a try :bighug:
 
Happy Monday, Shelly and Fistuk!
That is the cutest, funniest picture -- I love it so much!!!
I hope the mushrooms will help with Fistuk's joints and respiration. Congrats on the reduction and beautiful numbers! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Karen :cat:
I haven't managed to make a post but Fistuk got another reduction today. He had a lime visit today. So Happy I was home when it happned :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh congratulations and good luck with the reduction...good work Fistuk!! I'm sorry you haven't been feeling well, please do make time for yourself and prioritize self-care- Fistuk needs you to be healthy! It's so much easier said than done, I know. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Also, good luck with the TCM and the eye issues- I agree on trying acupuncture, I know for me it helps with a lot of issues- joint pain/stiffness/mobility being one. I hope it's easier by you to find a good, qualified practitioner...it stinks here....Sending much love to you and your little climber (very adorable picture) and his brother Prince as well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Christine :)
I haven't found a TCVM unfortunately and acupuncture here is expensive for me. I love acupuncture, it's been hugely helpful for me. But unfortunately at the moment I can't afford it.
I'll try the green lipped mussle that Cecile recommended. I had to postpone the consultation with the mushroom lady but hopefully next week.
I really didn't have much time to rest. It really sucked. But I'm looking into what possible changes I can make because I know I can't keep going on like that.
Prince seems to suffer from food allergies :/ I need to find out how to care for him now.
I hope that your life isn't crazy hectic too. And that the pack is doing well. Much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine :)
I haven't found a TCVM unfortunately and acupuncture here is expensive for me. I love acupuncture, it's been hugely helpful for me. But unfortunately at the moment I can't afford it.
I'll try the green lipped mussle that Cecile recommended. I had to postpone the consultation with the mushroom lady but hopefully next week.
I really didn't have much time to rest. It really sucked. But I'm looking into what possible changes I can make because I know I can't keep going on like that.
Prince seems to suffer from food allergies :/ I need to find out how to care for him now.
I hope that your life isn't crazy hectic too. And that the pack is doing well. Much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes, acupuncture is very expensive here too, more so for animals. It's really criminal if you ask me. I'm sorry to hear that Prince has food allergies, my vet had told me that the blood tests are not very effective at determining what causes them, and are expensive, but that chicken and fish are two of the main culprits- not sure what Prince eats. I do feel so bad that you have another condition to manage now though. SO much stress. Life is extremely hectic here, I never seem to find time for the board anymore, and a few of Jack's older non-blood siblings are having issues as well, so lots of vet bills :-( and extra work to pay them. Sending you, the cats and your family much love, many hugs, and prayers for peace, rest and good answers for easy pet issue management (if such a thing exists!) :bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you feel better! Stress is such a hard thing to deal with and can do strange things both mentally and physically. :bighug::bighug:

That picture is so good. When I was little and my family was looking to pick a farm kitty out of a litter, I put one of them up the bottom of my dad's trousers. Peaches climbed all the way up his leg, and I don't think he appreciated it. But we found our first cat :cat:
 
I hope you feel better! Stress is such a hard thing to deal with and can do strange things both mentally and physically. :bighug::bighug:

That picture is so good. When I was little and my family was looking to pick a farm kitty out of a litter, I put one of them up the bottom of my dad's trousers. Peaches climbed all the way up his leg, and I don't think he appreciated it. But we found our first cat :cat:
That's such a sweet story :) I love hearing the stories of the ways we find our furry companions.
Yes. stress is doing strange things indeed. And I'm a sensitive person so my body speaks for me very quickly.:bighug::bighug:

I'm glad you reduced your work hours
I've asked today to reduce the hours! I felt such a huge relief after doing that :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, acupuncture is very expensive here too, more so for animals. It's really criminal if you ask me. I'm sorry to hear that Prince has food allergies, my vet had told me that the blood tests are not very effective at determining what causes them, and are expensive, but that chicken and fish are two of the main culprits- not sure what Prince eats. I do feel so bad that you have another condition to manage now though. SO much stress. Life is extremely hectic here, I never seem to find time for the board anymore, and a few of Jack's older non-blood siblings are having issues as well, so lots of vet bills :-( and extra work to pay them. Sending you, the cats and your family much love, many hugs, and prayers for peace, rest and good answers for easy pet issue management (if such a thing exists!) :bighug::bighug:
I agree that it's criminal. I hate that they take advantage like that.
Prince eats chicken and fish :banghead: So it's good to know these are the main allergens. I found a new food company that I want to try. I made an order before I read your post :/ But I'll try them and see if he likes it because prince can be very picky.
I'm sorry to hear that you're life is still hectic. I know what it's like to not find time for things. It kinda sucks :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope that things will relax for you and that you'll be able to get some rest and well-deserved rest:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top