9/22 kit AMPS 104,+3 225,+9.5 102,+11 59,11+20min 49,PMPS 50,+1 104,+2 114,+3 104,+4 106

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JOJI and Kit, Sep 22, 2020.

  1. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice numbers last night. I hope Kit heads back down today.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  3. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    kit might be trying to squeak in a reduction before the end of the cycle.
    if yes, would this be another one of those cases where a percentage shot would be in order? @Wendy&Neko
    i.e. the reduction would take her to 4.5U
    but shoot half of that tonight and then the regular reduction amount starts in the AM cycle?
     
  4. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    reduction earned. almost to PMPS ...
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you don’t hear from Wendy maybe do what you did last time I guess??? Does that feel right to you?
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  6. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    well well well, our kit is full of surprises.
    i think we used just about everything you've taught us tonight. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    here's the play-by-play for anybody else who happens by.

    reduction earned @11+20min :eek:
    PMPS 50 fed 0.4oz LC 6% and tested again in 15min just to make sure she was heading in the "good" direction
    PMPS+15min, 53
    we shot 50% of the new reduction dose of 4.5U, i.e. we shot 2.25U
    we have found that at these larger doses, draining the depot a bit helps keep kit from racing to the bottom too quickly after an earned reduction.
    with the next cycle, i.e.tomorrow AM, we will start with the normal reduction amount of 4.5U
    fed 2.95oz LC 6% with a little MC 15% insurance of 0.3oz

    testing again at +1, +2, +3 ....
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You have a perfect plan. I almost hope to see a bounce. Sorry if that's not what you want. I am very happy that the insulin resistance has gone away. :bighug:
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Nice bump to +1. FWIW, under 5 units, the reductions usually go back to 0.25 units at a time.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  9. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    ah. last time we were "here" in july we went down by 0.5u as far as 4.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Just keep an eye on it, what happened last time may not work this time.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  11. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    that's fair.
    so are you saying that we go to 4.5U tomorrow and keep and eye on it wrt possible failed reduction?
    or?
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It is confusing. It sounds to me like she’s saying take .25. I personally don’t think there’s a definite answer. It’s like trial and error or trial and success.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You can try a 0.5 unit reduction and see if it works. When you get to higher doses, you really have to figure out what works for your cat. With Neko, smaller reductions kept her more even, but over a certain size dose (or after her radiation therapy), I needed to do bigger reductions.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.

Share This Page