9/23 Bama Kitty PMPS 363 +2.25 365 +4.5 353

Great, safe blues last night, Gina. Don't be nervous with blues. Just keep an eye on them. Wait until you start getting greens. They are scary at first but then you get excited to see them. With greens - monitor, monitor, monitor.

Do you have lots of medium and high carb food on hand? Do you have honey or Karo? Do you have your "Hypo Kit" set up? Not that you need these things now but you need to be prepared. It will help you to better handle new situations.
 
Great, safe blues last night, Gina. Don't be nervous with blues. Just keep an eye on them. Wait until you start getting greens. They are scary at first but then you get excited to see them. With greens - monitor, monitor, monitor.

Do you have lots of medium and high carb food on hand? Do you have honey or Karo? Do you have your "Hypo Kit" set up? Not that you need these things now but you need to be prepared. It will help you to better handle new situations.
I have a couple cans of FF Gravy Lovers that test out on the online calculator @ 14%; have those nasty Temptations treats and Squeeze-ups that also test out @ 14%, and honey. I didn’t think he was in danger so long as he stayed in the blues. I was just worried about a non-stop slide into low greens.

Hope you get some answers at the vet. I will be checking your convo for updates.
 
I have a couple cans of FF Gravy Lovers that test out on the online calculator @ 14%; have those nasty Temptations treats and Squeeze-ups that also test out @ 14%, and honey. I didn’t think he was in danger so long as he stayed in the blues. I was just worried about a non-stop slide into low greens.

Hope you get some answers at the vet. I will be checking your convo for updates.
You might want to get yourself a few cans of Fancy Feast Beef Gravy Lovers. It is 20% (h/c) and better than the Temptations. We are not supposed to use Temptations but I have been using a few of them from time to time to get Susie to eat. They are really h/c. I think they are around 31% but I don't know if that is for one or many. Also, I have heard that if you are on Tight Regulation you are not supposed to be feeding any dry. The beef gravy lovers is great. Susie loves it and it definitely has helped to bring her numbers up when I have had an emergency (under 50). I don't know anything about the Squeeze-ups.

No, he was in no danger in the blues. I just wanted to mention these things because you will probably need them down the road and it is best to have them on hand.

Thanks for the well-wishes for Susie at the vet. I just don't know how a vet will determine why she is not eating like she used to unless something shows up in her labs. How do they know if it is nausea?
 
Thanks for the well-wishes for Susie at the vet. I just don't know how a vet will determine why she is not eating like she used to unless something shows up in her labs. How do they know if it is nausea?
I don’t know how anyone knows it is nausea. Maybe the conflicting behaviors of appearing interested in food but then turning away. Bama gets Ondansatron for occasional use. It is a small pill and fits really well inside a pill pocket. Unfortunately he has bitten through the pocket occasionally and tasted the pill which is bitter. Lately I have been placing the pill inside a #5 capsule and poking it down his throat. He resists, of course, and it sometimes takes a few attempts but at least the pill is not dissolving and leaving a bitter taste behind. It also has some sedative properties.
 
Great, safe blues last night, Gina. Don't be nervous with blues. Just keep an eye on them. Wait until you start getting greens. They are scary at first but then you get excited to see them. With greens - monitor, monitor, monitor.

Do you have lots of medium and high carb food on hand? Do you have honey or Karo? Do you have your "Hypo Kit" set up? Not that you need these things now but you need to be prepared. It will help you to better handle new situations.
@Summer and Susie
One thing I am not sure of is the “bulb syringe”. I just figured if I needed to apply via rectum I could glove up & lube up his digital thermometer with Vaseline and honey and insert. I did look while I was out today in the baby section at Walmart. Closest thing imaginable was one of those “mucous suction bulbs” but it came in a package with other items that would not prove useful so I didn’t get it.
 
Bama’s PMPS numbers always seem so much lower than readings taken @ +9 & +10. He typically doesn’t get food at these times so why are the numbers 100 to 150 points lower in just a couple of hours? Is this too fast a drop?
 
@Summer and Susie
One thing I am not sure of is the “bulb syringe”. I just figured if I needed to apply via rectum I could glove up & lube up his digital thermometer with Vaseline and honey and insert. I did look while I was out today in the baby section at Walmart. Closest thing imaginable was one of those “mucous suction bulbs” but it came in a package with other items that would not prove useful so I didn’t get it.
I was a little confused about that too. I ended up buying this. It is a Medline Ear/Ulcer Syringe. Maybe in your next daily thread you can ask what others have. That way your question isn't lost in this thread.
https://www.bettymills.com/sterile-...SIRQ4DE-d1CXfRtAzkThkd-yvYRfS9DxoCe1UQAvD_BwE
 
Back
Top