9/26 Max2 ~ AMPS=254, AM+3=216, AM+6.5=193, PMPS=233, PM3=262

Stephanie & Max

Member Since 2009
Having a good day so far. Slowly working towards a dose increase.

I free feed Max LC wet food and only pull up for the two hours prior to AMPS & PMPS. I know there may come a day when I'm in urgent need of input and want to have the info in the most logical place.

I'm wondering if I should note this in my signature or just on my spreadsheet.

Links to previous posts:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-25-max2-amps-322.253450/

~Stephanie & Max
 
We usually assume the preshot numbers are not food influenced unless you tell us so, so it's not necessary to mark it in the signature or spreadsheet.

Have you considered going to TR? Since Max is on budesonide, it may help you get him into better numbers more quickly. When Ruby went on pred, I kept increasing until I found the "right" dose for her and she's been mostly steady on 2.5 units for a while now.
 
We usually assume the preshot numbers are not food influenced unless you tell us so, so it's not necessary to mark it in the signature or spreadsheet.

Have you considered going to TR? Since Max is on budesonide, it may help you get him into better numbers more quickly. When Ruby went on pred, I kept increasing until I found the "right" dose for her and she's been mostly steady on 2.5 units for a while now.
I was hoping to do TR, but I'm worried I won't be able to test enough. I am home most all the time, but my sleep schedule is really inconsistent. I think I will re-evaluate after seeing how the next dose increase goes.
 
I was hoping to do TR, but I'm worried I won't be able to test enough. I am home most all the time, but my sleep schedule is really inconsistent. I think I will re-evaluate after seeing how the next dose increase goes.
You do test plenty. The minimum we ask for TR is preshot tests and one test every cycle, especially +2 tests. More data is always more helpful, but we all have lives to lead and sleep is important.

Because of the budesonide it might be difficult to get Max regulated, but what you want to see are fewer pink and yellow numbers and more greens and blues. More insulin can help with that. Increasing at .25 units each time will ensure you won't overshoot the amount of insulin he needs.
 
You do test plenty. The minimum we ask for TR is preshot tests and one test every cycle, especially +2 tests. More data is always more helpful, but we all have lives to lead and sleep is important.

Because of the budesonide it might be difficult to get Max regulated, but what you want to see are fewer pink and yellow numbers and more greens and blues. More insulin can help with that. Increasing at .25 units each time will ensure you won't overshoot the amount of insulin he needs.

I'm in the process of reducing his budesonide dosage from his acute dosage to a lower maintenance dosage. I'll need to see how that impacts his IBD, but I was wondering if it would impact his ability to get regulated.

So do you mean that if doing TR, it is more important to get +2 over +3?
 
A +2 test tells you if it's going to be an active cycle or not. If it's higher than the preshot, then it usually means you can test less that cycle. If it's flat or lower, it means he might drop more and to monitor. This is because Lantus onsets somewhere between +2 and +3 and you want to catch any steep drops caused by the insulin.

Budesonide does not always affect BGs so ECID. Some caregivers here have given it to their cats and it has had no effect and didn't make them diabetic. My Ruby was knocked out of quasi-remission when she started prednisolone and now she is hard to regulate. Sometimes steroids bump numbers up during the cycle it is given. What time of day do you give it? I would note it on your spreadsheet so those looking at your spreadsheet can possibly glean a pattern.
 
Back
Top