9/3/20 Sissy AMPS 228, +2 173, +3.5 135, +9.5 134, pmps 104

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mandy S, Sep 3, 2020.

  1. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Just did Sissy's PMPS...new pre shot low...104 and not sure what to do. I haven't fed, think I'm supposed to stall and retest. Reading in the sticky...if below 150 don't give insulin. It says if I have flexibility I can stall for 30-60 min to see if the numbers go up to a number that is shootable...so I'm holding for now.
    I was gone most of the day with an issue with my grandmother. My 13 year old took care of testing today..kept food out for her and called me with numbers. Sissy just ate some food at +8, not a lot...but some. Then we picked up the bowl. She's been acting like she wants food asap the last 2 hours...I felt bad for her.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You switched to SLGS? Looks like not increasing was the right call.
     
  3. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Yes, for sure.

    I added more to the first post, was editing when you replied. Is holding for 30-60 minutes what I should do to see if she rises?
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You didn’t feed, right? Get another test to see if going up. How off schedule can you be?
     
  5. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    I did not feed, didn't even give her a treat. I can be off quite a bit at the moment because it's a holiday weekend...so I can back track us if I need too.
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So test 20 minutes after last test. You could also feed and test in 2 hours to see if you can shoot.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The problem was stalling too long and not eating is it might go down more. So after this test I think it’s decision time.
     
  8. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Oh my goodness. She didnt get her treat so she went by the back door and is now totally ignoring me while I talk to her asking her to come back for a test. Lol

    Oh...there's an acknowledgment. Lol.
     

    Attached Files:

    Kyle & Simon (GA) likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can give a treat!
     
  10. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    She's at 130 right now.
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So going up but not over 150. What do you think? Feed and wait two hours, shoot a 25% dose or skip? With SLGS you feed and decide in 2 hours or skip.
     
  12. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    We usually shoot at 10...maybe wait to see what she's doing at 10:30? I don't know if I want to be 2 hours off.

    I hate to skip all together, but I'm a chicken about shooting low...so maybe a lower dose. I honestly don't know what I should do, I'll think on it for a few minutes.
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s hard because you were doing TR. Read SLGS again. She does need to eat. I guess you could do one more test and if not over 150 then feed.
     
    Mandy S likes this.
  14. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Okay, I'll read it.

    She's only 126. So do I just give her the regular amount...and just not shoot tonight?
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    By regular amount you mean food?
     
  16. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Oh, yes, regular amount of her dinner.
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. The count starts over until the next curve in a week. Have a nice evening.
     
  18. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    By the count you mean cycles at this dose? It says in the slgs that if you skip a dose you should test ketones...I have strips but haven't used them..is it okay to dip them in the cat litter?
    Thanks for your help!
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry to say I never tested for ketones. It needs to be dipped in urine and for a specific amount of time. Read the jar.
     
  20. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    I did...I thought I had read here that people do put it in the litter. I'll just search and see if I can find what I read.

    Thanks again.
     
    Kyle & Simon (GA) likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Please take off the stalling since you made a decision. The strip can be dipped in the urine in the box. I did that with a glucose strip. I out Saran Wrap over the litter. My strips tested for both glucose and ketones.
     
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Side note for next time, the "don't shoot below 150" is for new people until they have some data. If you keep reading the SLGS description for lower preshots, there's a section that starts With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat.
     
  23. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    I just read over it again and I did see that. Would you consider the information we have on Sissy to be enough to lower it? How do you know the amount to lower and the amount to shoot?
     
  24. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It's a comfort level thing. You've shot 149 and lots of upper blues and have data how that went. Would you be comfortable shooting 20 points lower? It also depends if you can monitor that cycle, have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case. You can always try a half dose next time and see what happens - provided you can monitor. All data is good data.

    Typically lower preshots just means flatter cycles. You probably aren't there yet, but eventually people following SLGS with the data and experience to do so, can shoot as low as 90.
     
  25. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    I think if I was able to be here to monitor or didn't have to be up the next morning I think i could shoot 10 lower. In hindsight, I sort of wish I had given her something. I know when she had a fur shot and missed a dose it really messed with her a few days after.
     
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    No worries, think of it as an experiment. That's how you learn what works for Mandy.
     
    Mandy S likes this.
  27. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Thank you for reframing it for me. That makes me feel better.
     
  28. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    And WAY TO GO 13 YEAR OLD!!
     
    Critter Mom and tiffmaxee like this.

Share This Page