9/5 Hexie (Lantus day 3) AMPS 292, +3 191, +6 171, PMPS 161/stall 163

what. a. cat. Love the pic!

I hope Lantus work well for Hexie! I see you've had quite the ride with Vetsulin, wow. Hopefully Lantus will be a bit more stable, so far so good I think!
Thank you. Fell in love with her on sight and absolutely love her baseball mitts as I call them. She’s polydactyl, has two thumbs and dew claws on her back legs. The Lantus is already showing promise.


Nice blues so far , so glad you switched to Lantus/Glargine :bighug::cat:
Another blue number just added. So glad we switched too.
 
While you are new to glargine, you have experience with handling lower numbers. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further - making the shooting decision more difficult. Since you can monitor (I presume you can get tests at +1 and +3 also, if necessary?), you could probably feed and shoot. Let's see the test after the 20 min stall.
 
Restested 30 mins later still 163.
She is flat without food which is good. Are you comfortable with giving the full dose? Unlike Vetsulin, Lantus is known for giving flat cycles when you shoot low.

If you are okay to shoot, feed and give the full dose. Do not fill her up. You want to feed a part of her dinner at +1 and +2.
 
She doesn’t eat all at once anyway but just in case I’ll split it up. I can test whenever is best. I’ll shoot for at +1 and +3 and post if anyone is still up.

At what point/number should I give her high carb food/snack (not honey yet). Just in case no one is up later?
 
Hexie’s +1 was 196. Should I do another BG in an hour or should I do a +3?

This forum is just so amazing. Thank you for helping like so many of the other great people here.
 
Her +2 was the exact same 196. Should I continue testing?

She has returned to the food herself. When I’ve been able to watch it seems she goes back to her food at least once an hour. I know to never count on this just nice to know her habits.
 
Back
Top