9/5 Naomi AMPS 118, +5,5 78 PMPS 126, +4 82, + 6,5 97

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Yanna, Sep 4, 2020.

  1. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. Did she eat breakfast?
     
  3. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    2 bites. Should I give her Zofran?
     
  4. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I'm sitting next to her holding her plate in front of her. Had 2 more bites
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. It will take at least a half hour to work. Has she had any insulin in last 3 days?
     
    Yanna likes this.
  6. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She had 3.75 every 24 hours after coming back from work
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you give any at night?
     
  8. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She got up and went to her plate. Eating some more
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  9. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yesterday 9/4 I gave her at 17:00 after coming back from the vet. No AM. So it's almost 25 hours past insulin shot
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I thought we had decided to at night but you didn’t record that in your ss. I am trying to decide how much to give. Maybe 1.5. I’ll be right back.
    @Red & Rover (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Critter Mom What do you think?
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2020
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can syringe feed if necessary? What appetite stimulant do you have?
     
  12. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I gave her insulin soon as I came back from work previous days. Moved the shot time earlier to have enough time to check and sleep without worrying for her.
     
  13. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Let’s see if she eats with ondansetron. If not I think a token 1 unit. If the timing is going to be off too much you can just shoot the 1 unit now. What do you think?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  15. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    It's an hour past shot time. We're +13
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So if you shoot 1 unit now you will be back in schedule by Monday for work.
     
  17. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    So I'll giver her a token dose for AM and what about PM? Give a full dose if she eats?
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Let’s see what she does today and by PMPS. Something has changed with her which seems to require less insulin. Is your vet working today?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  19. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    My normal schedule was AM and PM shot. Now with work do you mean that I will give 1unit instead of skipping for AM? And full dose for PM?
     
  20. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes we're going later for injections. What do u think I should ask for? What would help her?
     
  21. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    So I'm giving her 1 unit now ok?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. This morning 1 unit. Give it and I’ll continue.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  23. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    OK thank you!
     
  24. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Do u think I can go back to bed for 1-2 hours? I've got a migraine and upset stomach myself. I'll leave her food next to her
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Bring your ss to your vet. Tell her she’s not eating even though she’s getting nausea medication. Tell her you are afraid to give insulin when she’s not eating. Let her know you think she’s in pain from neuropathy and maybe pancreatitis. Maybe do a Snap in house test for it. Ask if she is dehydrated. Tell her you want to see if fluids will help right now because she’s not eating and you know dehydration is not good for her kidneys. Ask what she suggests you do. We can decide her dose for tonight later. Yes. Get some sleep after you syringe. She will be fine.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  26. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Thanks I'll reread your replies and take notes
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Take care of yourself. :bighug:
     
  28. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Thanks Elise!
     
  29. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Can you update your spreadsheet? It shows no shots since September 1st according to the Units columns. I'm finding it hard to follow. If you gave a shot on the 3rd, then put "3.75@+25" in the units columns. Then the rest of your +tests will be in the right spot. On the 2nd, do 92@+12, 112@+18 in the preshot value cell, then the 3.75 in the units column. And move the rest of the tests relative to the shot time.

    Also, those tests last night in the 100's should be coloured blue, not green.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi Wendy. Naomi is really not feeling well. She’s been shooting 3.75 at night but nothing in the morning before work because Naomi won’t eat despite meds. Yanna has been up most of the nights with her the last three. She just went to sleep for a few hours which is why I’m answering.
     
    Critter Mom and Yanna like this.
  31. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I just did. It was a mess, I know. Thanks
     
  32. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Update: we've been to the vet and

    Naomi is not nauseous because she has some bites for food. She ate a tiny amount of food in front of her and then she stopped. According to vet if she was nauseous she wouldn't be willing to eat at all. Told me to stop Zofran since it doesn't help her. Gave her a Stedon (you may know it as Diazepam)injection. She can't explain her not eating or standing in front of her water bowl and not drinking.

    Naomi doesn't need subqs. She checked her (I don't know how) and she is not dehydrated.

    Offered me to try tramal for possible pain in her legs or buprenorphine injection (that's odd because previously when I was asking for pain medication I was told buprenorphine was not available in Greece. I'll clarify tomorrow)

    She gave me vitalcat premium ( manufactured by biofarm, Finland). It's a supplement for joints and urinary issues. Contains 25 mg glucosamine, 20 mg chondroitine, magnesium, dl methionine, l-cysteine, vitamins E, D3, A, B1, B2, B6, B12, folic acid, niancine, taurine. Protein 35,3%, Fat 1,7%, Fiber 8,6%, Moisture 4,3%, Ash 4.1%.

    We're going back tomorrow morning (she's open on Sundays) for more injections.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2020
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry but your vet is wrong about nausea. I assumed that with Max. He was nauseous. Eating a little and walking away, drinking the liquid but not eating are signs. That all stopped when the nausea was addressed. The drug she gave can cause liver damage in some cats. Interesting because it’s given for nausea in cats. A vet gave me the pill form for a Tiffany and she ate I was thrilled. Then I learned about the rare but real side effect and never continued the pills and syringe fed her. Look it up on drugs.com.
     
    Critter Mom and Yanna like this.
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yanna likes this.
  35. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Naomi is eating on her own!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Wonderful! Remind us what the vet did today.
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I believe she got a cerenia injection. That must be working but it only lasts 24 hours. I see you went back to the 3.75 dose. It’s time for you to get some sleep.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  38. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    9/4 cerenia injection
    Articlox injection (b complex)

    9/5 Stedon injection
     
  39. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    I kept the PM dose the same 3.75. AM dose reduced to 1.

    Was I supposed to reduce the PM dose to 1 as well?
     
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So another Valium shot. That must be what’s working. I was afraid of it. What did your vet say?
     
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Well, I was concerned because her numbers were good without insulin and even good with 1 unit. I honestly don’t know what to say.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  42. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    She only had Stedon on 9/5. She said it will work as an appetite stimulant

    If I tell her it worked she will give her another injection
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Before you go that route ask about liver failure and that drug.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  44. Yanna

    Yanna Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes I will
     
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  46. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If you are having to skip or delay doses all the time, it's better to reduce the dose so you can shoot the same dose twice a day.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Wendy, what dose? This one has me stumped.
     
    Yanna likes this.
  48. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Me too, the spreadsheet still isn't quite right in registering the late doses. First cut, if the doses had been given 12 hours apart would be to add the total amount of insulin given per day, then cut in half. So, maybe 4.75 divided by two. 2.5 as a start?
     
    Yanna likes this.
  49. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s worth a try. I had her go down to 1 unit once to see if it would cause a big rise and Naomi wasn’t eating. It didn’t make a difference. She will see this suggestion now. I was worried she would get hepatic lipidosis. Thanks.
     
    Critter Mom and Yanna like this.

Share This Page