9-6-20 Olive's BG 360 PMPS. Gave 0.01 IU @PM cycle. Hoping for a good night.

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
What a terrifying night. Despite giving Olive the 0.01 IU measured out by the caliper and hubby watched me inject it, her BG levels which started at 579 PMPS rose to "HI" and remained there all night. We were totally helpless and clueless as to why the numbers never came down. She's finally back on the meter at 573+10. I just don't understand why after the injection she didn't ever go down. Is the plan to continue her at the same 0.01 IU for the morning cycle shot which will be almost 1 1/2 hours from now?
 
Good morning. Being high is not like the emergency of a potential hypo. It’s safe to sleep. She’s bouncing now which happens or else the depot is gone and now we see whether or not more insulin can be safely given since she is getting some carbs. Let me think about whether we should now slightly increase or hold a bit longer. I’ll be back before shot time.
 
One thought is to switch to TR given the amount of testing and the lower threshold for a dose reduction. If you look at the SS in terms of TR, even when the AT2 was being used, none of the dose reductions would have occurred.

Also, I suspect the dose is 0.1u (not 0.01u).
 
Good morning. Being high is not like the emergency of a potential hypo. It’s safe to sleep. She’s bouncing now which happens or else the depot is gone and now we see whether or not more insulin can be safely given since she is getting some carbs. Let me think about whether we should now slightly increase or hold a bit longer. I’ll be back before shot time.
I was too nervous to sleep. But it's nice to know in case it happens again. She was doing so great until she threw up, followed by we messed up yesterday AM IU and most likely she didn't get any insulin at all. "HI" is supposed to be a friendly greeting and every time I saw the meter say HI I wanted to smack it! She mostly just got the raw through the night as I was too afraid at her levels to add the FF into the mix. But today I'll add it back in 50/50.
This is a photo of the dosage as set by the caliper for 0.01. Is this wrong?
upload_2020-9-5_19-11-16-png.56088
 
when filling the syringe at where the caliper said the 0.01 mark was the actual amount of insulin in the syringe ended up being just above that zero line. All my syringes have the zero line in different places which is why we went with the caliper. I think she was doing better when I simply used the various marked zero lines and the just added insulin to just a hair beneath the stamped zero line.
 
I need to dose her as we're coming up on the time. I just snapped a photo of the syringe I will be using and as you can see, the zero line is in a different place than the above photo so I'm relying completely on the caliper telling us this is the 0.01 between the caliper arms. So if we stick with that dosage, I'll literally be going right to the stamped zero line when I fill. Anymore thoughts before I go ahead with the 0.01 as marked in this last photo?
upload_2020-9-6_10-53-51.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-6_10-53-51.png
    upload_2020-9-6_10-53-51.png
    329.3 KB · Views: 189
Or due to the added carbs she'll get today I could add a hair more insulin and take it to just a hair below the stamped zero line??
 
I think an increase is needed and a hair is likely too little. I think if you feed her mostly ff it’s worth trying .25 again. Thoughts?
 
Because I transitioned too quickly and in all probability made her sick to her tummy, I'm feeding half raw and half FF. Would there be enough carbs still in what she's getting from the FF to warrant trying the .25 again? I'll be home all day so monitoring her won't be an issue if we decide to return to the quarter unit.
 
The quarter unit might pull her down a bit hopefully - see your spreadsheet for night of 28 August where Olive was all black but started coming down again after the second dose was given on the AM cycle of 29 August (although the skinny 0.5 proved to be a bit too much).

Olive already has last night's 0.1IU on board, so this will be the second dose after the questionable one. Hopefully that will be enough of a tractor beam to bring her down out of orbit. :)

Good that you can monitor through the day, Robyn.

If ever Olive were to go that high for so long in the early part of a cycle, odds are that you'd be OK to get a few hours sleep for yourself and start afresh on the next cycle. (((Robyn)))


Mogs
.
 
Olive already has last night's 0.1IU on board, so this will be the second dose after the questionable one. Hopefully that will be enough of a tractor beam to bring her down out of orbit.
Hopefully. You gave me a chuckle with that statement. Thanks, I really needed to laugh after being overloaded with stress all night. At least I know I can get a few hours sleep if her BG is that high at the beginning. I'm really running on empty these days.
If she tanks in this you can shave a little off the .25
That's where the caliper will come in handy. I hope she doesn't tank...that scares me even more. But at least it's daytime now and I feel so much better about it during the daytime hours.
 
67+4
52
48 +4.50
57 +4.75
Giving honey frequently, gravy from FF and whatever she'll eat but I can't get the numbers up
 
Give her a little more ff gravy. She’s coming up. She needs even more carbs before an increase will work. She made that loud and clear.
 
Okay. Just retested and got her up to 78 between the gravy and honey. The closest emergency vet is 40 minutes away as hubby as been calling since she hit 48. So will continue the gravy and try and get food in her too and keep retesting. She's DEFINITELY made it loud and clear!
 
More of the FF gravy and a few licks of the FF turkey pate. Mostly just gravy though. She wouldn't lick enough up so I syringed it into her mouth. Thank God for the toolkit!
 
It takes 20-30 minutes for the food to increase bg
So it's the honey that got her up...Okay. Hopefully between the gravy she's getting and the food, she won't go back down to the 40's. That scared the willies out of me. I won't feel comfortable until the peak hours of the dip are over and she's at a good number.
You're doing great!

Remember to reduce the dose back to 0.1u at the next shot time
I definitely will do that. Lows are definitely more scary than highs.
78 is good. Thanks for taking down the 911. If I step away I need to know if something changes.
I'm so THANKFUL I found this site! :)
 
I combined your two posts for the day. It helps continuity if all the action is in one place. And due to the number of kitties here, it helps us keep track of what's happening.

Congrats on the reduction. Looks like Olive loves to go high before going low. She is so done with this dose. :eek:
 
She’s super sensitive to insulin. We are just going to have to put up with the highs until you can feed her mostly food with about10% carbs without intestinal distress. You handled this purrfectly!
Thanks!;) she's up to 122+5.50 Looks like the FF turkey gravy really worked, topped by the initial honey spike. As a safe guard I gave her some more gravy at +5.50 and now will return to the FF pate mix while I keep a close eye on anymore dips as we approach the nadir.

I'm going to try resending this as it keeps telling me there's a server issue and can't send. I messaged tiffmaxee to inform everyone.
he is so done with this dose. :eek:
You betcha she is.
Didn’t take her long, did it?
No, it really didn't, but it was long enough to take 10 years of my life off. lol
You doing OK there, Robyn
I'm doing okay...now...as long as Olive doesn't scare me like this again.
 
We cross posted. I’m glad you can relax now but keep testing. If still good in 30 minutes lay off the honey. I’d say stop now but it’s up to you.
 
We cross posted. I’m glad you can relax now but keep testing. If still good in 30 minutes lay off the honey. I’d say stop now but it’s up to you.
She's 136 @ +5.75 I stopped the honey already as I've been watching her with my hawkeyes. I plan on testing her frequently for a while. Maybe not every 15 minutes, but definitely every 30 for a little while longer until I'm certain she's going to be okay.
 
@OlivesMom --
You may want to change your subject line to reflect the lower numbers so people keep an eye on the thread. I'm pretty sure Wendy merged your two threads from today. We try to stick to the once condo (i.e., thread) per cat per day.
 
Back
Top