? 9/9 Gussie bounce? Too soon reduction? PMPS 108,+2 132,3.5 140, +5 139

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Gussie's mom (GA), Sep 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    whoaaaa what a day for you!!
    no such thing as too much HC at 25!
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  2. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Yeah, those nice numbers were carb-tainted! :bighug:;)
     
    Osha and jayla-n-Drevon like this.
  3. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I do think that was a wonky strip but his physical symptoms were matching a hypo according to folks here. He was really out of it and not himself at all
    ETA: And that was before he threw that 25
     
  4. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Sorry this thread is so long, was an eventful day! Gussie may have been at 25 and hypo today based on the test and his behavior. He has earned the reduction to .1 u starting tonight correct? Anything out of the norm I should watch for shooting tonight? Hoping if he's done with juice that he lets me know this weekend as I have IEP meetings and assessments that will mKe it really hard to stay home if I need to for him next week!
    Thanks,
    Les
     
  5. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Oh Les Just catching up here What a day you had Gussie is so handsome Love the pics I hope you are on at least your 2nd glass of wine by this time :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  6. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Aw thank you, you know I kept asking this morning because I had this strong feeling that he was tired of this dose! He was waaay too flat, normally he has a gentle mini curve..he's still fluctuating, coming down off the HC high. Figure I'd better ask for help early!
     
  7. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    No wine till I know how to dose.1 u!
     
    Vyktors Mum likes this.
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Practice with colored water. Count tge drops in .25. Tgen try drawing up .1 and practice until consistent. At least that's what I would do. Wish I got the chance to try.
     
  9. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Aw thank you
     
  10. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Hoping it's ok to shoot tonight and that we don't repeat today, not sure I can get him to eat given how hard it was today, he really wasn't into food at all which was different than the times before, as was his behavior
     
  11. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Looks like he'll be ok to shoot as the sugar and carbs should have worn off by now but I'd be testing at +11 or + 11.5 to get a heads up.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  12. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Ok thanks! He is at 110 now, at + 10. Will still get the remaining hourly tests in. Been practicing trying to draw .1u, that is one drop right?
     
  13. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    It's probably a little more than 1 drop. Suggestion - draw a dose of your .25 and what you think is .1 (use water) and expel both onto a piece of white toilet paper or paper towel or something and evaluate the difference in the size of the two that way.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  14. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    @Woodsywife , Eliots mum I think said you gave her the tip that worked for drawing a .1 u dose? Could you share it with me? Gussie earned his reduction today so we're looking to shoot that
    ok I think I can do that..
     
  15. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Well I have been trying to get consistent, failing miserably...
     
  16. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I don't get discouraged easily but this is accomplishing that for me...:banghead::(:(
     
  17. Madrona and Leda (GA)

    Madrona and Leda (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    I think you can draw up .25 and then eject the number of drops that would get you down to .1 (based on the number of drops in .25). Or if you were me, you'd draw up .5 since that's easier, and then release enough drops to get to .1. Don't know if that helps.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  18. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thanks, will go back to practicing, the drops I eject don't seem uniform at all. I am really beyond frustrated...thanks
     
    Madrona and Leda (GA) likes this.
  19. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    He will get whatever it ends up being tonight I guess
     
  20. Madrona and Leda (GA)

    Madrona and Leda (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    I haven't tried it myself--measuring less than 0.5 is still a problem I'm working on getting to :oops:
    Best of luck!
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  21. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I am almost at the point of not shooting, it's so frustrating at this point, I have destroyed 15 syringes now trying..I'm basically done with this...
     
  22. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thank you tho,forgot to say that...
     
  23. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I'd rather not shoot than get whatever he is getting inconsistent, some shots a drop, some none at all...that's how my practice syringes are doing.
     
  24. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    I don't know much bout this except that it really does seem like a hit and miss affair at best. I think you have a touch of perfectionism in you, which usually serves you well. This may not be one of those times. Instead of doing your best, why not do someone else's best, and then , as grammy used to say, "let the devil take the hindermost."

    By the way, Gussie is a handsome red guy. Looks a bit like my Mikey.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  25. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I'm just trying to decide which is better screwing up his dose more times than not and having no clue what he actually got or skipping insulin all together.
     
  26. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Right now skipping all together is winning I'm so disgusted with this
    Eta and I am not normally a quitter
     
  27. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Are you practicing with water or lantus? I'd use 1 syringe over and over again to do a lot of water practice.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  28. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    You know I don't even know if he actually earned a reduction or not for that matter. If that 25 was a fluke he may not gave just by going into 50s. So I have no clue what I'm supposed to shoot either. Wine and bed is looking like the better plan
     
  29. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I was using saline in a vial. And 24 syringes, the needles end upmbending
     
  30. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    I don't have advise, just want to offer lots of hugs....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I know it is hard to get even drops. As Red just asked if using water you shouldn't need new syringes to practice.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  32. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thanks, I'm ready to call this a wash
     
  33. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    The needles keep bending
     
  34. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    That 25 reading does not fit with the other readings. And the fact that Gus came up so quick from the "25" makes me wonder if the reading was bad or a bad strip. My thought on this
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  35. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I know it has to be possible because people do it here all the time, I'm just not able to and that is beyond frustrating today
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Got it. Darn. What about not worrying about the size if the drops ? Count how many in .25 several times and the get a dose that is less than half?

    Take a break.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) and Osha like this.
  37. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I think it was a wonky strip but his affect was fitting with a hypo right before and during tat time interval
     
  38. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    :bighug: Deep breaths and a quick walk round the block to clear your mind - you can do this!
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) and Osha like this.
  39. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I did that, it was between 3 and 2 drops depending on the syringe. I can't even see a space on the calipers! I'm really torn on how to be consistent if that's more important...
     
  40. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    If you saw the symptoms then it is safest to go on the assumption that Gus was hitting hypo numbers.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  41. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Beats breaking something cuz is just have to spend money to fix it...tho that is my inclination right about now..you all just think I'm nice!
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So try 2 drops. I wouldn't worry about whether or not the 25 was a wonky strip. I would want to reduce to play it safe.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) and Tuxedo Mom like this.
  43. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Lol, we all have our moments.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  44. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Ok the consensus was he was doing something that looked like it could be, he didn't even respond to the meter beep and he always resonds to that, and to my walking into the house, nothing, no interest in food, groggy, looked high as in stoned off his gourd and immobile from it..
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you are worried in my opinion there is nothing wrong with skipping tonight and draining the depot.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  46. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Ok I will try for 2 drops, holding my breath all the while...
    And thanks!
    Ok using actual Lantus and turning the plunger around once from .25 I can get a drop and a half..
     
  47. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Just don't start throwing bent needles at total strangers on your walk.

    Have no clue about small dosing, but do have an idea. How much insulin does a cat get if you insert a needle into the vial and then inject the cat with an empty needle. Surely, the outside of the needle is wet and the cat would get a minuscule amount.

    Also, I remember other posts of beans getting lantus into the needle, gently squirting the contents out, then injecting the cat and pushing hard on the plunger.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  48. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It sounds like you either need to skip to drain the depot or take the reduction. With the symptoms Gussie was having you need to do the safe thing.

    The way I measured 0.1 was to just hold the syringe in while I inserted it into the Lantus and then let go so the pressure sucked one drop back in. I couldn't tell there was any insulin in the syringe, but I pushed the syringe in and a drop came out. I just took it on faith that I was really getting a drop each time.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  49. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    One dose that can be even less than .1 is done by pushing the plunger in HARD, insert into the insulin and just "let go"....the vacuum in the syringe will pull up a tiny amount into the needle
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  50. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Ok that also sounds worth a try
    Ok I can get a consistent drop that way. I will shoot this hopefully needed reduction tonite using this method..thank you so much
     
  51. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Will that give him enough?
     
  52. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  53. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I just did a bunch of his .25 using the calipers, 1.5 drops seem the norm
     
  54. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Sure hope so! It's time to feed and shoot...
     
  55. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    Even if it is not "enough" it will be more than a skipped shot. ;)
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  56. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Not enough may be better because he's still dropping from the Honey and HZc today
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  57. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Well o have no clue what I just shot so hope it is right. It was less than .25 somewhere on the scale
     
  58. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    So frazzled now I don't even remember how I measured...
     
  59. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    And ants found all the honey on the bed argh
     
  60. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Naaaaa. you're basically nice, but I bet you have a mean streak just like the rest of us. How bout breaking something you've always hated, but keep because someone gave it to you (you're polite), or because you "paid the danged money for it", so you refuse to either use it or throw it out.
     
  61. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    eeeeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    ugh yuk crunch them.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  62. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    When I was doing .1 dose I had the plunger almost all the way up to the zero line.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  63. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    lol
    and let the devil take the hindermost!
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  64. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Hahaha great idea!
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  65. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    I do believe you need a "medicinal" glass of wine and some chocolate to keep YOUR blood sugars up. Fingers crossed for an uneventful evening. :bighug: :bighug:
     
  66. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thank you everybody for helping me keep perspective..:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
    Truly appreciated as was the humor which came in at a very good time! The tips and suggestions, all gratefully acknowledged here...:bighug::bighug:I think I ended up doing some sort of combo with elements of them all...thank you!
     
    tiffmaxee and Tuxedo Mom like this.
  67. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    Good advice, humour AND wine and chocolate always make a bad situation look better


    [​IMG]
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think you earned this! image.gif
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  69. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Aww you so nice!
    Personally my mom would have said I earned a much needed attitude adjustment but .....:oops::rolleyes:
    Thank you Elise! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  70. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Been in the kitchen working on trying to get a feel for what that dose looks like and feels like to draw...
     
  71. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Give yourself a rest. Or a partial break by taking aim at the ants with the syringe.
     
    tiffmaxee and Tuxedo Mom like this.
  72. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Haha boy would that be satisfying!:):bighug:
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  73. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    Red that is priceless!!

    [​IMG]
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  74. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Question: +3.5 = 140
    Is this a bounce? Or does it look like he probably didn't need the reduction?
     
  75. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Holy cow! What a day. I've just skimmed your condo but my head's spinning, too. Good work mamabean. Good work!

    I think you had to take the reduction. And I think the Gusbuster may be bouncing, especially if he did drop into hypo land. Whew. I've got a little shake going to just thinking about it!

    Besides, if the reduction doesn't hold, and we don't know that now, you can always go back up. You guys were so close to the "normal" numbers rule for reduction, that I'm thinking this dose will stick once Gussie settles into it. My thoughts.

    Whew. Just whew!

    Marilyn

    I use calipers for .10 and even then it's pretty much a guessing game. I'm sure there are empty shots from time to time.
     
  76. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Hi Marilyn, thank you for your kind and helpful words! I'm hoping that I didn't take the reduction too early. The 25 seemed quite a wonky read but I've learned to get a second test if that happens again. Even if it wasn't he was going down into the 50's . So he may have earned a reduction staying down there? I am hoping that he does not hang out in blue numbers very long as he was walking much better and feeling good this morning, even using his toys in the other room. I can't even see the space on the calipers!
     
  77. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    I know. And then I can't see if there's any insulin or I've got a bubble burst. It really is a guessing game. Magnification and a dedicated direction lamp help.
     
  78. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thanks! I will try the headlamp! Had not even thought of that! Thank you
     
  79. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Thanks! I will try the headlamp! Had not even thought of that! Thank you
     
  80. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Headed to bed, don't think these numbers are going anywhere!thanks all.
     
  81. meowsyko

    meowsyko Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Wow, looks like Gussie and you had quite the day! Glad all is well. :bighug:

    When I had to do the .1 dose on Syko (I only had to do it a couple times, but I practiced a lotttt), I just tried to not worry too much about getting it perfect. I found it was much easier to just draw up way more than needed, remove from vial, get bubbles out and squirt out the extra. Less bent needles that way. I think I drew up 3 units to make sure I got all of those teeny tiny bubbles out. I would kinda push it up to the .25, then slowly push out another little drop until it looked okay. I held it up to the light, so I could get it looking like the reference picture. I went through a few needles just because of those darn bubbles, and it was always stressful with those tiny doses to know if I did it right, but I guess it worked out. Not very scientific, I know. Just don't stress about it or it'll drive you crazy. Hakuna matata :cat:

    Hope you have a good sleep, you deserve it!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page