6/25 Sister Dosing help, pls

Ann & Sister

Member Since 2021
Because Sister hit TWO low numbers under 90 on June 21 and 22 and she is SLGS, I was advised to lower Lantus dose by 0.25 which I did starting Wednesday evening. I am noticing her AMPS and PMPS numbers are higher now: 139, 163, 181.

Is this a normal fluctuation as her body adjusts to the lesser dose?

BTW, I emailed Sister's first curve numbers to her vet, and she recommended reducing dose to .5U ONCE a day instead of twice which mirrors the advice on this board. She felt the 88 BG number was of concern and mentioned Symogi effect.
Thanks,
 
Sorry but your vet is wrong. Lantus needs to be dosed every 12 hours except in very rare situations. On a human meter 50-100 is normal. With TR we shoot an number and over.

She’s looking really good. If you follow the dosing methods here she will be safe and could very well become diet controlled. I think vets don’t realize the micro adjustments we can make in dosing and most of them clients don’t test enough if at all. They want to keep them higher for that reason.
 
Since you are on SLGS, I think you want to adjust based on her nadirs, not preshot numbers:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Sorry but your vet is wrong. Lantus needs to be dosed every 12 hours except in very rare situations. On a human meter 50-100 is normal. With TR we shoot an number and over.

She’s looking really good. If you follow the dosing methods here she will be safe and could very well become diet controlled. I think vets don’t realize the micro adjustments we can make in dosing and most of them clients don’t test enough if at all. They want to keep them higher for that reason.
Thanks so much. I do wish to keep my new vet in the loop, but I trust the decisions/advice here more.
 
Back
Top