BG Keeps Dropping

What I think happened is that he was breaking his bounce and was just coming down from that. That’s why I wanted you to test him again just before you shot. Because I wanted to know if he was going up or not - even with the food, I still would have preferred to know if he was going up. If we saw that he had dropped that probably would have changed your decision making.
 
I see you use a ReliOn. I only asked because we don’t usually move to HC unless it’s about 50 BG. Of course, it’s early in his cycle so we have to also consider that - so it’s probably just as well. I will look at his SS
 
What I think happened is that he was breaking his bounce and was just coming down from that. That’s why I wanted you to test him again just before you shot. Because I wanted to know if he was going up or not - even with the food, I still would have preferred to know if he was going up. If we saw that he had dropped that probably would have changed your decision making.
Everything was happening so fast I didn't see that post until I gave him the shot. I had tunnel vision. My bad
 
No worries. It may have happened anyway. What kind of HC did you give? And how many minutes ago?
I gave him at 10:30 a Tbl of Friskies Homestlyle Turkey Dinner with Garden Greens In Gravy. think its around 24% Carbs

Shot was 30 minutes late at 9:30 so insulin should start kicking in around 11:30 I usually give his shot btw 8:45 and 9 am

I just tested at 11AM and it went up to 73. Really not that much since the insulin hasn't kicked in yet.
 
He is stable so I am not too worried now. Thank you! You can try LC and see if he will surf, but you would need to test again in 20 minutes. Or try MC. It’s not quite 3 hours since the shot yet - only 2.5 hrs since 9:30 a.m. so I still would be on the alert.
 
He is stable so I am not too worried now. Thank you! You can try LC and see if he will surf, but you would need to test again in 20 minutes. Or try MC. It’s not quite 3 hours since the shot yet - only 2.5 hrs since 9:30 a.m. so I still would be on the alert.
Okay thank you so much, Unfortunately i don't have MC so do thing low carb would bre okay?
 
Okay. He isn’t plummeting so that is good. I still would give a spoonful of the HC just because he is still early in the cycle. As I said, usually we don’t do HC until the cat is at 50, so it’s your call — but he is at the point of +3 to +4 so lots more time in this cycle for peak insulin activity.
 
I would not wait until 1:30 to test again, just to be sure. The 73s are great stable numbers which I normally love to see on a spreadsheet (gotta love greens above 50) but Sir Maximus hasn’t been diagnosed for that long and is following SLGS so technically we have a target BG of between 90 and 150.
 
I hope you’re able to work — if you are working from home?
No I'm off today and Saturday but i have to long 14 hour shifts tomorrow and Sunday.
I will be with him up to 2pm tomorrow but not the rest of the day. My sister will come over in the eve to give shot and feed both nights
Sunday I will be gone from 10 am to 10pm

Going to test him now
 
I say excellent because (1)you have nerves of steel and went with the low carb! (2) he is staying stable right now with just the low carb!
 
Where do you live, Shawn? What state or time zone? I assumed you were in Eastern like me because of your shot time. I’m in Georgia.
 
Back
Top