Advice on Gizmo

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Jamie N Gizmo, Jan 16, 2020.

1. Jamie N Gizmo

Jamie N Gizmo Member

So my kitty was bouncing and unregulated for a while. I've been giving 1 unit for a little bit now. I'm noticing suddenly he's dropping here and there in the 40's and 50's(human meter". He's not showing any signs of hypoglycemia and doesnt seem bothered. If i lower his dose i'm noticing he's jumping into the 300's. If i keep him at 1unit, he's around 80-120s at the 12 hour mark. Any advice?

2. Juls and Billy

Juls and Billy Member

My Billy is on ProZinc too, but I'm a newbie, so take what I say with a grain of salt. Our two members who know the most about ProZinc are unavailable at the moment.

It's possible that the switch to .50 was too big a change. I know that MrWorfman'sMom suggests changes of .25 at a time. Perhaps try .75 for now, instead of the full unit dose. Try to keep it steady for at least 3 12-hour cycles so he has a chance to adjust. It would also really be helpful if you could get some mid cycle tests, especially to look for his nadir reading. If he dropped to 50 at his test time, he may have been lower than that at nadir. You could try at +5 and +7 to start. This is doubly important after evening dose, as cats tend to drop lower in the evening.

It might be time to do a curve at home when your schedule allows. That's a test every 2 hours so you can see details about what's happening to his BGL through the day.

It would also be helpful if the group had a little more information. What diet and treats is he eating? How many times a day is he being fed? How is his behavior, peeing, ect?

I hope this helps. Every cat is different. More daily testing will give you a clearer picture of what's going on with Gizmo. And if you need help right away for an issue, try posting in the main welcome/health thread, as it's visited more often.

Lisa and little likes this.
  3. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member