Advice on Increasing Dosage: Newly Diagnosed Cat

Chellie

Member Since 2025
Hi,

This page has been so helpful so far, grateful to have it. :bighug:

BACKGROUND: My 13 yo male cat Cash was diagnosed with steroid-induced diabetes a little less than a month ago. He was on prednisolone for suspected lymphoma/IBD starting last November. It took two weeks from diagnosis for us to wean him off the steroids. Luckily, a month prior to diabetes diagnosis we had started him on a new hydrolyzed diet which was really working so we are hopeful it is just IBD. Cash was having very scary muscle weakness/ataxia/stumbling symptoms before diagnosis, from what I understand now must have been extremely high BG.

Anyway, vet started us on 1 unit PZ twice a day. After two weeks his numbers were still high— Blood glucose curve using Alphatrak 3 at the vet post first insulin shot of the day showed 429/ 443/ 402/ 596. Started him at 2 units when we took him home that night. Several days later we got a Freestyle Libre 3 put on his back so have been monitoring at home. Even at 2 units he stayed over 400 (the threshold for the Libre) for most of the day so it’s hard to say how high he was still going. He would spend some time in the 380s-390s as well.

FOOD: 300-325ish calories a day. Originally eating Hills z/d wet exclusively which is what healed his stomach but it’s so high in carbs (40%). Experimenting now with giving him half z/d and half Instinct original rabbit which is 8% carbs so the carb intake is less but still not ideal. Worried to jump into a totally new food situation too quickly because of his IBD which could result in throwing up/not eating. His food gets broken into smaller meals throughout the day - at 6:30am; noon; 5:30; 10pm snack. He has always been a dry food grazer so it’s hard to give him a ton of wet food at once.

Current question
:
After around 4-5 days of 2 units, vet suggested we go up to 3 units since the upper 300s was as low as it was getting. From what I’ve read, 3 units is a lot for a cat and I worry about rushing it. But I know his numbers are high. I immediately bumped him to 2.5 to ease into it. He has been on 2.5 units (twice a day, at 6:30am and 5:30pm) for 2 cycles and has now gone into the upper 200s overnight, the lowest being 279. He is also spending less and less time above 400 in general thankfully. My questions are: should I give 2.5 more time? Should I be switching him to a lower carb wet food before the jump to 3 units? (With his IBD that might mean a longer transition time though) Or because his numbers are so high, is it reasonable to jump to 3 now? Struggling with how to balance all the variables. Thanks so much!!

*also wanted to mention that ever since we bumped him to 2 units clinically he is doing much better. He is getting around well, muscle weakness has greatly improved, and he is much more like himself which has brought great relief. We still need his BG to get much lower though!!
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome to the ProZinc forum! I am glad to hear he’s doing better. That’s a relief because some of what you described is scary.

I would give the 2.5 units a little longer if he has only been on that dose for a few days (unless he drops below 90 and then I would decrease.) Beyond that, I can’t say much without spreadsheet data because I would be advising without sufficient information. Do you have a spreadsheet of his BG numbers that you can share? I will be back tomorrow. I have some plumbers coming, but I will definitely try to be on this forum tomorrow to check in with our ProZinc members.
 
Just be very careful when you begin to transition to lower carb food. You will definitely see a drop in BG from the lower carb food and we want to make sure Cash will be safe.
I have a boy with IBD as well. My vet recommended that I feed him the z/d food as well. When I discovered it was over 40 percent carbs, I declined to feed him that food. He’s already on Prednisolone and I won’t do 40 percent carbs with a steroid. The last thing he needs to add to his health challenges is diabetes.
 
Thank you so much. I will continue with the 2.5 units and just keep an eye on his levels. Again, however, it looks like overnight he dropped down to 260 lowest (stayed in the upper 200s from 10pm to 6am. Was 301 when I gave him his 2.5 units this morning at 6:30 and his BG has steadily increased since then, on track to be over 400+ for the day again. That evening dose seems to bring him down but the daytime dose has not. He still isn’t coming down enough though obviously, even at night. Several things to note though: 1) he’s getting higher carbs during the day and just more meals in general 2) the new dose is bringing him down lower and this morning he was 30 points lower at shot time 3) he gets his 2nd shot at 5:30pm usually, only 11 hours after the first so perhaps there is some overlap helping him come down more at that time.

I am planning to start a spreadsheet today and backfill some numbers since we installed the Libre on March 19th. However. I’m not sure how revealing it will be since the monitor tops out at 400 and I don’t know what’s happening when his BG is above that, which unfortunately is a good portion of the day. I did buy a human glucose meter at the store yesterday and am trying to get started on testing with that as well, though I’m nervous!
 
Actually, while his BG was starting to rise toward 400 after breakfast, since 9am it started to slowly come down and now at 11:45am it's 298! I know this is still high, but I'm very excited to finally seem him staying below 400. He's been below 400 since 8pm yesterday. I will continue with 2.5 units until it seems to level out and new BG decreases aren't popping up. Seems like his body is still figuring out how to respond to this new dosage. Anyway, will still create a spreadsheet later today!
 
Back
Top