Glucose levels/insulin needs can be ever changing. So, it is possible there is not anything sinister going on with that. It looks like you started a new vial of insulin just before you started getting more greens, so maybe it was fresher/stronger. Mogee's numbers are still very up and down, up and down. There are a lot of dosing changes; it seems like greens scare you, even if they are not below 50. Even if there were not quite as many changes though, it just looks to me that this insulin is not the best option for him. He needs something that will level him out more and stop the roller coaster. I got to a point with Mia where we had decent nadirs, but her pre-shots were still too high. If I tried to up the dose even a tiny bit, she would end up dropping too low. So, we were stuck. Your spreadsheet reminds me of that somewhat. Changing to Levemir changed everything. If you scroll through her spreadsheet for this year, it went from colorful Skittles to calm blues and greens (I use an AT meter so numbers are higher than they would be on a human one). The onset is later, the action is smoother. The fear associated with deciding whether to shoot or not or whether to reduce or not when a pre-shot test is low is gone. No more roller coaster, which I'm sure makes them feel bad. I'm a believer in giving an insulin a chance. We gave it 9 mos. You are 15 months in. So, just consider it.
Now, on to your more immediate concerns... I would listen to Marje and get an ultrasound ASAP. She mentioned gallstones as a possibility then you said the radiologist suspected gallstones. I would be all over checking that out. I would also be looking into milk thistle rather than the supplement, based on her recommendation.
Please let us know what you do and how things go. I wish you and Mogee the best.
Yes, numbers started to get better once the new vial was started so I was thinking the prior vial wasn't as strong towards the end and could have contributed to the higher numbers before the new vial.
I agree that Mogee's numbers are still up and down and there are a lot of dosage changes. It is not that I am scared of the greens but during the day when I am not able to be home due to work and he gives me a low AMPS, it is hard for me to give him a dose that may send him lower as I am terrified he will go to low and I am not there to help him. I thought it was okay to do a sliding dosage scale? Especially if you have as much testing data as I do?
I guess what I was aiming for was if he was 150-200 I would give 1.5 units, 200-250 2 units, 250-300 2.5 units, and 300-350 2.75 units. And even that scale I would tweak dependent on how much he had ate for the day, how much I expected for that cycle, etc.
It is still very hard for me as sometimes PS he is so low. The past 4 PMPS' have been below 200 but the AMPS are all mid 200s. He even had a near green PMPS the other night. What would be causing him to be so low at night but higher in the morning? And the other weird thing is he usually nadirs at + 4-6 but has been dropping between +8 and PMPS lately.
When it comes to the blood work, what I posted is all that was done on December 26th. I took him in to have the bumps looked at and his vet said they were fatty deposits and that they were too small to even try to get fluid from. It worries me as he did not seem concerned at all about the bumps and that is what I brought him in for. Since he was not concerned about the bumps and since Mogee's BG has been better lately, I asked to retest the ALT levels. That is how we found out that they went from 433 to 1800+. When he saw that and talked with me about the levels, he recommended the ProHepatic to try and help heal the liver. He said he did not think that he had any type of cancer as he believed other levels in the blood work would have been high along with the ALT. He also didn't seem concerned as Mogee just had that X ray done in October.
So that is where we stand...
Obviously, I am terrified and in my mind he has cancer and not much longer to live. But he looks great, is eating normal, and seems very happy. I know that he feels the bumps as he seems to always be licking the area they are in and is always grooming himself near them. I also noticed some weird double bump along his neck, behind his ear but it almost feels different from the others as if he scratched himself. It feels more towards the surface. As for the other bumps, I was wrong, you are able to move them. They are not stationary or attached to a bone. I can move them under the skin and they are smaller than a sunflower seed and do not really have a round shape but more of an oval if even that. Really tiny.
I guess I know I can do the ultrasounds and spend $400 to tell me he has cancer but then what? I don't think that my minimum wage job is going to allow my to fight cancer. I just feel horrible. I have dedicated the last 15 months of my life to this awful disease and it is most likely going to be something else that takes my best friend from me. I have been a mess even since I found the bumps. I pray that they are just fatty deposits and his liver will magically heal but I know that is not going to be the case.
You of all know how my vet search has been here in Lincoln, NE and Mogee currently sees 2 different vets. I know many are going to say you need to find a new vet, get another opinion, etc. but I am trying my best for him. I want him to beat all of this but I do not want to see him suffer either.
I appreciate all the help but I am just at a loss as to what to do now. I have spent so much already on blood work, X rays, to only be told he is fine and that he just needs better regulated etc.
When it comes to food, it was mentioned the Sheba is too high in fat. What do you recommend that is not more expensive and is not FF or Friskies, both of which we have tried and he did not like Friskies and the FF is way too high in Phosphorus.
* He was really mad I put the tree away today