? AMPS 142 Do I shoot?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by LindsayF, Apr 26, 2019.

1. LindsayF

LindsayF Member

my cat has been on prozinc for 2 doses.... her amps was 142.... I don’t want to give her insulin at 142 but not sure if I’m correct as I am new at this! Help please!

2. Jasper Blue and Jay

Jasper Blue and Jay Member

I would not since this is only her 3rd dose.

It is hard to know though without information such as her dosage and a spreadsheet or other health issues she might have.

Have you had a chance to read the stickies on Prozinc and on Hypoglycemia?

3. LindsayF

LindsayF Member

I have! I’m overwhelmed with info.... I actually fed her a small amount at 3:30am as she was purring and swatting me in the face lol she’s on 1 unit I just started yesterday with insulin and unfortunately don’t have numbers from yesterday.

4. Jasper Blue and Jay

How many hours before the test was that that she finished eating then? A bit more than 2?

So the number being that low with food only a few hours ago seems like more a reason to skip or do like .25 instead of the full dose...

But again, hard to know this early...I don't want to be the one that advises you right into your first scary experience with low numbers lol ;)

I'm pretty sure the prozinc guidelines are for brand new people to skip when the PS number is that low, but I'm not positive, that's why I was asking if you'd read them...

5. Jasper Blue and Jay

I'm just trying to help you figure it out for yourself in case someone more experienced doesn't come along before you feel like you need to make the decision ...lol ;)

LindsayF likes this.
  6. LindsayF

LindsayF Member

Thank you!!!!! I skipped it! But I am reading up on everything now.... I’m so thankful for this forum and for people like yourself willing to help!

Djamila and Jasper Blue and Jay like this.
  7. Jasper Blue and Jay

Np.