Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks Olivia! :bighug:
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  3. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He is 153 right now for AMPS—wait 20 minutes and test again? @Panic @JanetNJ
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think thats right Olivia.
    I was reading the sticky and found this ...if it helps any:
    Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
    Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
    A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
      • a.) give nothing
      • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
      • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
    • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
    • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
    Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin once you have data and understand your cat’s cycles. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

    With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Prozinc users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

    If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
    • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
    • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
     
  5. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Wow, lowest pre-shot to date! You are correct.

    Excellent reference Jeanne! :D
     
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  7. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes! Go LB! I will report back his next BG in a few minutes.
     
    Panic and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  8. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    169—what do you think I should do now?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    You could skip, give a token dose, or feed him and see about dosing in a couple hours. I might go for a token dose if it were me.
     
  10. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Ok that is good with me. I’ll be working from home, so I will be with him. What would his token dose be? 1.5 units?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    10-25% so .35u to .87u ... Anything in between that haha.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Oh gosh! Lol so maybe I should go for the .5U line?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    .5 or .75 I'm thinking! Make it easy on yourself LOL
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  14. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! I just drew a dose of .5 :)
     
  15. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He is at 199 now :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  16. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  17. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    well today was an interesting development! :D! Next time it's about that level you could probably do .75-1 u
     
  18. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Ok! Interested to see what his PMPS is. :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  19. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  20. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Almost time! I see two hungry little blue eyes staring at me from the dining room. :)
     
    JanetNJ and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  21. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  22. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I did have to give him insulin 30 minutes late this morning since I stalled; would it be an issue to give it 30 minutes ahead to stay on schedule?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Yes, go ahead and get back on schedule. Never go over an hour early on Prozinc, but 30 min is fine.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! Glad you told me that because we are going out to dinner Saturday and I might be a bit late (not more than 30 minutes).
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  26. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  27. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I believe so!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  28. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes ma’am! Thank you so much
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Panic like this.
  29. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Yeah
     
  30. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you :bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  31. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I’ve noticed some fur loss on his legs. I’m not sure if he’s doing it to himself, or if it is coming out on its own. The fur on his body is actually thicker and in much better condition compared to before I started checking his BG. Should I be concerned about the fur loss on his legs?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  32. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Not that I know of ... at least not concerning diabetes. If he's doing it himself it's often from stress (new family member/loss of family member/big change/etc). Maybe post a pic on Main Health for opinions. One of my girls was overgrooming from stress and she lost a lot of fur on her tummy.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  33. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He had fur loss before his diagnosis, then it cleared up after some time with insulin. I can’t help but be a little worried. There is nothing new at home at all, and I’m here with him most days. I’ll post on the other forum—thank you!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  34. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Fur loss can be indicative of a lot of things, like stress or fleas or parasites. Fleas are usually an issue on the base of the tail though. Would be curious to see what the others think!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  35. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I’ll try to get a good photo of it—it’s hard since his fur is different shades of gray & white lol. He isn’t acting like anything is wrong, so that is comforting. I meant to ask earlier—was his low AMPS indicative of anything? Or just part of the process? Sorry for all the questions!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  36. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    You're fine! :p
    Mm, could be indicative that the 3.5u is a good dose, or a fluke I suppose! Time will tell!
     
  37. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I hope it is his breakthrough dose! Would love to be able to decrease later on.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  38. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  39. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    But! I opened a new bag of Orijen treats and all of my cats just about lost their minds over it :joyful:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Same number as PMPS, don't sweat! Just means the cycle will probably be quiet tonight.

    I gotta try those at some point on my kitties! I wonder if they smell delicious to them. :cat:
     
  41. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes, I think they are super stinky which earns an A+ from my crew lol. I tagged you on the thread I made about his fur loss.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  42. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Really no difference. Not unusual for a +2 to be a little higher... they recently ate and the insulin is just starting to kick in.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  43. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    AMPS was 307... thinking I need to push him back up to 3.5. What are your and @Panic ’s thoughts?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Well he’s at 178 for +4. He might not need the larger dose.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  45. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If you dont get an answer before next shot just post "bump" and your thread will go to the top of the page. :bighug:
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  46. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Go for it.
     
  47. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Yes, we're not seeing low nadirs. Time to bump!
     
  48. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He was at 178 +4 today and possibly lower at +6, but I was not home to check. I’ll be out tomorrow all afternoon + early evening—think it’ll be safe to bump and leave him that long after a dose change?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  49. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    If you're bumping the dose tonight and getting in a "before you leave" test tomorrow you should be good I would think. Most people leave out MC if they suspect numbers will be running lower if they have to step out.
     
  50. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Sounds good! I’ll have to see if I have medium carb food, if not I’ll go buy some. Problem is, his three other siblings will eat it too lol. Thank you!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page