Sheila and Minky
Active Member
Will try to be consistent in posting these.
Hi Sheila, Minky is definitely needing less insulin these days. That’s so wonderful.Will try to be consistent in posting these.
Thank you. I am still not feeling well. Sorry.Hi Sheila, Minky certainly took a dive today!
For continuity, here are the last posts: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/warning-venting-and-i-have-the-flu.300141/#post-3265744 AND https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-254-59-4-45.300047/#post-3264498
When posting you always want to copy the previous day's post's URL at the top of your post.
I hope you get an answer soon about a possible new dose recommendation! As Staci said, it looks like Minky's earned one.
@Angela & Cleo
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
It is really scary all these dives. How is your sweet Ivy?Hi Sheila, Minky is definitely needing less insulin these days. That’s so wonderful.
It looks like you would need to reduce her dose with that 57 today.
I would post with a ? And ask for dosing recommendation.
Also, please put Minky’s name in the title so everyone knows it’s your sweet girl we’re talking about. Hope you both have a safe and wonderful Friday.
![]()
I'm so sorry! I hope you begin feeling better soon. The flu is awful!Thank you. I am still not feeling well. Sorry.
Please put “Dose Help” in your title so you can get help for tonight. I think you will want to give a reduction for tonight Sheila.I need help with dosing as well are at her evening dosing and she is at 140. If i give a .25 I am afraid she is really going to tank like she did this morning.
Thanks, Angela!That lime today earned Minky a reduction. Your new dose is 0.1 unit.
Now tonight, can you monitor? Do you have ample testing supplies and a hypo kit?
So true! I never tire of seeing a kitty get with the regulation program! Looks like Minky read the book and is on his way there.Thanks, Angela!
Congratulations, Sheila!! Safe surfing tonight!!
Minky’s pancreas has recently woken back up! Hooray!![]()
What do you mean with a +1 and post?Do you feel comfortable giving Minky's new dose of 0.1 units?
Start with a +1 and post. That should give an idea if a bounce is starting or another active cycle![]()
Get a test one hour after giving the shot and let us know what it is. If similar to your pre shot number it could mean you will have an active cycle and maybe we can steer the numbers with certain carb % snacks.What do you mean with a +1 and post?
If the numbers are similar why would maybe be an active cycle and what does that mean?Get a test one hour after giving the shot and let us know what it is. If similar to your pre shot number it could mean you will have an active cycle and maybe we can steer the numbers with certain carb % snacks.
She was 172It's better explained in this sticky here under Active cycle
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
Typically Lantus onsets (starts to bring down the BGs) around +2 (two hours after the shot). When we get a +1 and the number is a lot higher than the pre shot number, then kitty is probably starting a bounce. Getting a +1 can also show us how much of a food bump causes the numbers to rise. If +1 is the same, or lower than the pre shot, it could mean an active cycle and more testing is needed.
This is very helpful--thank you!!It's better explained in this sticky here under Active cycle
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
Typically Lantus onsets (starts to bring down the BGs) around +2 (two hours after the shot). When we get a +1 and the number is a lot higher than the pre shot number, then kitty is probably starting a bounce. Getting a +1 can also show us how much of a food bump causes the numbers to rise. If +1 is the same, or lower than the pre shot, it could mean an active cycle and more testing is needed.
Thats good. Maybe give a little snack of the regular LC food (like a tsp) and get another test around +3?She was 172
Okay sounds good--thank you!!Thats good. Maybe give a little snack of the regular LC food (like a tsp) and get another test around +3?
148@+3.5Okay sounds good--thank you!!