? AMPS 394, +2 328 - DOSING QUESTION underdosed last night accident

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by ASHFUR, Mar 12, 2021.

  1. ASHFUR

    ASHFUR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2021
    I was away from home overnight last night to deal with a family emergency so My husband did Ashfur's shot. He has never actually done the whole process before but I have made him watch me many times just in case. We had a miscommunication and he gave him a reduced dose unintentionally. I am embarrassed that this huge communication failure even happened. When I got home today I had him show me how much he gave him and in the syringe it was about 1.75. SO now I don't know where to go from here. Can I just go back to the dose I was giving before the past 2 reduced doses?

    OR did we just mess everything up? Do I need to now start all over and wait a week and go up in dose slowly??
    He is officially off of dry food and has been on a low carb wet food diet for the past 4 days and I plan to continue to have zero dry food avail.

    I feel terrible that this happened, I'm a little ashamed to even post this question but I really could use some guidance. I don't want to further make the situation worse or assume it's ok to just resume the 2.25 dose like nothing even happened and have something major happen.


    previous posts:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2758986/
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2756762/
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2752504/
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2749209/
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2748584/
     
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Life gets in the way. Don’t be embarrassed. I’d go back to 2.25 tonight but why was a reduction taken to 2.25?

    Never mind. I see you had increased a .50 instead if .25. Go back to 2.25 tonight.
     
  3. ASHFUR

    ASHFUR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2021
    THANK YOU. Ok back to 2.25 is ok. I don't know why I am such a spaz. I literally feel myself coming apart at the seams emotionally over these things.
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are like most of us were as newbies. I found myself in tears more than once at the beginning. Don’t be so hard on yourself.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Sounds like you're getting back on track now..cats are quite resilient to such things...

    However I was looking at your SS and saw this note: This morning his amps # was 149 and too low to shoot.

    Is there a particular reason you feel that 149 is too low to shoot? It looks like a perfect number to me...
     

Share This Page