10/15 Fred AMPS 401, +7 395, +8 384, +10 396 PMPS 401

Since you have enough test data thanks to the Libre and Fred is on a LC canned diet, do you want to look at following TR? With TR you can increase the dose every 3-5 days depending on his nadirs. It will help you get to a good dose sooner.
 
Since you have enough test data thanks to the Libre and Fred is on a LC canned diet, do you want to look at following TR? With TR you can increase the dose every 3-5 days depending on his nadirs. It will help you get to a good dose sooner.

Weird that you mentioned this, I was just reading the page on TR again like 10 minutes ago trying to understand and wondering if I should just switch to that. Definitely makes more sense to me since I have a Libre, glad you think so also. The only thing I worry about is him going hypo, he’s had a few instances of him going pretty low randomly, on 2 units and 3 :nailbiting: May just have to give it a try though.
 
Weird that you mentioned this, I was just reading the page on TR again like 10 minutes ago trying to understand and wondering if I should just switch to that. Definitely makes more sense to me since I have a Libre, glad you think so also. The only thing I worry about is him going hypo, he’s had a few instances of him going pretty low randomly, on 2 units and 3 :nailbiting: May just have to give it a try though.
Your worry is understandable. All of us have worried about numbers dropping dangerously low when we are new to this. Even normal numbers seem scary :-)

For now he doesn't seem to going anywhere below 250. The rationale for not hanging on to a dose is that if numbers aren't where you want them, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the new normal. This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal. TR enables you to get to a good dose sooner - helping you to break through any glucose toxicity. For a cat seeing glucose toxicity, a 0.25U increase once a week, might just not cut it.

The Libre also reads much lower at normal/lower numbers. We therefore ask caregivers to verify these lows with a regular meter.
 
Your worry is understandable. All of us have worried about numbers dropping dangerously low when we are new to this. Even normal numbers seem scary :)

For now he doesn't seem to going anywhere below 250. The rationale for not hanging on to a dose is that if numbers aren't where you want them, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the new normal. This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal. TR enables you to get to a good dose sooner - helping you to break through any glucose toxicity. For a cat seeing glucose toxicity, a 0.25U increase once a week, might just not cut it.

The Libre also reads much lower at normal/lower numbers. We therefore ask caregivers to verify these lows with a regular meter.

Makes total sense when you put it like that, I wasn’t aware of the whole toxicity thing!! I feel better moving forward with it now for sure. I was so hopeful he was gonna drop a little tonight and we’re still over 400 as of +4 :banghead: ugh

I’ll definitely start him on that as of now. Thanks for the recommendation :cat:
 
If you are switching to TR, you would increase as below:
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
 
Back
Top