? 10/31 PMPS 146—how much insulin do I give?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Little Bit’s Mom, Oct 22, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    83 at 20 minutes
     
  3. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I guess we are skipping this morning? Please let me know if I’m doing something incorrectly.
    I fed him breakfast. He ate normally.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    LOL I dont think you have a choice
     
  5. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    @Panic @JanetNJ does this warrant a .25 decrease beginning this evening?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  6. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Don’t think so either! Haha. Could this be indicative of his pancreas starting to “wake up,” or just a fluke?
     
  7. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Either or...He is after all a...cato_O:rolleyes::smuggrin:
     
  8. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    :D:cat::D Indeed!
     
  9. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Yes. :). Good luck
     
  10. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Perfect! I will do 3.25 tonight. Thank you so much!
     
  11. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    299 PMPS—not too bad considering he didn’t have his AM dose.
     
  12. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Absolutely!
    Good call on the skipped dose this morning, even if that did cause Little Bit to trend higher and get that PMPS of 299.
     
  13. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! Glad he earned a decrease.
     
  14. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  15. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He’s at 162 now
     
  16. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  17. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Overslept this morning, sorry! Did you give .5 or .75? It says the latter on your spreadsheet :p
     
  18. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I was going to do .75 at first, but changed my mind to err on the side of caution. Will fix it now! Hope you’re doing well!
     
  19. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Next time you get a low preshot, try stalling up to an hour without feeding and see if it's going up.
     
  20. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Glad you got some replies. I was off running errands today. Not enough time in the mornings to be on the message board for at least another month to 6 weeks.
     
  21. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes ma’am, thank you! :)
     
  22. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! Hope all is well.
     
  23. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Little Bit is at 149 PMPS—waiting 20 minutes to test again.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Nice pre-shot! :D
     
  25. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Go LB! If it doesn’t budge much in 20 minutes, should I give .5?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  26. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    You know, I am thinking LB is seeing a lot of low yellow pre-shots with a few blues mixed in. You may want to consider lowering your full-dose number and/or giving smaller reductions when he's so close to 150. I think 0.5u is a little low for him being a 3.25u kitty. Maybe we need to consider that new reduced dose being higher, perhaps 1-2u? @Deb & Wink would I be on the right track with LB?
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  27. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  28. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    You know best! I will give him the dose you feel works for him. So maybe 1.5 units tonight? And reduce his normal dose?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I think 1.5u might be good! Keep an eye on him of course. And not sureee about the reduction, he hasn't "officially" earned it but it is sometimes better to have higher pre-shots you can shoot regularly so maybe.
     
  30. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I gave him 1.5 tonight. What should I start giving him regularly in the morning? 3.0?
     
  31. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I would try for 3u UNLESS Janet or Deb have a different suggestion. :)
     
  32. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you so much! I’ll tag them :) @JanetNJ @Deb & Wink
     
  33. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    149 and 150 are basically the same number.

    The decision point threshold, sometimes called the shoot/no-shoot number, is 150 for Prozinc.
    With the MPM protocol you are following, the dose reduction BG is 50. So no, Little Bit has not earned a dose reduction.

    So some questions to ask yourself when you get a pre-shot that is lower than normal, include:
    Do you have plenty of test strips, is your hypo toolkit well stocked, can you stay up and test if needed and support Little Bit's BG levels with food?

    It's ok that you only gave 1.5U for tonight, but the MPM protocol is more aggressive on when you should give the full dose, instead of a token dose.
    I'd expect Little Bit to bounce high in the AM tomorrow, into the pink or red or even the black BG ranges after that token dose you gave tonight on 10/27/20.

    Little Bit is more than 1 year since diagnosis so he's considered a long term diabetic, you are using a human meter, and the nadirs are over 200. So I'd hold that dose steady for now, and think about increasing the dose in the next cycle or 2 if you don't see nadirs <100 real soon.

    A BG of 150 is perfectly shootable for the full dose, as long as you are able to monitor frequently and can provide food access with the testing, such as with a timed feeder or small snacks while you are monitoring.
     
  34. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you. I will plan to increase his dose to 3.5 soon if nadirs don’t drop. I don’t expect they will since they have not yet.
    What number range do you suggest for a token dose and how many units would be the token dose? What would the “no shoot” number be? I want to make sure I’m clear so I can do my very best for him.
    I am beyond appreciative for you, @Panic & @JanetNJ.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  35. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  36. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I think I'd stay with 3.25 for now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  38. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you, Janet. We will stay with that dose. :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  39. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  40. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Hugs to you, Jeanne!:bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  41. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  42. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  43. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  44. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I think based off Deb's comments about the aggressiveness of MPM you would want to give full dose as long as you can monitor since it's basically 150, though it would have been nice if you were able to stall to confirm he's heading up on his own.

    LB doesn't give you many options to shoot in between though to taper down the dose, he seems to either do well above 200 or below 150, no in-betweens. :rolleyes:

    Above Deb does say a BG of 150 is perfectly shootable as full dose, provided you of course have hypo supplies on-hand and can monitor.
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  45. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I did see that Deb recommended the full dose. I was just a bit scared and hesitant. Sorry I didn’t stall! We were having trick or treaters and I wasn’t thinking while feeding on time.
    I will give him the full dose since you and Deb deem it to be safe. I have a new vial of test strips and new box of lancets. I have about five cans of gravy FF and some karo syrup.
    I was actually considering increasing to 3.5 before today—and now he throws me for a loop!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  46. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Oh, and I have temptations! Haha
     
  47. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Get that +2 BG test. That can often give you a good idea of where the BG levels are headed.
     
  48. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes ma’am I will! I will stay up a bit later to monitor him tonight.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  49. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Al right then! Sorry for the "drill sargent" thing, about getting that +2. But it is a good indicator of where the BG levels are headed.

    Hope the trick or treaters have been fun. Even if they did "sidetrack" you from stalling without feeding.

    Posting the +2 info for you again. To help guide you.

    That +2, With Prozinc by Deb & Wink

    More than a number range, think of the percentage of the drop at +2, that may tell you if your cat is going to drop much lower. Think of that +2 as being an indicator of what direction the BG levels may be headed.
    With Prozinc, if you see a 40%, 50% or greater drop, between the pre-shot and that +2, that's a serious heads up warning.
    If you see a 20-25%, 30% drop, not quite so worrisome. But still be cautious.

    Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the +2, pull out your hypo kit and plan on staying up to test.
    Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the nadir, that is to be expected. But you don't want the drop to be much more than 50% between pre-shot and nadir with Prozinc.
    Cats tend to bounce high if the drop is 50% or more from pre-shot to nadir.
    So you steer those mid-cycles with food, to slow down the steep drop and stop the bounces from being too high.

    The steeper the drop, the higher the bounce.

    It's a balancing act.

    The +2 is like an "early warning" for most cats!
    If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually a pretty normal cycle...dropping down to nadir and then rising back up again. (About the same means taking meter variance, that 15% variance that hand held glucometers are allowed to have into account)
    If the +2 is higher than the PS, that usually signals a bounce, and those are the cycles when you can usually take a break from testing.
    If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "Early warning" that kitty might be going much lower later in the cycle so it's important to plan on getting another test or two (or 6) in.

    It doesn’t work every time or with every cat. But it does hold true most of the time, so keep this in mind for next time.

    It also kind of depends on what BG pre-shot your cat started out the cycle with. Lower than normal, keep a closer eye on the cycle. Lower than you are used to shooting, a number you may not have given insulin before, keep a closer eye on the cycle. Stalled and number rose some, but you did a reduced shot, maybe another test or 2 to see how much the number is rising.

    It makes a big difference if your cat starts the cycle in the pink 300-399 mg/dL range (16.6 - 22.16 mmol/L) then if they are in the blue 150 mg/dL range ( 8.3 mmol/L).

    p.s. Food notes in the Remarks column can be very useful. Helps to interpret what is happening in the cycle. Notes are done on AM and PM cycle basis and notations need to be with the + time format.
     
  50. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I would have said stall 30-60 min without feeding and recheck
     
  51. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I’m sorry. I should have known to do that by now. :/ I was discombobulated.
     
  52. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    No worries at all! I truly appreciate all advice y’all are so kind to give me. I will start doing a +2 for each cycle. AM might be a little late because I teach live until his two hour mark. I have not read the information you attached about the +2, so I am grateful.
     
  53. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    In order to taper down his dose, he would have to go below 100 for each .25 decrease?
     
  54. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    318 now for +2! What in the world?
     
  55. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  56. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looks like LB might possibly be bouncing.


    Mogs
    .
     
  57. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Below 90
     
  58. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you. Maybe we will get there soon!
     
  59. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    He must be; he’s at 354 this morning. Mind boggling after a low-ish PMPS and full dose.
     
  60. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  61. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    He may have gone lower at nadir in the hours preceding that lowish PMPS and the bounce may have already been building when you got that preshot reading.


    Mogs
    .
     
  62. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Good point! That is definitely possible.
     
  63. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    We all get "discombobulated" at times. No worries.

    Yes, you want him to drop <90 mg/dL on a human meter (like the Relion you are now using), to earn a dose reduction. Per our dosing protocols fro Prozinc.

    It's hard to juggle everything, when you teach from home and have a diabetic cat that is going a bit low.
    If it's easier to get a +2.5, that's fine. Simply note that time in the +2 column on the SS, and manually color code the cell.

    Do the best you can. That's all that anyone can be expected to do.
     
  64. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    PMPS is 151. I have stalled for now. Test again in 30 minutes, correct?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  65. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    No trick or treaters to bother me tonight! Haha
     
  66. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you :bighug:
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  67. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    They never come around here TG Hoping you have an uneventful evening. I'm off for now.
     
  68. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! Have a relaxing evening :bighug:
     
  69. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    LB is still enjoying Halloween. He is under our spider from the candy chute my husband constructed. :joyful:
    upload_2020-11-1_19-48-24.jpeg
     
  70. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page