AMPS 97- Complete Dose?

Can you test if you shoot? Have enough supplies (test strips, high carb food, honey/karo)? If yes, go ahead and shoot.
I see he is eating - don't fill him up. You might need him to eat through the cycle.

Test at +1 and feed a little LC. He might just bounce from here. Let's see.
 
With TR you can shoot any number over 50 (on a human meter) provided you can monitor. When you get a lower than usual preshot, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins.

Are you using an AT2 or the ReliOn? You Signature does not say but your SS is that of a human meter.
 
Yes I can, I am home all day and have everything. I am sorry to be unsure, but what is LC?
No need to apologize! It's nerve racking to encounter lower numbers and more so at preshot. This is your first green. We have all panicked at much higher numbers! :)

LC is low carb i.e <10%
MC is medium carb 10-15%
HC is high carb >15%
 
I don't know why its not in there I will add it. We use alphatrak. I just gave him the dose now. So then test in 1 hour correct? Thank you so much, I'm just s nervous ot do something wrong I appreciate the help so much.
 
And what number should he get karo if he bottoms out? I know the symptoms but have not seen it so it would be my first encounter I know you rub it on gums?
 
I don't know why its not in there I will add it. We use alphatrak.
The spreadsheet you are using is for a human meter. I can make the change for you. Could you share the link you use to edit the SS?

So then test in 1 hour correct? Thank you so much, I'm just s nervous ot do something wrong I appreciate the help so much.
Yes, test in 1 hour (after the shot) and post here. I will watch out for it.

And what number should he get karo if he bottoms out? I know the symptoms but have not seen it so it would be my first encounter I know you rub it on gums?
Below 68 on the AT is lower than normal. A drop below 68 need not result in a symptomatic hypo. The idea is to test enough in active cycles (when the numbers are dropping) and to prevent them from dropping too low by feeding - higher carb food is necessary. Testing and food are the tools you use to keep him safe. We usually reach for honey/karo only if HC does not bring the numbers up. What do you have in higher carb food? (In an emergency, you can always add karo/honey to low carb food to increase the carb content - if you've run out of higher carb food)
 
Lucifer's Spreadsheet - Google Sheets

Oh lord lol I didn't know I was using the wrong sheet, I think it may be because the first week we started out on relion, but use Alphatrak 2. Thank you for the edit the link is above.

I have dry food that he loves (ate previously before all this) that my other cat still eats a bit of at night when she is in our bedroom, Louf likes to sleep on the couch so he can't access it only she can.
 
Oh lord lol I didn't know I was using the wrong sheet, I think it may be because the first week we started out on relion, but use Alphatrak 2. Thank you for the edit the link is above.
I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS. Check the spam folder as well since it sometimes goes straight there! :-)

I have dry food that he loves (ate previously before all this) that my other cat still eats a bit of at night when she is in our bedroom, Louf likes to sleep on the couch so he can't access it only she can.
You want to avoid dry food. You might want to stock up on some MC and HC. As he starts seeing lower numbers you will need them. What brand of LC does he eat?

Jojo's Hypo Tool box - be prepared, what to have on hand in case of an emergency
 
Just hit share so it should be available now thank you so much.

Okay, I will have to get some HC to have on hand. Right now he’s eating the friskies shreds I posted about it yesterday to see if it was okay because he refuses so many kinds but this. They let me know it was medium carb so I am going to try Weruva because he won’t eat Tiki for me unfortunately and keeps refusing pate but I do have pate on hand 9 lives.
 
I wasn’t up when you tagged. It was 5:27 for me. Next time you get an unexpected green retest to see if it’s a bad strip. It could have been but I’ve seen many cats including mine go to bed high and be green in the morning.
 
I wasn’t up when you tagged. It was 5:27 for me. Next time you get an unexpected green retest to see if it’s a bad strip. It could have been but I’ve seen many cats including mine go to bed high and be green in the morning.

Thats okay I appreciate the response, I was just trying to reach out to whom I have had help from before. Thank you I appreciate it.
 
hi Ashley sorry I missed the tag, I was at urgent care. Like others have said, a super weird number like that, might want to do a quick re-test just to validate that the number is "real"
 
Thank you and that’s okay, I hope everything is okay. Yes it was the lowest number he has had thus far. I retested him at +1 and +4 and he’s now in the 306 range. (He also smacked me which he never does lol I think he’s had it with me today).
 
I'm glad Bhooma was on to help you. I too am west coast and at 5:27am I was about to get in a rowing shell for my workout. When you have a question about shooting, it's best to modify or create a subject that says something like <date> <name of cat> AMBG (or +12) 97 and text like "help with shooting lower". The AMBG (blood glucose) or the +12 tell us you have tested but haven't shot yet. And could alert people on an awake that you need help with lower preshots. Once you've got help, remove the "?" prefix.

The link to your previous post here gives people background if they want to read back: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-3-481-7-410-pmps-487-2-503-questions.262816/
 
Back
Top