Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216 - PMPS 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi,
Maggie seemed particularly sparkly this morning at 3 am zzzzzzzzzz!! Playful! ~O)

Hi Sienne and Ronnie,
The reason I shot a .75 the one shot in evening was I meant to do a .50 but probably just went over a tad! You both mentioned I should be doing spot checks after the PM shot. I think here is what happens, and I will try and work around it. I know it's a juggling act for all of us. I'm a very, very early morning person, partly due to insomnia, so I get up between 1:30 and 2:30 am Pacific time. Maggie sweetie pie gets me up! Once I'm up I can't fall back asleep, but I do catch a 20 minute cat nap during the afternoon. Her amps is now around 5:30 am; this then makes her pm shot 5:30 pm. During the day I do some part-time work, so I can't always catch the +6 BG. I go to bed around 7:30 pm, so that's why I am missing the data, but I don't sleep thru the night, so I can get up and do a BG. Is this what you all do to catch the spot checks after the last shot of the every 12 hours shot?

I wasn't working that closely with my Vet at first, but now she's come around now that she sees I'm persistent, so she has been looking more closely at my numbers. Here is yesterday's post. Someone asked me to post the day before's BG.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6104
 
Re: Ann & Maggie AMPS 216

I go to bed around 7:30 pm, so that's why I am missing the data, but I don't sleep thru the night, so I can get up and do a BG. Is this what you all do to catch the spot checks after the last shot of the every 12 hours shot?

Hi Ann

if ur up - for sure! Grab the kitty and your tools and poke away! Filling in those missing numbers in the evening could be very good progress for Maggie.

if u get a low blue or green at PMPS time, u will want to test at +1, post ur numbers, from there we usually ask for a +3 (which is your "onset" when insulin kicks in) and from there, depending on the +3 you would get suggestions on when to test next.
IF +6 in the evening is late for u, and maybe a time when ur up for instance, this is an excellent hour to spotcheck - known as the nadir.

If u have a chance take a look at the stickie up above with the "star" icon "New to the Group" scroll down and you will see a typical Curve chart of a 12 hour cycle, this is very handy and helps to know what Maggie is doing in each cycle.
Every cat is different, but until you start to fill in the evening cycle, you will pick up on Maggie's patterns, not every cycle is the same, so u need to be prepared to spot those lows.
If u post regularly you will receive plenty of guidance on the next steps.

Glad to see you here this morning!
 
Re: Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216

Hi Ann...You are new and got a very nice amps today for a new cat...You must be consistant with the same dose! I'm sending you this link of photos, of what doses look like in the syringe-see the left side--http://www.romlin.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/
You need to be doing spot checks so we can see where Maggie is in her cycle.
I do in the am-depending on her amps, +2, +3 or +4, and a +6..
At night, again depending on the PMPS number, +2, and a before bed spot check..
this link may also help you Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Hope this helps you somewhat-Havea good day!
 
Re: Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216

Hi Roni,
Thank you for all the helpful info. I don't have the 1/2 mark syringes. I am using the super thin syringes 0.3cc 29 gauge. I use the vial Lantus U-100 insulin also. Do most of you use the cartridges? I'm surprised they don't make them in 1/2 increments. I checked with both the Pharmacy and Vet, so it is eyeballing it.
 
Re: Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216

if u have a Walmart near u - they should have 1/2 marking syringes, u may need a prescription for it, others also buy from online sources.
Some brands are BD, Relion, Monojet for example...

I would really recommend u get 1/2u marking syringes...it's pretty common for vets to say u can't measure small doses, u should of seen the look in my vets face when I told her I was on a drop dose!

what brand are u using? Hoping members from the U.S can guide u as to where to purchase depending where u are located.
 
Re: Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216

At least here, Walgreens didn't carry half-unit syringes. The only place that did was Walmart. I order mine from Hocks. There's a link at the top of the board and if you use the link, FDMB gets a commission. BTW, the 29 gauge needle is relatively thick. The higher the gauge number, the thinner the needle. I use a 31 gauge needle -- I buy the GNP brand from Hocks. I like Hocks a lot. Their prices are good and they ship quickly.

I also use a cartridge. I know the sticky and the Tilly protocol will tell you that many people get up to 6 mos. use of their insulin. That's not the case for Gabby. I use the cartridges because I can only get a month's worth of use out of them so I would be tossing out a lot of insulin if I were using the vial. I believe that most people here use cartridges because there is less waste.

Let me make a suggestion. If you aren't sure how much you're shooting because you don't have the 1/2 unit syringes, take an old syringe, and use tape or a colored liquid (milk, juice, tea, etc.) to mark off the amount you want to shoot. You can then compare the dose in the syringes. That way you will know that you are being as consistent as possible.

Roni and Ronnie are right -- getting a curve will be very helpful. You don't need to test every hour, though. Every 2 hours is just fine. A curve is helpful for a number of reasons. A cat's nadir isn't always at +6, It can be at any time in the cycle and it can change. You asked whether we get up in the middle of the night to test. I'm not an early morning person. I will stay up some nights to +6 or later if I need to test. On occasion, I've set an alarm and gotten up. I'm usually up until +5 in the PM cycle. It's not imperative to stay up every night or to test as much as some of us do. I like having the data and knowing what's going on with Gabby. She's also very cooperative (probably because she gets treats and food when I test!). But, there are also times when her numbers are pretty stable and I will "save-a-strip." Basically, the more data you have, the easier it will be to make decisions about when or how much to shoot especially if you get an unexpected number.

It's great to hear that your vet is coming around. (There's info on the Health board that is directed at "converting a vet!")
 
Re: Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 216

Okay thanks for that tip for judging the half and 3/4 unit and for the info on ordering from Hock. Maggie is not crazy about the ear prick. I really have to talk gently and hold her, as sometimes she shakes that ear and oh no, there goes my sample. She does get a reward, so it's getting better.
 
Maggie is doing really well today, and her shot is due. I'm wondering if I should give her .75 or .50. The last two shots have been .75. nailbite_smile
 
will u be able to fill in your spreadsheet a bit tonight?
we really need to see some evening checks, I think I mentioned kitties can go lower in the evening cycle.
 
ADVISE PLEASE BUMP

I'm hoping for some feedback - Ann - you have shot this dose at a lower preshot (last nite was lower) plus also while on 1unit...
 
please add HELP to your subject line - your first post in this thread, hit EDIT and add HELP to the title...

how behind are u now from your regular shot time?
 
ya, I have a feeling you're going to need those 1/2 unit marking syringes, and that is a very good thing.

sorry - I guess it's a bit busy here tonight, it's Old Timers Day - as u can see by the names on the condos.

Well, let's move on to some spotchecks tonight - I think Maggie is doing very well, and you're doing good!
 
Okay thanks Ronnie for all your help. I'm pleased with Maggie, too. She sure does love to eat, too! I did see it was Old Timers day but didn't get a chance to read; that is nice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top